Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
43 Reviews
1234.953495
Previous | Next
Write A Review
December 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I just visited the Chicuchawasi School a few weeks ago during my trip to Cusco. Efrain Valles, my guide on the Inca Trail, told me about the school and his involvement with the organization. I was inspired by the work Ruth and her staff are doing at the school, changing the lives of these young girls and their families. I truly believe educating and empowering women can change the world. Thank you Ruth, Rae, Efrain and all the rest of you for the wonderful work you are doing. What an inspiring organization! Jane Engel

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was a Chihuchas-wasi (The Children's Home) volunteer widower as my wife when we were dating devoted hours and hours to the cause of raising funds for her friends charitable organization. We collected clothing for shipment to Peru to help the children's home. Over the years we sold jewelry made by the children, bought jewelry to give as gifts to friends and family, an participated in fund raisers of every type imaginable.

Being friends with the founder, Rae Lewis, we learned first hand of the hard work being put in by so many local volunteers to the Sonoma area, and met the staff who would often visit. We also became like extended family members to Rae's adopted daughter from Peru, Rosa, who is perhaps the best ambassador for the work performed at the children's home. From a humble start, she has been given the opportunity to rise to the level her talent would allow, and is now a registered nurse in Sonoma County. Rosa continues to help family members in Peru and is an example of what may be possible if one is willing to put in the necessary effort.

We volunteered and attended the recent anniversary celebration held at our local senior community center in Sonoma and became re-acquainted with the volunteers we have worked with and have supported all of these years and left feeling that what we did made a difference in this world. Sincerely, Norm Brown, Sonoma, CA

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering for many different activities since Chicuchas Wasi was founded over 20 years ago. The founder is a woman who has been a friend to the cause of women and girls as long as I have known her, and we have been friends since 1985. She retired as a nurse and went on a travelling adventure that led to her spending several years in Peru. Chicuchas Wasi started out in Cuzco and took in several children who were living on the streets, boys and girls. They came to live in an environment that stressed hygiene, diet and survival skills that could produce economic viability in their poor environs.

They learned to make jewelry which would be brought back to California and sold at craft fairs and open markets, and the money would be taken back to them in Peru. I can't even begin to tell you how many pairs of earrings we sold and bought for ourselves!

The school moved from Cuzco to a purchased hotel near Machu Pichu where it could accomodate more children and the decision was made to become solely a school for girls, because the female in Peru is very much at a disadvantage in terms of equality of life. Our girls grow into the type of women who will continue to strive for a better way of life and who will support their little sisters.

Over twenty years later, the dedicated people who started the foundation are all still on board and serving without any wages to keep this project growing and it is stronger than ever. Former students help it keep going too. This last year for Christmas we had calenders for sale that were photographed and created by one of the former students. There are beautiful photos of Peru and two languages on them. I am very excited that younger ones are coming forward to take over and keep this wonderful effort going strong. It is all about that quote that means the only thing that ever changes the world is a small and dedicated group, and that is Chicuchas Wasi, changing Peru one girl at a time!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I went to visit Chicuchas Wasi with my parents in 2011. I helped Director Ruth at the school. The girls in the school are so loving and I am so happy that they are being given the chance to have an education. I came home with a true appreciation of the life I have in the United States. I want every girl to have the same opportunities that I do.
Since returning home I have helped at events to promote Chicuchas Wasi so people here can see what good is being done for these girls. Please support Chicuchas Wasi!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have watched this organization grow over the years and have had the opportunity to visit, most recently in October of 2011. The new facility is a dream come true and I am excited to see what the future holds for Chicuchas Wasi!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 26, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

December 26, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I have first hand experience about this amazing organization. I was one of the first few children that lived in Chicuchas Wasi 25 years ago when it was founded by Rae Lewis. When I was seven years old, both of my parents passed away leaving my five siblings and I orphaned. It was through a social worker that I met Rae, who took my siblings and I into her home. At the time Chicuchas Wasi was a children's home, where I lived for seven years. It was through this organization that I received a scholarship to further my studies in the USA. I left Chicuchas Wasi Peru when I was 14 years old but I was still part of this organization until I graduated from college and became independent. It was because of CW that today I am a Registered Nurse and I am able to help my family in Peru financially. Today, I travel to Peru once a year to visit family and also see the school and the rest of the CW family. Words alone cannot explain how grateful I am for having met Rae Lewis and for giving me not only a place to live but an education that will last me for a lifetime. Coming from a place where women are still the minority and have fewer opportunities, an education is the foundation to a better life and opportunities in many ways.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

December 20, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

December 20, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

While I have volunteered for Chicuchas Wasi in the past, the majority of my experience is witnessing the good they do for the children of Peru. Their amazing dedication to the under-served young girls in the community of Cusco is inspiring. They are always hard working, always focused on the children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

December 17, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

December 17, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

i first went there in 2008 to volunteer. i'm from Italy and knew about Chicuchas Wasi while in London as i met one of the regular donors! i was so excited as i had been told that it would have been an unforgivable experience but as i got there the whole stay has been beyond my expectation. the little students are so lovely and smart! they are taught through education and love how to develop their skills. you would never say they are living or coming from critical living conditions! they just keep on smiling to you and you can see in their own eyes how comfortable and self confident they feel! the hard work all the stuff is doing is being payed off! i had the chance to understand what the foundation means for the community not just for the little girls! parents and relatives are helping with manual labour when needed, constantly attending Ruth's meetings and always asking her for an advice!a friendly and special atmosphere is all around the school!every year i go back for a visit and since 2012 i'm a board member. i DO recommend everyone is traveling to peru to take the chance to visit this little reality where you can realize that through love and education we can change the world!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers