Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
1234.952385
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
December 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I just visited the Chicuchawasi School a few weeks ago during my trip to Cusco. Efrain Valles, my guide on the Inca Trail, told me about the school and his involvement with the organization. I was inspired by the work Ruth and her staff are doing at the school, changing the lives of these young girls and their families. I truly believe educating and empowering women can change the world. Thank you Ruth, Rae, Efrain and all the rest of you for the wonderful work you are doing. What an inspiring organization! Jane Engel

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I visited Chicuchas Wasi on my trip to Peru in May. They are doing such important work! And, Ruth's dedication floored me. We will support their work in the future by bringing all Llama Expeditions' groups to visit and make a donation. Go Chicuchas Wasi! Girl power!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I recently had the privilege of visiting the Chicuchas Wasi school, and I was so impressed! I can't imagine the obstacles and challenges that the young female students face and deal with every single day, but they seemed thrilled to be at this school. They were well-behaved, enthusiastic, affectionate (they gave us so many hugs and kisses), and had smiling, beautiful faces that radiated so much optimism and joie de vivre. They clearly have unfathomable potential. Despite fairly short notice, they had prepared songs, poems, and beautiful artwork for us to take with us. It was such a touching, humbling experience. Also, Ruth, the school director, has such passion and love for these girls; it was really extraordinary to see how she interacted with them and how much they love and respect her. I know that I won't ever forget these girls; they definitely deserve a well-rounded education and every opportunity to become independent, thriving women.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Implement English classes.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was a Chihuchas-wasi (The Children's Home) volunteer widower as my wife when we were dating devoted hours and hours to the cause of raising funds for her friends charitable organization. We collected clothing for shipment to Peru to help the children's home. Over the years we sold jewelry made by the children, bought jewelry to give as gifts to friends and family, an participated in fund raisers of every type imaginable.

Being friends with the founder, Rae Lewis, we learned first hand of the hard work being put in by so many local volunteers to the Sonoma area, and met the staff who would often visit. We also became like extended family members to Rae's adopted daughter from Peru, Rosa, who is perhaps the best ambassador for the work performed at the children's home. From a humble start, she has been given the opportunity to rise to the level her talent would allow, and is now a registered nurse in Sonoma County. Rosa continues to help family members in Peru and is an example of what may be possible if one is willing to put in the necessary effort.

We volunteered and attended the recent anniversary celebration held at our local senior community center in Sonoma and became re-acquainted with the volunteers we have worked with and have supported all of these years and left feeling that what we did made a difference in this world. Sincerely, Norm Brown, Sonoma, CA

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

After many years of working as a program director as well as teaching English as a Second Language while working with the Mexian farmworkers in California and a rural, indigenous population in Mexico, I have had many opportunities to witness the great need as well as the great advantage of focusing education on the women and girls plays in the lives of a disadvantaged community. I have witnessed the growth and positive developments of Chicuchas Wasi over the years. Having visited Cusco, known the Project Director, met the Board and Ruth Uribe, I am amazed at their tenaciousness, their tirelessness and devoted attention to a very difficult project. I have also seen many valuable community educational development projects in Mexico fail due to frustration, lack of funding or community and government support. It is because of Chicuchas Wasi’s years of clear focus, hard work, positive outcomes and community support that they have been able to survive and prosper. Bravo! Moona O’Toole

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Traveling the world, both in person and with written word, I have experienced the astounding contribution to civilization that 'girl education' is making to the world. One of the best is Chicuchas Wasi in Peru. It is a text book example of how a 'home-grown' organization, ran by dedicated creative people can uplift many lives, and do so by keeping them deeply involved in their culture, but at the same time, making them citizens of the world. You should look into Chicuchas Wasi in Peru.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I first met Chicuchas Wasi founder Rae Lewis over 20 years ago. I marveled then at her passion and commitment to bringing healthcare and education to Cusco's street children, and I marvel now at how that vision has grown, embraced others, and been made manifest in the Chicuchas Wasi Alternative School for Girls. I am an enthusiastic supporter of the organization's work--both as a donor and as a new board member--because Chicuchas Wasi honors girls and women, transforms lives, and offers great hope for future generations.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 25, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My wife and I first learned about Chicuchas Wasi a number of years ago, and finally had a chance to visit in 2011. I arrived already convinced that educating and empowering girls in developing countries is the single most powerful means to a healthier and happier planet. Experiencing Chucuchas Wasi in action showed me a terrifically high-performing example of that craft, and told me that here is a terrific investment!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering for many different activities since Chicuchas Wasi was founded over 20 years ago. The founder is a woman who has been a friend to the cause of women and girls as long as I have known her, and we have been friends since 1985. She retired as a nurse and went on a travelling adventure that led to her spending several years in Peru. Chicuchas Wasi started out in Cuzco and took in several children who were living on the streets, boys and girls. They came to live in an environment that stressed hygiene, diet and survival skills that could produce economic viability in their poor environs.

They learned to make jewelry which would be brought back to California and sold at craft fairs and open markets, and the money would be taken back to them in Peru. I can't even begin to tell you how many pairs of earrings we sold and bought for ourselves!

The school moved from Cuzco to a purchased hotel near Machu Pichu where it could accomodate more children and the decision was made to become solely a school for girls, because the female in Peru is very much at a disadvantage in terms of equality of life. Our girls grow into the type of women who will continue to strive for a better way of life and who will support their little sisters.

Over twenty years later, the dedicated people who started the foundation are all still on board and serving without any wages to keep this project growing and it is stronger than ever. Former students help it keep going too. This last year for Christmas we had calenders for sale that were photographed and created by one of the former students. There are beautiful photos of Peru and two languages on them. I am very excited that younger ones are coming forward to take over and keep this wonderful effort going strong. It is all about that quote that means the only thing that ever changes the world is a small and dedicated group, and that is Chicuchas Wasi, changing Peru one girl at a time!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am glad to support Chicuchas Wasi! My husband and I visited the school at its former location in 2011, and spent a wonderful morning surrounded by young girls so eager to learn! We are so pleased to see that the new school has opened, and that more grades have been added so that more girls can benefit from this wonderful opportunity.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers