Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
54 Reviews
1234.925935
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

Chicuchas Wasi is an outstanding educational opportunity for underprivileged girls. This organization not only provides an important education element for their future but a caring, loving environment that nurtures the whole child. The foundations of nutrition, family support and transportation are all components considered by Chicuchas Wasi to make the educational opportunity a success and foster a brighter future. I wish them great future success!
June 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Traveling the world, both in person and with written word, I have experienced the astounding contribution to civilization that 'girl education' is making to the world. One of the best is Chicuchas Wasi in Peru. It is a text book example of how a 'home-grown' organization, ran by dedicated creative people can uplift many lives, and do so by keeping them deeply involved in their culture, but at the same time, making them citizens of the world. You should look into Chicuchas Wasi in Peru.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I first met Chicuchas Wasi founder Rae Lewis over 20 years ago. I marveled then at her passion and commitment to bringing healthcare and education to Cusco's street children, and I marvel now at how that vision has grown, embraced others, and been made manifest in the Chicuchas Wasi Alternative School for Girls. I am an enthusiastic supporter of the organization's work--both as a donor and as a new board member--because Chicuchas Wasi honors girls and women, transforms lives, and offers great hope for future generations.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 25, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My wife and I first learned about Chicuchas Wasi a number of years ago, and finally had a chance to visit in 2011. I arrived already convinced that educating and empowering girls in developing countries is the single most powerful means to a healthier and happier planet. Experiencing Chucuchas Wasi in action showed me a terrifically high-performing example of that craft, and told me that here is a terrific investment!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am glad to support Chicuchas Wasi! My husband and I visited the school at its former location in 2011, and spent a wonderful morning surrounded by young girls so eager to learn! We are so pleased to see that the new school has opened, and that more grades have been added so that more girls can benefit from this wonderful opportunity.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 24, 2013

I have believed in and helped support Chicuchas Wasi since 1989. When you read reviews of this amazing non-profit, you can’t help but be impressed by the life-affirming, life-changing outcomes it h... more

June 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

With the new Chicuchas Wasi school now in its second year, I found it a wonderful and moving experience to be able to look back over the last quarter century to see how far CW has come from its humble beginnings. I highly encourage you to visit the Chicuchas Wasi website and peruse their comprehensive photo gallery. I am convinced that you will come away with a profound appreciation for amazing accomplishments of the dedicated CW volunteers. The photos beautifully express the undeniable, life-affirming joy they bring to the girls of Chicuchas Wasi.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have believed in and helped support Chicuchas Wasi since 1989. When you read reviews of this amazing non-profit, you can’t help but be impressed by the life-affirming, life-changing outcomes it has fostered over the last 25 years. What may not be as evident, but is vitally important, is the steadfast, tireless, passionate, and effective work that the Chicuchas Wasi California Board of Directors has performed over that same time period. As a past Executive Director of one non-profit and the Chief Development Officer of another, I know first-hand how critical a board of directors is to the success, or failure, of any non-profit. Many members of the California Board of Chicuchas Wasi have served for the entire life of the organization. Rather than becoming fatigued or blasé about their duties, members of this board are as enthusiastic, dedicated, tireless, energized, and effective with their time, talent, and treasure today as they were at the outset. This solid foundation of leadership guarantees a bright future for all the girls fortunate enough to find themselves at Chicuchas Wasi.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 24, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

June 24, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

While hiking the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu our guide, Efrain Valles shared with me the meager beginnings of what has become the non profit, Chicuchas Wasi. Efrain was a street kid, saved by founder Rae Lewis and he refers to her as his Mom. He has a college education, a beautiful young family and a successful career. His passion for Chicuchas Wasi is contagious and he pays it forward by working on the school, donating and fundraising. I wanted to see the school when we returned to Cusco, so Efrain arranged for Ruth Uribe, the school director to pick 3 of us up. I was so excited to see the girls! The school was very impressive, well layed out, clean and organized. The small group of younger girls doing art outside the classroom all got up and ran to greet Ruth and you could clearly see how much they love her. We were surprised to find in another outdoor section they had planned a special greeting for us. All the girls looked sharp in their uniforms and they were in rows by grade. We stood before them and they entertained us with songs, dance, a poem and presented us with cards and drawings they made. We were moved to tears! They were so happy, loving and gave us big hugs. Afterward it was lunch and they had a healthy, hot cooked meal in the cafeteria/kitchen, which had a beautiful view of the mountains. I am excited for these girls and the oppurtunity they are provided through the Chichuchas Wasi school. The gift of education by a caring staff will expose their strenghts, self worth and free them to be independent, confident young women with boundless possibilities!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Teach them the English language. With so much tourism coming into Cusco and many of the tourists speaking English, they can only soar higher and go further with many oppurtunities knowing English.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 22, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 22, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I've chosen to support Chicuchas Wasi because I respect the people behind this organization and trust in their leadership to maintain extremely high standards. Education is a key in improving the lives of all children and when girls are denied this right, the whole community suffers. This nonprofit has grown and changed over the years, and will continue to do so, to meet the needs and enhance the lives of all the girls and young women in its reach.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

So glad that these girls can receive an education and can hopefully go on to live full lives and help other girls in their community.

Jackie and Bob Smith

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This is a wonderful educational opportunity for young Andean girls who besides living in poverty are often abandoned due cultural attitudes toward women. This educational opportunity offered by Chicuchas Wasi prepares them to better deal with these issues as adults, improve their individual opportunities, pass the value of education to their children, and ultimately alter social views about women.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers