Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
1234.952385
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I recently had the privilege of visiting the Chicuchas Wasi school, and I was so impressed! I can't imagine the obstacles and challenges that the young female students face and deal with every single day, but they seemed thrilled to be at this school. They were well-behaved, enthusiastic, affectionate (they gave us so many hugs and kisses), and had smiling, beautiful faces that radiated so much optimism and joie de vivre. They clearly have unfathomable potential. Despite fairly short notice, they had prepared songs, poems, and beautiful artwork for us to take with us. It was such a touching, humbling experience. Also, Ruth, the school director, has such passion and love for these girls; it was really extraordinary to see how she interacted with them and how much they love and respect her. I know that I won't ever forget these girls; they definitely deserve a well-rounded education and every opportunity to become independent, thriving women.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Implement English classes.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I recently visited this incredible school and I was almost brought to tears by these beautiful children and there amazing teachers. We could see such great work being carried out by these students. The facility is improving all the time and we as a group were so thrilled to supply the children with much needed items to help in there education. What a wonderful job those teachers are doing and hopefully the school can continue to grow into the future.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I visited Chicuchas Wasi in September 2011 from the UK whilst in Peru on a Traidcraft Meet the People Tour. I arrived at the school later than my travelling companions, in low spirits after spending the first part of the morning with our guide, a former CW child, at a police station and the British Consulate. (My bag had been stolen the previous night.) The welcome from Ruth and the girls was so warm and everyone was so cheerful that it took very little time for me to forget my feelings. The girls performed a delightful dance for us and I loved being invited to join in a dance with them afterwards. We were also treated to a fashion show and a tour of the classrooms. Each class we visited entertained us with a song and it was lovely to see all their colourful wall displays. The children's behaviour was exemplary. They treated us as honoured guests and were so grateful for the few gifts that had been provided for the school on our behalf. I am delighted that the school now has new, purpose built facilities to enable them to educate even more girls from the indigenous community of Cusco and to give them inspiration for the future. The director and her teachers deserve al the praise they can get, as does their founder. It has been wonderful following the progress of the school and the girls since my return from Peru, thanks to their online posts.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was fortunate enough to visit the Chicuchas Wasi school in 2007 while traveling to Peru. My mother-in-law, Rae Lewis, is the founder of Chicuchas Wasi so I had heard about how she and Ruth Uribe started this organization and how it evolved to it's present day focus of helping young girls acquire necessary scholastic achievements to continue their education. During my visit in 2007, I witnessed first-hand how this program helps so many young girls. It was evident that the Chicuchas Wasi project not only values education, but the project also plays a critical role in giving an opportunity for a better life to young women. Seeing the girls smiling faces in the classroom, proud to show examples of their school work, and the genuine enthusiasm of the teachers, it is plain to see Chacuchas Wasi is a worthwhile cause and makes a difference in the lives of so many families.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My mother founded Chicuchas Wasi many years ago, and I have participated in many Chicuchas Wasi events, fundraisers, and Peru trips over the years. I have seen the workings of this organization from a unique perspective, and I have seen the great impact it has had on many lives.

It would
be hard for any 18 year old American to understand why his mother is picking up and moving from California to Peru, but it didn't take long for me to realize what had changed the course of her life: many children in Peru who were in great need of basic care. That was over 25 years ago, and since its founding, Chicuchas Wasi has grown into an amazing network of people who dedicate themselves to selflessly helping the children of Peru. Thank you all for all that you have done. The number of people touched by your work has never been calculated, by I know it is many.

A few years ago I had the opportunity to visit the previous school site while school was in session. What I witnessed was an environment where the students were visibly full of joy and pride. The staff was very engaging and it was clear that the students felt cared for. It is easy to see that the work being done in the school goes beyond the desks and textbooks. Positive change begins with small steps, and the girls at the school are taking the steps to a better future on a daily basis. Behind the scenes there are people like you who are helping these girls along.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 17, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

December 17, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

We visited Chicuchas Wasi in 2008, before the new school was built. We were on a Traidcraft Meet the People tour and our guide, Efrain, told us about the school and we asked to go. The only opportunity was on a Saturday, and all the girls, their parents and siblings came to school especially to meet us. Efrain had described the work that Ruth and the other staff do to support these underprivileged girls, and it was so good to meet them all and to see for ourselves what a difference this outstanding education makes. The girls confidently spoke to us, asked us questions, and proudly showed us their work. The approach is holistic and they receive much more than simply a basic education; they are encouraged to be creative and thoughtful. Like all children they have terrific potential, but the deep commitment shown by the staff and the parents to these girls means that they have a very good chance of fulfilling theirs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

December 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

We visited Chicuchas Wasi during a busy couple of weeks in Peru with a Meet the People tour. The school visit was an optional extra and we were so glad we took the option. What an inspirational place. Our small group got a great welcome. The girls clearly enjoy school and were learning well. It was good for us to be able to bring greetings from small rural schools in Scotland. I hope this school continues to go from strength to strength.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers