Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Education, Primary & Elementary Schools

Mission: At Chicuchas Wasi School for Girls we promote gender equality, self-esteem, and human dignity for indigenous girls of rural Cusco, Peru, by educating, empowering, and preparing them for economic independence and unlimited opportunity.

Results: Our attendance is 99%, Parent participation is 95% of mothers and a few fathers. We have just completed the construction of our new primary grade school for girls in rural Cusco. Community, parents and girls seeing the value of educating their girls with the success and enthusiasm they students demonstrate. Our students love to learn if given the opportunity.

Target demographics: Educate ignored poor Girls in rural Cusco to provide economic security and prepare leaders to end gender inequality in their community.

Direct beneficiaries per year: We have 110 students this year ending Dec. 31, 2015; The 2014 school year educated 105 students and 9 girls graduating to High School last December. Parent, siblings, mothers and the community benefit. They are watching the progress of our students and sending girl siblings when age ready.

Geographic areas served: Our students come from rural Cusco area and many are farmer, day laborers, or unemployed and take any job if possible-even putting children on the streets to beg.

Programs: We provide at our CW Primary school for undervalued Girls, free primary academic education. Our school stresses personal development by instilling social and personal values,empowerment, self- esteem and integrity. The regular curriculum is augmented with classes on Hygiene, Art, English, and Quechua. The school frequently participates in civic events, which are an integral part of Cusquena life, such as Parades, festivals, holiday celebrations, girl value demonstrations, and most recently Celebration of the International Day of the Girl.We provide hot daily meal (often only meal that day for students), safe transportation to ensure attendance, uniforms, school books and supplies and parent classes to empower and help especially single mothers with resources for economic survival.

Community Stories

13 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

Elizabeth91

Board Member

Rating: 5

I had the pleasure of visiting Chicuchas Wasi Girls School in May 2016 along with 11 other visitors. We saw first hand the positive impact the Peruvian teachers have had on the 110 girls, their family, and their community. The teachers have focused classrooms not only on various academic subjects but also on cultural appreciation, and personal growth, and responsibility. Each class of students enthusiastically preformed a disciplined, well rehearsed song, dance, poem, reading, or drama. We all shard a meal prepared by their indigenous parents who are thrilled to have their girls in school, knowing that because of an education life will offer their children opportunities that unfortunately they themselves never were given.
I wholeheartedly encourage your support of Chicuchas Wasi Girls School . Almost 100% of funds raised goes directly to support the school.
Betty W

Previous Stories
1

Board Member

Rating: 5

I have been a volunteer with Chicuchas Wasi since its founding by Rae Lewis, RN 28 years ago. Presently I am on the CW BOD. Started as a home for abandoned children, CW has evolved into a school for indigenous girls, who otherwise would not be educated. Education is the road out of poverty and into a life of opportunity. I have been to the school many times and observed first hand the faces of the girls light up with learning. Under the direction of Ruth Urbe and her staff the 110 girls thrive. The girls are taught educational basics plus English, nutrition, conflict resolution, and an appreciation of their Inca culture. CW also provides uniforms, and one hot meal a day since many of the girls come from impoverished families that have problems providing adaquate nutrition. Our overhead in California is minimal since members receive no monitary compensation. Almost all of your donation will go directly to supporting the school Thank you for considering donating to Chicuchas Wasi Girls School.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

gitana 10/13/2015

Thank you Betty for this nice review of the CW school. -Rae

Read more

Board Member

Rating: 5

I have been with Chicuchas Wasi and on the board since its inception in 1987 when the founder, Rae Lewis, was looking for support to start a shelter for street children. Soon we had a home in Cusco, with 12 children, providing them shelter including nutrition, health care, school and life skills. Over the next 9-10 years we cared for many children including those who just came to the door for a meal, pair of shoes or medical assistance which ultimately amounted to hundreds. Eventually we realized that education of girls was the key. In 1997 we transitioned to Chicuchas Wasi School for Girls to prepare and educate poor girls to become future leaders for social change, to end gender inequality, female abuse and child abandonment. Starting with a small class of 4 and 5 year olds, growing every year, we now have our own school in Cusco with 110 students. This year, celebrating our 28th anniversary, we will graduate our third group of 6th graders. I am so proud of these girls and how far they have come.

Previous Stories
4

Board Member

Rating: 5

I have been on the board of Chicuchas Wasi for 25 years and have been to the school. All board members are volunteers for this very worthy organization started by a California nurse who gave many years of her life living in Cusco to help street children. I have watched it grow and transform from a home for street children to the present configuration of 93 girls in classes to the 5th grade in our new school in Cusco, Peru. It is an honor to be associated with this organization providing an education that would otherwise be unavailable to these indigenous girls. Please see the complete history and current news at www.chicuchaswasi.org and Facebook.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

gitana 12/20/2012

Thank you Mary for your review and sharing your experience with Chicuchas Wasi. We have been truly blessed to have 5 very active and dedicated volunteer board members in California for so many years. We provide needed administrative support including: all social networking and management of website, FaceBook, Grant writing and submissions, and fundraising events to support the CW Alternative School for Undervalued Girls in Cusco, Peru. Without this incredible support team, it would be difficult for the Project to continue.

1

Board Member

Rating: 5

I have just found and talked to this nonprofit. After much research, I was so impressed with what they do, how much they accomplish, and the fact that only approx. 3% goes to overhead and 97% of the donations goes to programs for the girls! The Founder and the majority of the Board have been doing this work for 27 years and are incredibly dedicated, talented and passionate. I also like the fact that they have an actual tuition-free school,that offers excellent academic studies, as well as personal development and community outreach. They are fantastic!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

gitana 10/16/2014

Thank you for this glowing review of our Chicuchas Wasi school for girls. Your participation and support of this work is very impressive and thank you very much for all you do. Thanks again for taking this time to speak out. - Rae

1

Board Member

Rating: 5

Having worked in education for over 20 years and with Hispanic populations, I have seen students navigating life changing experiences. I have seen one student after the other gain confidence, survive life challenges, gain employment, and give back to the community with passion. I have seen proud parents, friends and family pull together to support a mother, father or child through school. Their stories teach me over and over again that achieving the impossible is actually possible.

It is with pride that I am now serving as a Board Member of Chicuchas Wasi. CW captured my attention for its efforts to promote gender equity through education and it kept me engaged for the genuine care I found underlying a well-managed and solid organization. Chicuchas Wasi (CW) brings together collaborators from around the world providing access to quality education for young girls from an indigenous population in Peru. The school not only focuses on girls, it also reaches out to family and the community to tackle poverty and provide economic empowerment, resulting in a broader impact. The effort began in 1987 and has been growing ever since. Do join in and help us help others.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

gitana 10/16/2014

Thank you for this glowing review of our Chicuchas Wasi school for girls. Please visit us on FaceBook @chicuchaswasi and share us often with your friends and family. Your support and effort to help grow and make CW a stronger support for our students is much appreciated. Thanks again for taking this time to speak out. - Rae

1

Board Member

Rating: 5

I have been a part of Chicuchas Wasi since the beginning and I can't tell you how rewarding this experience has been! We are into our second year of school at our new facility and just completed the Global Giving challenge to be accepted on their website. Follow our progress on Chicuchaswasi.org, Chicuchas Wasi Cusco Peru on Facebook and at @Chicuchaswasi!

Previous Stories
2

Board Member

Rating: 5

Chicuchas Wasi started over 25 years ago as a refuge for children living on the streets of Cusco, Peru. We have evolved over time into a school for underprivileged girls - our current enrollment is 113!
We don't charge the families for their daughters to attend school, we support the school entirely with donations and are currently involved in a fundraising drive on Globalgiving. These girls are receiving an education that they would never have dreamed of. I am proud to be a part of this life changing organization. Please visit our website: chicuchaswasi.org!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

gitana 04/06/2013

Dear Karen, As an active member of the California Board of Directors since the beginning 26 years ago, you have truly seen the many changes and incredible growth of Chicuchas Wasi. With the new school in 2012 we have been able to accept more girls needing access to our Alternative style of education. We not only include academic education, but we support growth in confidence and self-worth and values that are daily reinforced by staff and director. We are the Chicuchas Wasi Family of 115 students, 13 staff members at the School and in California another 5 on the board of directors...all working together towards the same goal. Education of a girl will give her and her family one day, the key out of poverty. Thank you for all your loyal hardworking years of service to the poor children of Cusco, Peru.

Read more
TerryChicuchas

Board Member

Rating: 5

I love visiting the Chicuchas Wasi website and seeing the photos of the girls. 2013 is the second year in their new school and especially for the older girls, how exciting for them to experience this long-anticipated dream come true. Parents volunteer at the school, helping at special events, working on landscaping, and I think what great role-modeling this is for the CW Girls to see their moms and dads involved at their beautiful school and so committed to the girls' education.

Previous Stories
1

Board Member

Rating: 5

When I first became involved, Chicuchas Wasi was just being established as a nonprofit organization, and we worked to raise money in California to feed and shelter abandoned children found in Cusco, Peru. Now, more than 25 years later, CW has evolved from that small grassroots organization into offering an Alternative School for Girls operating each school year on donations large and small from supporters around the globe. What a revelation it was, this elegant solution to child abandonment: educate the girls! CW teaches parents that if their girls stay in school, they will grow to be women able to support themselves and their own children if necessary --- and capable of avoiding the difficult consideration of abandoning their kids just to survive. CW students may be growing up in poverty, but parents, family members, and others in their indigenous communities now see the bright, intelligent, confident faces of CW girls who will always be richer for their awakened interest in learning. Along with academics and a broader awareness of the world around them, CW girls gain self-esteem, personal integrity, and strong values that will last a lifetime. Please visit www.chicuchaswasi.org and LIKE us on Facebook.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

gitana 05/24/2013

Thank you Terry for your review sharing beautifully the 26 years of Chicuchas Wasi. You have been an important part of the CW team since the beginning and what a team we have. All the beautiful artwork, brochures, flyers and website are all your talented contributions over the years. CW is lucky to have our own professional graphic artist all these years. You bring to the project your passion and generosity to help the girls we serve. The Chicuchas Wasi non-profit teams in California and also Cusco, Peru have become this wonderful CW family. Like a family we all work together and are there for one another to make our world a better place.