Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.927275
Write A Review
October 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have just found and talked to this nonprofit. After much research, I was so impressed with what they do, how much they accomplish, and the fact that only approx. 3% goes to overhead and 97% of the donations goes to programs for the girls! The Founder and the majority of the Board have been doing this work for 27 years and are incredibly dedicated, talented and passionate. I also like the fact that they have an actual tuition-free school,that offers excellent academic studies, as well as personal development and community outreach. They are fantastic!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Having worked in education for over 20 years and with Hispanic populations, I have seen students navigating life changing experiences. I have seen one student after the other gain confidence, survive life challenges, gain employment, and give back to the community with passion. I have seen proud parents, friends and family pull together to support a mother, father or child through school. Their stories teach me over and over again that achieving the impossible is actually possible.

It is with pride that I am now serving as a Board Member of Chicuchas Wasi. CW captured my attention for its efforts to promote gender equity through education and it kept me engaged for the genuine care I found underlying a well-managed and solid organization. Chicuchas Wasi (CW) brings together collaborators from around the world providing access to quality education for young girls from an indigenous population in Peru. The school not only focuses on girls, it also reaches out to family and the community to tackle poverty and provide economic empowerment, resulting in a broader impact. The effort began in 1987 and has been growing ever since. Do join in and help us help others.
August 10, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
March 26, 2013

I visited Chicuchas Wasi in September 2011 from the UK whilst in Peru on a Traidcraft Meet the People Tour. I arrived at the school later than my travelling companions, in low spirits after spending... more

August 10, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I visited Chicuchas Wasi in 2011 and thanks to their posts on Facebook and their regular newsletters I am able to follow their activities from a distance. I love to see both the smiling faces of the girls as they enjoy their life at school and the concentration on their faces as they are studying. I admire the dedication of the Director, Ruth, and all the staff who enable the students to benefit from an excellent education, a nutritional meal programme and even health care in lovely purpose built facilities. The excellent attendance rates indicate just how much the girls and their parents value the education and all the other benefits that the school provides. It is so important to enable girls to stand on their own two feet in life. Their time at the school will ensure the girls are able make well informed decisions about their future, to provide for themselves and their families and make a good contribution to their community and society at large.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I do not think I am qualified to make any such suggestions.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 26, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I visited Chicuchas Wasi in September 2011 from the UK whilst in Peru on a Traidcraft Meet the People Tour. I arrived at the school later than my travelling companions, in low spirits after spending the first part of the morning with our guide, a former CW child, at a police station and the British Consulate. (My bag had been stolen the previous night.) The welcome from Ruth and the girls was so warm and everyone was so cheerful that it took very little time for me to forget my feelings. The girls performed a delightful dance for us and I loved being invited to join in a dance with them afterwards. We were also treated to a fashion show and a tour of the classrooms. Each class we visited entertained us with a song and it was lovely to see all their colourful wall displays. The children's behaviour was exemplary. They treated us as honoured guests and were so grateful for the few gifts that had been provided for the school on our behalf. I am delighted that the school now has new, purpose built facilities to enable them to educate even more girls from the indigenous community of Cusco and to give them inspiration for the future. The director and her teachers deserve al the praise they can get, as does their founder. It has been wonderful following the progress of the school and the girls since my return from Peru, thanks to their online posts.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 18, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 18, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I just visited the Chicuchawasi School a few weeks ago during my trip to Cusco. Efrain Valles, my guide on the Inca Trail, told me about the school and his involvement with the organization. I was inspired by the work Ruth and her staff are doing at the school, changing the lives of these young girls and their families. I truly believe educating and empowering women can change the world. Thank you Ruth, Rae, Efrain and all the rest of you for the wonderful work you are doing. What an inspiring organization! Jane Engel

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I visited Chicuchas Wasi on my trip to Peru in May. They are doing such important work! And, Ruth's dedication floored me. We will support their work in the future by bringing all Llama Expeditions' groups to visit and make a donation. Go Chicuchas Wasi! Girl power!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 1, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 1, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I recently had the privilege of visiting the Chicuchas Wasi school, and I was so impressed! I can't imagine the obstacles and challenges that the young female students face and deal with every single day, but they seemed thrilled to be at this school. They were well-behaved, enthusiastic, affectionate (they gave us so many hugs and kisses), and had smiling, beautiful faces that radiated so much optimism and joie de vivre. They clearly have unfathomable potential. Despite fairly short notice, they had prepared songs, poems, and beautiful artwork for us to take with us. It was such a touching, humbling experience. Also, Ruth, the school director, has such passion and love for these girls; it was really extraordinary to see how she interacted with them and how much they love and respect her. I know that I won't ever forget these girls; they definitely deserve a well-rounded education and every opportunity to become independent, thriving women.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Implement English classes.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I was a Chihuchas-wasi (The Children's Home) volunteer widower as my wife when we were dating devoted hours and hours to the cause of raising funds for her friends charitable organization. We collected clothing for shipment to Peru to help the children's home. Over the years we sold jewelry made by the children, bought jewelry to give as gifts to friends and family, an participated in fund raisers of every type imaginable.

Being friends with the founder, Rae Lewis, we learned first hand of the hard work being put in by so many local volunteers to the Sonoma area, and met the staff who would often visit. We also became like extended family members to Rae's adopted daughter from Peru, Rosa, who is perhaps the best ambassador for the work performed at the children's home. From a humble start, she has been given the opportunity to rise to the level her talent would allow, and is now a registered nurse in Sonoma County. Rosa continues to help family members in Peru and is an example of what may be possible if one is willing to put in the necessary effort.

We volunteered and attended the recent anniversary celebration held at our local senior community center in Sonoma and became re-acquainted with the volunteers we have worked with and have supported all of these years and left feeling that what we did made a difference in this world. Sincerely, Norm Brown, Sonoma, CA

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 27, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

After many years of working as a program director as well as teaching English as a Second Language while working with the Mexian farmworkers in California and a rural, indigenous population in Mexico, I have had many opportunities to witness the great need as well as the great advantage of focusing education on the women and girls plays in the lives of a disadvantaged community. I have witnessed the growth and positive developments of Chicuchas Wasi over the years. Having visited Cusco, known the Project Director, met the Board and Ruth Uribe, I am amazed at their tenaciousness, their tirelessness and devoted attention to a very difficult project. I have also seen many valuable community educational development projects in Mexico fail due to frustration, lack of funding or community and government support. It is because of Chicuchas Wasi’s years of clear focus, hard work, positive outcomes and community support that they have been able to survive and prosper. Bravo! Moona O’Toole

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 26, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 26, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Traveling the world, both in person and with written word, I have experienced the astounding contribution to civilization that 'girl education' is making to the world. One of the best is Chicuchas Wasi in Peru. It is a text book example of how a 'home-grown' organization, ran by dedicated creative people can uplift many lives, and do so by keeping them deeply involved in their culture, but at the same time, making them citizens of the world. You should look into Chicuchas Wasi in Peru.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I first met Chicuchas Wasi founder Rae Lewis over 20 years ago. I marveled then at her passion and commitment to bringing healthcare and education to Cusco's street children, and I marvel now at how that vision has grown, embraced others, and been made manifest in the Chicuchas Wasi Alternative School for Girls. I am an enthusiastic supporter of the organization's work--both as a donor and as a new board member--because Chicuchas Wasi honors girls and women, transforms lives, and offers great hope for future generations.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers