Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.927275
Write A Review
June 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I recently visited this incredible school and I was almost brought to tears by these beautiful children and there amazing teachers. We could see such great work being carried out by these students. The facility is improving all the time and we as a group were so thrilled to supply the children with much needed items to help in there education. What a wonderful job those teachers are doing and hopefully the school can continue to grow into the future.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 22, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 22, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I've chosen to support Chicuchas Wasi because I respect the people behind this organization and trust in their leadership to maintain extremely high standards. Education is a key in improving the lives of all children and when girls are denied this right, the whole community suffers. This nonprofit has grown and changed over the years, and will continue to do so, to meet the needs and enhance the lives of all the girls and young women in its reach.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

So glad that these girls can receive an education and can hopefully go on to live full lives and help other girls in their community.

Jackie and Bob Smith

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This is a wonderful educational opportunity for young Andean girls who besides living in poverty are often abandoned due cultural attitudes toward women. This educational opportunity offered by Chicuchas Wasi prepares them to better deal with these issues as adults, improve their individual opportunities, pass the value of education to their children, and ultimately alter social views about women.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

No act of charity makes a more profound, long-lasting impact than education. That Chicuchas Wasi offers knowledge and academic training to those who would not otherwise receive any makes it particularly powerful and effective in my eyes.
Many of my options are a donor are "shiny"
celebrity-endorsed or time-contingent (e.g. disaster recovery) efforts, which, while very exciting, typically have limited impact and involve a lot of waste in marketing and overhead.
A donation to Chicuchas Wasi is not a hat tip to a flash-in-the-pan charity that will disappear tomorrow; the organization has been around for as long as I have been alive (25 years)! What's more, Chicuchas Wasi is small, targeted, and straightforward. I love that I know exactly where my money is going and what purpose it serves.
I am so glad to have discovered this- what a treasure!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more regular updates on Chicuchas Wasi's progress- i love hearing about the splendid things they're achieving!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 6, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
December 11, 2012

A charity with a vision of equal educational and life opportunities for poor, indiginous girls in Peru. My first contact was in 2008 when trekking in aid of another charity. The holistic approach at... more

April 6, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I've been associated with Chicuchas Wasi since my first visit to Peru in 2008. By the time I visited again in 2012 incredible changes had taken place! Charitable donations had allowed the school to move to a new purpose-built building just outside Cusco. Pupil numbers had risen from just over 30 to more than 90 girls and the excitement and enthusiasm of the Director, Ruth Uribe, the teachers and the pupils was plain to see.

But things at Chicuchas Wasi don't stand still - while there are more girls who need their help to gain an education, no-one sits back and relaxes! In 2013 113 girls were enrolled for the new school year. However, the original source of funding for growth is exhausted and so Chicuchas Wasi took on the month-long Global Giving Challenge in order to join the community of Non Profits.

As always, expectations have been exceeded as they have reached the Challenge target amount within the first 4 days!

This demonstrates, yet again, the enormous commitment of the Board, donors, volunteers, Director, teachers and pupils to this incredibly worthwhile work.

Chicuchas Wasi is changing lives!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

A charity with a vision of equal educational and life opportunities for poor, indiginous girls in Peru. My first contact was in 2008 when trekking in aid of another charity. The holistic approach at Chicuchas Wasi school struck a chord with me since the pupils are given so much more than an education. They are taught life skills, health and hygiene and are given medical and dental treatment. Practical support is also provided to students' parents, particularly their mothers. The school ethos is that every girl is special and valuable and they are provided with the opportunities to develop into capable and confident young women who will hopefully become leaders in their communities.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was fortunate enough to visit the Chicuchas Wasi school in 2007 while traveling to Peru. My mother-in-law, Rae Lewis, is the founder of Chicuchas Wasi so I had heard about how she and Ruth Uribe started this organization and how it evolved to it's present day focus of helping young girls acquire necessary scholastic achievements to continue their education. During my visit in 2007, I witnessed first-hand how this program helps so many young girls. It was evident that the Chicuchas Wasi project not only values education, but the project also plays a critical role in giving an opportunity for a better life to young women. Seeing the girls smiling faces in the classroom, proud to show examples of their school work, and the genuine enthusiasm of the teachers, it is plain to see Chacuchas Wasi is a worthwhile cause and makes a difference in the lives of so many families.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
March 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Chicuchas Wasi is a non-profit school maintained solely by charitable donations. Here, impoverished girls (who would otherwise receive no education) become equipped for work and independence. Many of them come from families who are illiterate, which means that the girls have additional needs that Chicuchas Wasi strives to meet. They learn basic life skills and receive a free meal each day. The school even funds free dental care for pupils.
Chicuchas Wasi recognises that pupils often have troubled family backgrounds and support is provided by social workers, psychologists and parent-support classes, which are run by the specially trained and highly committed teaching staff.
We all visited Chicuchas Wasi while touring in Peru and were impressed by how much the girls love learning and take pride in their academic achievements. They recognise the importance of education and how it will transform their lives. Each girl realises how fortunate she is to be a pupil at this school, since many needy cases are turned away, due to limitations of funding.
Some of our members first visited the school several years ago, when it was housed in a tiny building in Cusco and taught just 30 pupils. We have witnessed the massive progress and growth made since 2009. Last year Chicuchas Wasi moved to a purpose-built primary school which now accommodates 115 girls including a new 6th grade in enrolled in 2013. The building is of a high standard with classrooms, dining room, bathrooms and playground and the girls and the teaching staff are understandably proud of their school.
This wonderful development work has been funded entirely by charitable donations. However, this source of income is now almost exhausted. The education provided at Chicuchas Wasi, combined with classes run by special counsellors, social workers and psychologists, health and dental care, is extremely expensive to fund. We are very concerned that, without State/Government support, the school will not be able to continue to meet the needs of its pupils.
We sincerely hope that additional funding for can be found for Chicuchas Wasi, which is a tribute to the ambition and hard work of the Peruvian people.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My mother founded Chicuchas Wasi many years ago, and I have participated in many Chicuchas Wasi events, fundraisers, and Peru trips over the years. I have seen the workings of this organization from a unique perspective, and I have seen the great impact it has had on many lives.

It would
be hard for any 18 year old American to understand why his mother is picking up and moving from California to Peru, but it didn't take long for me to realize what had changed the course of her life: many children in Peru who were in great need of basic care. That was over 25 years ago, and since its founding, Chicuchas Wasi has grown into an amazing network of people who dedicate themselves to selflessly helping the children of Peru. Thank you all for all that you have done. The number of people touched by your work has never been calculated, by I know it is many.

A few years ago I had the opportunity to visit the previous school site while school was in session. What I witnessed was an environment where the students were visibly full of joy and pride. The staff was very engaging and it was clear that the students felt cared for. It is easy to see that the work being done in the school goes beyond the desks and textbooks. Positive change begins with small steps, and the girls at the school are taking the steps to a better future on a daily basis. Behind the scenes there are people like you who are helping these girls along.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 26, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

December 26, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I met Rae Lewis over 25 years ago in Sonoma, Ca, when she had this wild idea about starting a non-profit to help needy street children in Cusco, Peru. The challenges of starting such venture in Urubamba was not a barrier to this amazing woman. Without knowing much about the place and what to do, she forged ahead with the belief that her mission was worthwhile pursuing. She has learned a great deal about Peruvian bureaucracy, about being a foreigner starting a non-profit in Cusco, and about sharing her vision with a committed group of worldwide supporters who have helped realize her vision over the years. Rae recruited Ruth Uribe, an exceptional school director whose extensive educational experience, deep understanding of the plight of children in the Andes and fierce defense of quality education for all children has build the foundation for this dream school. Ruth is a motivational and able administrator who oversees a team of truly devoted teachers. After many years of growing the roots of Chicuchas Wasi, Rae has finally realized the construction of a school for girls. It is a dream school because in the Andes, poor families do not send girls to school, and their hopes for an education is lessened by a system that does not provide the educational impetus to empower girls to succeed with the belief that they can becoming a professional, an engineer, a lawyer, a professor, a doctor, even a president. The multiple obstacles that female students face to attain a post-secondary education are greater, and their education is not as important as their male counterparts. Chicuchas Wasi has created strong educational ripples that have touched many deeply. We have seem the growth and development of these children into intelligent, complex and strong human beings with an urge to help others, with the support of a global family. Chicuchas Wasi is an example of an organization whose heart and hands are for and by the people of Cusco and the region, but whose eyes and ears are for all to share and contribute to the dream. This is an exceptional organization that deserves your care in whatever way you can offer it because it will continue to break new ground in the education of children for years to come. Luis Kong, EdD.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers