Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.927275
Write A Review
November 7, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Chicuchas Wasi is a fantastic organisation and we wish them all the best. They were introduced to us by our tour guide Efrain Valles and we visit the group twice a year on our tours. The project is doing such incredible work and there is always a sense of joy and enthusiasm from all those involved, not least the girls themselves. We are very privileged to visit the project and we always try to support them whenever we can. Many thanks for the warm welcomes we always receive, it is always one of the highlights of our tours to see the wonderful work being done by your incredible team.
October 20, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Make a summary of the kindly Chicuchas Wasi activity is something very simple for me, because I have very vivid memories of the moment of its creation in the mind of Rae Lewis.

I met Rae in Lima, on their return from Cusco, by the end of the 1980s, she had attended a gathering with a
group of friends engaged in the various expressions of the Andean culture, and at the end of the meeting everyone went to walk by the malecon of Miraflores.

On that occasion she told me that she had come to Peru as a turist. In Cusco she had an impressive encounter with the "street children".

Cusco is one of the most cosmopolitan cities of South American, and she never thought to find so heartbreaking images as small children in such a state of neglect. This childs, very advanced night, gathered in parks and squares of the city in order to sleep making mutual company and mutual protection in all circumstances.

She told me how difficult resulted to her achieve that some of them get closer to her at that evening hours, while on the day time, was so simple to watched them play and interact with tourists in many activities ranging from simple trade of sweets, newspapers, shoe shine... in short, all those that we are “use” to see.

Something different was to try that they accept her as a "protective", since adults infuse them great fear at that time. But she gradually won their trust and could make a "pact" with a handful of them, who agreed to receive a plate of hot food a day with the condition to accept to go to sleep in the place that she would provide for them.

In little more than one month she gets together nearly twenty children of different ages and conditions... and also of different feelings. Some of them decided to leave the street in exchange for the offer that they were receiving, in addition to food, personal hygiene (first level of health), and education.

Her determination led her to contact some of the children parents to ask for the motives and reasons to leave their children on so abandon situation on the street. There were explanations of all caliber and very dark silence, that were lost in the inhuman feelings.

Rae came to involve in her cooperative work several people, but their respective wills sometimes did not coincide with her´s and they left her "hanging". And she complained that. However, on the other hand, she had obtained positive response from restaurant owners who were permeable to cooperate with her.

Telling me all this and with my knowledge of the legal reality of the Peru I told her that it would be appropriate that she depersonalize her work in order to avoid falling into side responsibilities that could compromise their future and that of his work.

Her determination led her to contact some of the parents children to ask regarding the motives and reasons to leave so their children on the street.
Rae came to commit his work to several people, but their respective wills sometimes did not coincide with yours and they left "hanging". And she complained that. However, on the other hand, it had obtained positive response from restaurant owners who was raising to cooperate with it.

Telling me all this and with my knowledge of the legal reality of the Peru I told her that it would be appropriate that he despersonalize her work in order to avoid falling into side responsibilities that could compromise her future and work.

As presumably her continued tenacity and so then she acquired a house in the town of Urubamba - Valle Sagrado of Cusco which he called Chicuchas Wasi. Its initial conception was to make it a very special tourist hostel, where the first housed were just the children. They received there food, education, housing and dress, but above all love. In addition, having to learn everything that will help them in the future to interact in society and continue to be good people and prosper.

In 1992 I went with a large group of mountain cyclists friends to make several tours arround Cusco and the Sacred Valley, and we get accommodation at the hostel. Living pleasantly with children, from whom we receive many collaboration and joy. So enjoyable moments of sympathy they were recorded in all of us.

It was remarkable to see them very compromize to their respective student obligations, taking care of their own personal and communal obligations. Always emphasizing the joy and happiness of living under the protective mantle of Rae.

I have witnessed very risky facts and one of them was when the urgency of getting a vehicle that would serve as transportation for when she had to go with the children to visit their natural families, who lived in very remote areas of the provinces of Cusco.

She came to Lima, as she announced to bay a vehicle. With this intent we went to different local sale of second hand, until we find the ideal van.

I warned her that it would be necessary to wait for the transfer formalities to conclude so then take it to Cusco. I had to accept the reality that her tenacity and willingness to serve their children was more powerful than the "paperwork", because they can not wait. And, that same evening she went to Cusco... as if it were just around the corner. Of course, that encouraged me to join her... but I was only a lawyer with obligations and a Saturday cyclist adventurous, while she was off-road adventurous solidarity.

Two days later, I received her call, she had arrive to Cusco with peace of mind, despite her little knowledge of the territory and language, thanks to her vast knowledge of herself and confidence that things would be as God had predicted to be. For me, it was a splendid lesson.

Now, at least thirty year later…I may have more to add & tell about Chicuchas-Wasi until today school for girls…is a magnificent work for the good of them that in other circumstances will receive to little from life.
October 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I think that Chicuchas Wasi is a wonderful educational opportunity for girls in South America. The organization shows girls the foundations of nutrition and family values while giving them an education. I wish success going forward.
October 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I became involved with Chicuchas Wasi as a monthly recurring donor. I picked the organization because I absolutely love their mission and focus on helping educate the indigenous girls in Cusco Peru. I also started following them on Social Media and through a series of interactions with Rae Lewis, the founder of Chicuchas Wasi, I am now a part of this incredible organization. The passion and dedication the volunteers have is amazing! They have come so far with just a few passionate people who give every ounce of their heart to this mission. They say that what you put out comes back to you tenfold. The volunteers, teachers and board of Chicuchas Wasi give so much kindness and love to their project that you can see the fruits of their labor in the beautiful smiles of the girls they teach. Saying Chicuchas Wasi only teaches girls is an understatement. Every girl who learns to read and becomes educated will now have an impact in her family, her community and eventually the world. Thank you Chicuchas Wasi for all you do!
October 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been familiar with Chicuchas Wasi and the work that they do for several years now. I came to know about it through one of my dearest friends, who as a girl went to that school and was eventually able to come to the US and make a life for herself here from a background of poverty. None of this would have been possible if not for CW. CW is changing lives for young girls in Peru for the better and opening doors that otherwise would undoubtedly remain closed, through education. They also provide meals and transport to/from school. CW is a wonderful organization and deserves all the support it can get.
October 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I met Rae, their founder, last year and am impressed by her dedication to a) this nonprofit's beneficiaries and b) the future of the nonprofit and its ability to continue serving its target population. We have talked at length about our common challenges (I'm the CFO of a separate nonprofit) and am confident she will find a way forward (as she has already by partnering with a local college).
October 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Chicuchas Wasi is an outstanding educational opportunity for underprivileged girls. This organization not only provides an important education element for their future but a caring, loving environment that nurtures the whole child. The foundations of nutrition, family support and transportation are all components considered by Chicuchas Wasi to make the educational opportunity a success and foster a brighter future. I wish them great future success!
October 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
December 26, 2012

I have first hand experience about this amazing organization. I was one of the first few children that lived in Chicuchas Wasi 25 years ago when it was founded by Rae Lewis. When I was seven years old... more

October 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have been part of CW since the early years and I know first hand experience the dedication and hard work of the founder and board members to maintain this girls school one of the best schools in Cuzco Peru. It focuses on the underprivileged, indigenous girls who have almost no opportunity to obtain an education due to their circumstances.
December 26, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I have first hand experience about this amazing organization. I was one of the first few children that lived in Chicuchas Wasi 25 years ago when it was founded by Rae Lewis. When I was seven years old, both of my parents passed away leaving my five siblings and I orphaned. It was through a social worker that I met Rae, who took my siblings and I into her home. At the time Chicuchas Wasi was a children's home, where I lived for seven years. It was through this organization that I received a scholarship to further my studies in the USA. I left Chicuchas Wasi Peru when I was 14 years old but I was still part of this organization until I graduated from college and became independent. It was because of CW that today I am a Registered Nurse and I am able to help my family in Peru financially. Today, I travel to Peru once a year to visit family and also see the school and the rest of the CW family. Words alone cannot explain how grateful I am for having met Rae Lewis and for giving me not only a place to live but an education that will last me for a lifetime. Coming from a place where women are still the minority and have fewer opportunities, an education is the foundation to a better life and opportunities in many ways.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have long admired all of the time and energy that has gone into making Chicuchas Wasi the wonderfully enriching school experience for these sweet and eager children who are the fortunate recipients of a free education. They would otherwise have little hope to overcome their impoverished situations. We here in Sonoma are so proud to have witnessed this growth from a spark of the desire to help the helpless to a full fledged academic program of 27 years.

Carol Dickason
October 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

It was good the hear that the Chicuchi Wasi project, that was introduced to me some twenty years ago, has become such a success story. It was then that Rae Pieraccini came to the San Francisco office of VARIG Brazilian Airlines and made me aware of the dire situation of the young girls of Cuzco. She explained the project in details and of her plans to open a local school for the poor. She requested assistance from us to transport a large amount of cargo to Lima from California that would be needed to bring the school's program to fruition. What Chicuchi Wasi accomplished in the early years, and continue to do so, is a work of wonder. I feel gratified to know that we were able to offer our assistance and to realize how successful Chicuchi Wasi has become in educating so many young girls for a better future.

Roger J. Pacheco
Sale Mgr. (retired)
VARIG Brazilian Airlines
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers