Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
54 Reviews
1234.925935
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 15, 2014

more

October 15, 2014

I have just found and talked to this nonprofit. After much research, I was so impressed with what they do, how much they accomplish, and the fact that only approx. 3% goes to overhead and 97% of the donations goes to programs for the girls! The Founder and the majority of the Board have been doing this work for 27 years and are incredibly dedicated, talented and passionate. I also like the fact that they have an actual tuition-free school,that offers excellent academic studies, as well as personal development and community outreach. They are fantastic!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 15, 2014

more

October 15, 2014

Having worked in education for over 20 years and with Hispanic populations, I have seen students navigating life changing experiences. I have seen one student after the other gain confidence, survive life challenges, gain employment, and give back to the community with passion. I have seen proud parents, friends and family pull together to support a mother, father or child through school. Their stories teach me over and over again that achieving the impossible is actually possible.

It is with pride that I am now serving as a Board Member of Chicuchas Wasi. CW captured my attention for its efforts to promote gender equity through education and it kept me engaged for the genuine care I found underlying a well-managed and solid organization. Chicuchas Wasi (CW) brings together collaborators from around the world providing access to quality education for young girls from an indigenous population in Peru. The school not only focuses on girls, it also reaches out to family and the community to tackle poverty and provide economic empowerment, resulting in a broader impact. The effort began in 1987 and has been growing ever since. Do join in and help us help others.
June 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 5, 2013

Chicuchas Wasi started over 25 years ago as a refuge for children living on the streets of Cusco, Peru. We have evolved over time into a school for underprivileged girls - our current enrollment is 11... more

June 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a part of Chicuchas Wasi since the beginning and I can't tell you how rewarding this experience has been! We are into our second year of school at our new facility and just completed the Global Giving challenge to be accepted on their website. Follow our progress on Chicuchaswasi.org, Chicuchas Wasi Cusco Peru on Facebook and at @Chicuchaswasi!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Chicuchas Wasi started over 25 years ago as a refuge for children living on the streets of Cusco, Peru. We have evolved over time into a school for underprivileged girls - our current enrollment is 113!
We don't charge the families for their daughters to attend school, we support the school
entirely with donations and are currently involved in a fundraising drive on Globalgiving. These girls are receiving an education that they would never have dreamed of. I am proud to be a part of this life changing organization. Please visit our website: chicuchaswasi.org!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a part of Chicuchas Wasi for over 25 years. We started by helping just a few kids and in 2013 will have 130 girls enrolled in our school! We provide a solid education for these girls who would never have had a chance to be educated. All of the board members are volunteers so all of the donations we receive go directly to the school. I am so proud to be a member of this worthwhile grass roots organization. Please visit our website chicuchaswasi.org or Facebook - Chicuchas Wasi - Cusco for more information.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2013

more


1 previous review
May 23, 2013

When I first became involved, Chicuchas Wasi was just being established as a nonprofit organization, and we worked to raise money in California to feed and shelter abandoned children found in Cusco, P... more

June 25, 2013

I love visiting the Chicuchas Wasi website and seeing the photos of the girls. 2013 is the second year in their new school and especially for the older girls, how exciting for them to experience this long-anticipated dream come true. Parents volunteer at the school, helping at special events, working on landscaping, and I think what great role-modeling this is for the CW Girls to see their moms and dads involved at their beautiful school and so committed to the girls' education.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When I first became involved, Chicuchas Wasi was just being established as a nonprofit organization, and we worked to raise money in California to feed and shelter abandoned children found in Cusco, Peru. Now, more than 25 years later, CW has evolved from that small grassroots organization into offering an Alternative School for Girls operating each school year on donations large and small from supporters around the globe. What a revelation it was, this elegant solution to child abandonment: educate the girls! CW teaches parents that if their girls stay in school, they will grow to be women able to support themselves and their own children if necessary --- and capable of avoiding the difficult consideration of abandoning their kids just to survive. CW students may be growing up in poverty, but parents, family members, and others in their indigenous communities now see the bright, intelligent, confident faces of CW girls who will always be richer for their awakened interest in learning. Along with academics and a broader awareness of the world around them, CW girls gain self-esteem, personal integrity, and strong values that will last a lifetime. Please visit www.chicuchaswasi.org and LIKE us on Facebook.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...be so pleased that Chicuchas Wasi students will be offered even more opportunities when the Ministry of Education, Cusco, Peru, becomes able to support Girl Education at Chicuchas Wasi School by funding of teacher salaries. This is an advancement CW looks forward to and which will hopefully come to be in the near future.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
December 13, 2012

I have been actively involved in Chicuchas Wasi since its inception 25 years ago by its inspirational founder, Rae Lewis. Starting as a grass roots home for abandoned street children it has evolved ov... more

June 25, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have been involved with Chicuchas Wasi since its inception and have visited the school at least 8 times. The girl’s faces tell the story. They are alert, energetic and happy to be in school, demonstrated by their positive school progression and interest in extra activities. Their teachers understand the importance of educating the girls in order to move them out of poverty and to give them opportunities that without an education would be unavailable to them. This project definitely deserves, needs, and appreciates your support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 13, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I have been actively involved in Chicuchas Wasi since its inception 25 years ago by its inspirational founder, Rae Lewis. Starting as a grass roots home for abandoned street children it has evolved over the years into a school for indigenous, poor girls. These Andean girls would otherwise have little or no opportunity for education and most probably would continue in the cycle of poverty and abuse which plagues their mothers. I have made 6 trips to Cusco, Peru and have observed first hand all aspects of the school and the girls it serves. Under the tutelage of Ruth, the Peruvian Director and the teachers she directs, the girl's education not only incorporates academic standards but also stresses personal values, integrity, self esteem and responsibility. Presently I am on the Board of Directors and can assure you that all donations go directly to support the school. Betty Woods

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 18, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

December 18, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I have been on the board of Chicuchas Wasi for 25 years and have been to the school. All board members are volunteers for this very worthy organization started by a California nurse who gave many years of her life living in Cusco to help street children. I have watched it grow and transform from a home for street children to the present configuration of 93 girls in classes to the 5th grade in our new school in Cusco, Peru. It is an honor to be associated with this organization providing an education that would otherwise be unavailable to these indigenous girls. Please see the complete history and current news at www.chicuchaswasi.org and Facebook.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers