Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
1234.952385
| 1 ... 2 3 4 | Next
Write A Review
December 20, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

December 20, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

While I have volunteered for Chicuchas Wasi in the past, the majority of my experience is witnessing the good they do for the children of Peru. Their amazing dedication to the under-served young girls in the community of Cusco is inspiring. They are always hard working, always focused on the children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

December 18, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

December 18, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I have been on the board of Chicuchas Wasi for 25 years and have been to the school. All board members are volunteers for this very worthy organization started by a California nurse who gave many years of her life living in Cusco to help street children. I have watched it grow and transform from a home for street children to the present configuration of 93 girls in classes to the 5th grade in our new school in Cusco, Peru. It is an honor to be associated with this organization providing an education that would otherwise be unavailable to these indigenous girls. Please see the complete history and current news at www.chicuchaswasi.org and Facebook.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 17, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

December 17, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

i first went there in 2008 to volunteer. i'm from Italy and knew about Chicuchas Wasi while in London as i met one of the regular donors! i was so excited as i had been told that it would have been an unforgivable experience but as i got there the whole stay has been beyond my expectation. the little students are so lovely and smart! they are taught through education and love how to develop their skills. you would never say they are living or coming from critical living conditions! they just keep on smiling to you and you can see in their own eyes how comfortable and self confident they feel! the hard work all the stuff is doing is being payed off! i had the chance to understand what the foundation means for the community not just for the little girls! parents and relatives are helping with manual labour when needed, constantly attending Ruth's meetings and always asking her for an advice!a friendly and special atmosphere is all around the school!every year i go back for a visit and since 2012 i'm a board member. i DO recommend everyone is traveling to peru to take the chance to visit this little reality where you can realize that through love and education we can change the world!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

December 17, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

December 17, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

We visited Chicuchas Wasi in 2008, before the new school was built. We were on a Traidcraft Meet the People tour and our guide, Efrain, told us about the school and we asked to go. The only opportunity was on a Saturday, and all the girls, their parents and siblings came to school especially to meet us. Efrain had described the work that Ruth and the other staff do to support these underprivileged girls, and it was so good to meet them all and to see for ourselves what a difference this outstanding education makes. The girls confidently spoke to us, asked us questions, and proudly showed us their work. The approach is holistic and they receive much more than simply a basic education; they are encouraged to be creative and thoughtful. Like all children they have terrific potential, but the deep commitment shown by the staff and the parents to these girls means that they have a very good chance of fulfilling theirs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

December 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

We visited Chicuchas Wasi during a busy couple of weeks in Peru with a Meet the People tour. The school visit was an optional extra and we were so glad we took the option. What an inspirational place. Our small group got a great welcome. The girls clearly enjoy school and were learning well. It was good for us to be able to bring greetings from small rural schools in Scotland. I hope this school continues to go from strength to strength.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 11, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

December 11, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Unbelievable achievements against all the odds, delivered in a caring and empowering atmosphere, involving the girl students and the parents, particularly their mothers, who themselves are empowered too.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 ... 2 3 4 | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers