Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.927275
Write A Review
November 7, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Chicuchas Wasi is a fantastic organisation and we wish them all the best. They were introduced to us by our tour guide Efrain Valles and we visit the group twice a year on our tours. The project is doing such incredible work and there is always a sense of joy and enthusiasm from all those involved, not least the girls themselves. We are very privileged to visit the project and we always try to support them whenever we can. Many thanks for the warm welcomes we always receive, it is always one of the highlights of our tours to see the wonderful work being done by your incredible team.
October 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been familiar with Chicuchas Wasi and the work that they do for several years now. I came to know about it through one of my dearest friends, who as a girl went to that school and was eventually able to come to the US and make a life for herself here from a background of poverty. None of this would have been possible if not for CW. CW is changing lives for young girls in Peru for the better and opening doors that otherwise would undoubtedly remain closed, through education. They also provide meals and transport to/from school. CW is a wonderful organization and deserves all the support it can get.
October 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I met Rae, their founder, last year and am impressed by her dedication to a) this nonprofit's beneficiaries and b) the future of the nonprofit and its ability to continue serving its target population. We have talked at length about our common challenges (I'm the CFO of a separate nonprofit) and am confident she will find a way forward (as she has already by partnering with a local college).
October 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have long admired all of the time and energy that has gone into making Chicuchas Wasi the wonderfully enriching school experience for these sweet and eager children who are the fortunate recipients of a free education. They would otherwise have little hope to overcome their impoverished situations. We here in Sonoma are so proud to have witnessed this growth from a spark of the desire to help the helpless to a full fledged academic program of 27 years.

Carol Dickason
August 10, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
March 26, 2013

I visited Chicuchas Wasi in September 2011 from the UK whilst in Peru on a Traidcraft Meet the People Tour. I arrived at the school later than my travelling companions, in low spirits after spending... more

August 10, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I visited Chicuchas Wasi in 2011 and thanks to their posts on Facebook and their regular newsletters I am able to follow their activities from a distance. I love to see both the smiling faces of the girls as they enjoy their life at school and the concentration on their faces as they are studying. I admire the dedication of the Director, Ruth, and all the staff who enable the students to benefit from an excellent education, a nutritional meal programme and even health care in lovely purpose built facilities. The excellent attendance rates indicate just how much the girls and their parents value the education and all the other benefits that the school provides. It is so important to enable girls to stand on their own two feet in life. Their time at the school will ensure the girls are able make well informed decisions about their future, to provide for themselves and their families and make a good contribution to their community and society at large.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I do not think I am qualified to make any such suggestions.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 26, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I visited Chicuchas Wasi in September 2011 from the UK whilst in Peru on a Traidcraft Meet the People Tour. I arrived at the school later than my travelling companions, in low spirits after spending the first part of the morning with our guide, a former CW child, at a police station and the British Consulate. (My bag had been stolen the previous night.) The welcome from Ruth and the girls was so warm and everyone was so cheerful that it took very little time for me to forget my feelings. The girls performed a delightful dance for us and I loved being invited to join in a dance with them afterwards. We were also treated to a fashion show and a tour of the classrooms. Each class we visited entertained us with a song and it was lovely to see all their colourful wall displays. The children's behaviour was exemplary. They treated us as honoured guests and were so grateful for the few gifts that had been provided for the school on our behalf. I am delighted that the school now has new, purpose built facilities to enable them to educate even more girls from the indigenous community of Cusco and to give them inspiration for the future. The director and her teachers deserve al the praise they can get, as does their founder. It has been wonderful following the progress of the school and the girls since my return from Peru, thanks to their online posts.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 1, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 1, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I recently had the privilege of visiting the Chicuchas Wasi school, and I was so impressed! I can't imagine the obstacles and challenges that the young female students face and deal with every single day, but they seemed thrilled to be at this school. They were well-behaved, enthusiastic, affectionate (they gave us so many hugs and kisses), and had smiling, beautiful faces that radiated so much optimism and joie de vivre. They clearly have unfathomable potential. Despite fairly short notice, they had prepared songs, poems, and beautiful artwork for us to take with us. It was such a touching, humbling experience. Also, Ruth, the school director, has such passion and love for these girls; it was really extraordinary to see how she interacted with them and how much they love and respect her. I know that I won't ever forget these girls; they definitely deserve a well-rounded education and every opportunity to become independent, thriving women.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Implement English classes.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I recently visited this incredible school and I was almost brought to tears by these beautiful children and there amazing teachers. We could see such great work being carried out by these students. The facility is improving all the time and we as a group were so thrilled to supply the children with much needed items to help in there education. What a wonderful job those teachers are doing and hopefully the school can continue to grow into the future.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was fortunate enough to visit the Chicuchas Wasi school in 2007 while traveling to Peru. My mother-in-law, Rae Lewis, is the founder of Chicuchas Wasi so I had heard about how she and Ruth Uribe started this organization and how it evolved to it's present day focus of helping young girls acquire necessary scholastic achievements to continue their education. During my visit in 2007, I witnessed first-hand how this program helps so many young girls. It was evident that the Chicuchas Wasi project not only values education, but the project also plays a critical role in giving an opportunity for a better life to young women. Seeing the girls smiling faces in the classroom, proud to show examples of their school work, and the genuine enthusiasm of the teachers, it is plain to see Chacuchas Wasi is a worthwhile cause and makes a difference in the lives of so many families.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My mother founded Chicuchas Wasi many years ago, and I have participated in many Chicuchas Wasi events, fundraisers, and Peru trips over the years. I have seen the workings of this organization from a unique perspective, and I have seen the great impact it has had on many lives.

It would
be hard for any 18 year old American to understand why his mother is picking up and moving from California to Peru, but it didn't take long for me to realize what had changed the course of her life: many children in Peru who were in great need of basic care. That was over 25 years ago, and since its founding, Chicuchas Wasi has grown into an amazing network of people who dedicate themselves to selflessly helping the children of Peru. Thank you all for all that you have done. The number of people touched by your work has never been calculated, by I know it is many.

A few years ago I had the opportunity to visit the previous school site while school was in session. What I witnessed was an environment where the students were visibly full of joy and pride. The staff was very engaging and it was clear that the students felt cared for. It is easy to see that the work being done in the school goes beyond the desks and textbooks. Positive change begins with small steps, and the girls at the school are taking the steps to a better future on a daily basis. Behind the scenes there are people like you who are helping these girls along.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 17, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

December 17, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

We visited Chicuchas Wasi in 2008, before the new school was built. We were on a Traidcraft Meet the People tour and our guide, Efrain, told us about the school and we asked to go. The only opportunity was on a Saturday, and all the girls, their parents and siblings came to school especially to meet us. Efrain had described the work that Ruth and the other staff do to support these underprivileged girls, and it was so good to meet them all and to see for ourselves what a difference this outstanding education makes. The girls confidently spoke to us, asked us questions, and proudly showed us their work. The approach is holistic and they receive much more than simply a basic education; they are encouraged to be creative and thoughtful. Like all children they have terrific potential, but the deep commitment shown by the staff and the parents to these girls means that they have a very good chance of fulfilling theirs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers