Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
43 Reviews
1234.953495
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
June 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am glad to support Chicuchas Wasi! My husband and I visited the school at its former location in 2011, and spent a wonderful morning surrounded by young girls so eager to learn! We are so pleased to see that the new school has opened, and that more grades have been added so that more girls can benefit from this wonderful opportunity.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I went to visit Chicuchas Wasi with my parents in 2011. I helped Director Ruth at the school. The girls in the school are so loving and I am so happy that they are being given the chance to have an education. I came home with a true appreciation of the life I have in the United States. I want every girl to have the same opportunities that I do.
Since returning home I have helped at events to promote Chicuchas Wasi so people here can see what good is being done for these girls. Please support Chicuchas Wasi!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have watched this organization grow over the years and have had the opportunity to visit, most recently in October of 2011. The new facility is a dream come true and I am excited to see what the future holds for Chicuchas Wasi!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 5, 2013

Chicuchas Wasi started over 25 years ago as a refuge for children living on the streets of Cusco, Peru. We have evolved over time into a school for underprivileged girls - our current enrollment is 11... more

June 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a part of Chicuchas Wasi since the beginning and I can't tell you how rewarding this experience has been! We are into our second year of school at our new facility and just completed the Global Giving challenge to be accepted on their website. Follow our progress on Chicuchaswasi.org, Chicuchas Wasi Cusco Peru on Facebook and at @Chicuchaswasi!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Chicuchas Wasi started over 25 years ago as a refuge for children living on the streets of Cusco, Peru. We have evolved over time into a school for underprivileged girls - our current enrollment is 113!
We don't charge the families for their daughters to attend school, we support the school
entirely with donations and are currently involved in a fundraising drive on Globalgiving. These girls are receiving an education that they would never have dreamed of. I am proud to be a part of this life changing organization. Please visit our website: chicuchaswasi.org!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a part of Chicuchas Wasi for over 25 years. We started by helping just a few kids and in 2013 will have 130 girls enrolled in our school! We provide a solid education for these girls who would never have had a chance to be educated. All of the board members are volunteers so all of the donations we receive go directly to the school. I am so proud to be a member of this worthwhile grass roots organization. Please visit our website chicuchaswasi.org or Facebook - Chicuchas Wasi - Cusco for more information.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 24, 2013

I have believed in and helped support Chicuchas Wasi since 1989. When you read reviews of this amazing non-profit, you can’t help but be impressed by the life-affirming, life-changing outcomes it h... more

June 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

With the new Chicuchas Wasi school now in its second year, I found it a wonderful and moving experience to be able to look back over the last quarter century to see how far CW has come from its humble beginnings. I highly encourage you to visit the Chicuchas Wasi website and peruse their comprehensive photo gallery. I am convinced that you will come away with a profound appreciation for amazing accomplishments of the dedicated CW volunteers. The photos beautifully express the undeniable, life-affirming joy they bring to the girls of Chicuchas Wasi.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have believed in and helped support Chicuchas Wasi since 1989. When you read reviews of this amazing non-profit, you can’t help but be impressed by the life-affirming, life-changing outcomes it has fostered over the last 25 years. What may not be as evident, but is vitally important, is the steadfast, tireless, passionate, and effective work that the Chicuchas Wasi California Board of Directors has performed over that same time period. As a past Executive Director of one non-profit and the Chief Development Officer of another, I know first-hand how critical a board of directors is to the success, or failure, of any non-profit. Many members of the California Board of Chicuchas Wasi have served for the entire life of the organization. Rather than becoming fatigued or blasé about their duties, members of this board are as enthusiastic, dedicated, tireless, energized, and effective with their time, talent, and treasure today as they were at the outset. This solid foundation of leadership guarantees a bright future for all the girls fortunate enough to find themselves at Chicuchas Wasi.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2013

more


1 previous review
May 23, 2013

When I first became involved, Chicuchas Wasi was just being established as a nonprofit organization, and we worked to raise money in California to feed and shelter abandoned children found in Cusco, P... more

June 25, 2013

I love visiting the Chicuchas Wasi website and seeing the photos of the girls. 2013 is the second year in their new school and especially for the older girls, how exciting for them to experience this long-anticipated dream come true. Parents volunteer at the school, helping at special events, working on landscaping, and I think what great role-modeling this is for the CW Girls to see their moms and dads involved at their beautiful school and so committed to the girls' education.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When I first became involved, Chicuchas Wasi was just being established as a nonprofit organization, and we worked to raise money in California to feed and shelter abandoned children found in Cusco, Peru. Now, more than 25 years later, CW has evolved from that small grassroots organization into offering an Alternative School for Girls operating each school year on donations large and small from supporters around the globe. What a revelation it was, this elegant solution to child abandonment: educate the girls! CW teaches parents that if their girls stay in school, they will grow to be women able to support themselves and their own children if necessary --- and capable of avoiding the difficult consideration of abandoning their kids just to survive. CW students may be growing up in poverty, but parents, family members, and others in their indigenous communities now see the bright, intelligent, confident faces of CW girls who will always be richer for their awakened interest in learning. Along with academics and a broader awareness of the world around them, CW girls gain self-esteem, personal integrity, and strong values that will last a lifetime. Please visit www.chicuchaswasi.org and LIKE us on Facebook.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...be so pleased that Chicuchas Wasi students will be offered even more opportunities when the Ministry of Education, Cusco, Peru, becomes able to support Girl Education at Chicuchas Wasi School by funding of teacher salaries. This is an advancement CW looks forward to and which will hopefully come to be in the near future.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
December 13, 2012

I have been actively involved in Chicuchas Wasi since its inception 25 years ago by its inspirational founder, Rae Lewis. Starting as a grass roots home for abandoned street children it has evolved ov... more

June 25, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have been involved with Chicuchas Wasi since its inception and have visited the school at least 8 times. The girl’s faces tell the story. They are alert, energetic and happy to be in school, demonstrated by their positive school progression and interest in extra activities. Their teachers understand the importance of educating the girls in order to move them out of poverty and to give them opportunities that without an education would be unavailable to them. This project definitely deserves, needs, and appreciates your support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 13, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I have been actively involved in Chicuchas Wasi since its inception 25 years ago by its inspirational founder, Rae Lewis. Starting as a grass roots home for abandoned street children it has evolved over the years into a school for indigenous, poor girls. These Andean girls would otherwise have little or no opportunity for education and most probably would continue in the cycle of poverty and abuse which plagues their mothers. I have made 6 trips to Cusco, Peru and have observed first hand all aspects of the school and the girls it serves. Under the tutelage of Ruth, the Peruvian Director and the teachers she directs, the girl's education not only incorporates academic standards but also stresses personal values, integrity, self esteem and responsibility. Presently I am on the Board of Directors and can assure you that all donations go directly to support the school. Betty Woods

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 24, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

June 24, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

While hiking the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu our guide, Efrain Valles shared with me the meager beginnings of what has become the non profit, Chicuchas Wasi. Efrain was a street kid, saved by founder Rae Lewis and he refers to her as his Mom. He has a college education, a beautiful young family and a successful career. His passion for Chicuchas Wasi is contagious and he pays it forward by working on the school, donating and fundraising. I wanted to see the school when we returned to Cusco, so Efrain arranged for Ruth Uribe, the school director to pick 3 of us up. I was so excited to see the girls! The school was very impressive, well layed out, clean and organized. The small group of younger girls doing art outside the classroom all got up and ran to greet Ruth and you could clearly see how much they love her. We were surprised to find in another outdoor section they had planned a special greeting for us. All the girls looked sharp in their uniforms and they were in rows by grade. We stood before them and they entertained us with songs, dance, a poem and presented us with cards and drawings they made. We were moved to tears! They were so happy, loving and gave us big hugs. Afterward it was lunch and they had a healthy, hot cooked meal in the cafeteria/kitchen, which had a beautiful view of the mountains. I am excited for these girls and the oppurtunity they are provided through the Chichuchas Wasi school. The gift of education by a caring staff will expose their strenghts, self worth and free them to be independent, confident young women with boundless possibilities!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Teach them the English language. With so much tourism coming into Cusco and many of the tourists speaking English, they can only soar higher and go further with many oppurtunities knowing English.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I recently visited this incredible school and I was almost brought to tears by these beautiful children and there amazing teachers. We could see such great work being carried out by these students. The facility is improving all the time and we as a group were so thrilled to supply the children with much needed items to help in there education. What a wonderful job those teachers are doing and hopefully the school can continue to grow into the future.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 22, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 22, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I've chosen to support Chicuchas Wasi because I respect the people behind this organization and trust in their leadership to maintain extremely high standards. Education is a key in improving the lives of all children and when girls are denied this right, the whole community suffers. This nonprofit has grown and changed over the years, and will continue to do so, to meet the needs and enhance the lives of all the girls and young women in its reach.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers