Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
1234.928575
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I am a Teacher in a Chicago Public Library in a community of great need. My position is funded by the Chicago Public Library Foundation. Everyday I tutor children of every race, creed and nationality in the library. Many of these children come from single parent homes and from homes where the parents do not speak or write fluent English. These children and their parents depend on the Teacher in the Library to help them succeed at school. Today, a woman asked me to help both her 6th grade son because she never graduated high school . Without the Foundation's support I could not succeed in teaching both to read and write fluently and cogently. The Foundation is geat organization of dedicated individuals who truly believe in education and helping the less fortunate succeed. We owe a great deal of gratituted to CPLF. Please lend your support. Terry D.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I recently joined and help found the Chicago Library Foundation (CPLF) Junior Board. Before joining the Board I had a limited knowledge of the important role that the CPLF played in perserving the key role the the libary plays in the lives of so many of Chicago's citizens. I have been impresssed with all of the Foundation's staff as well as the leadership of President & CEO Rhona Frazin. I look forward to continuing to work with the foundation and expand it's reach to the young professional community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

As a librarian (formerly children's & now adult), I have benefitted from the Chicago Public Library Foundation's generous work. The Foundation helps provide new books for children during the Summer Reading Program, supplementing the existing collections in each location. Children love the feel of new books & devour them like candy over the summer. Year-round, the Foundation sponsors the Cybernavigator program which places part-time people who assist patrons with computer use in many libraries. These Cybernavigators help to bridge the digital divide and assist people in all aspects of computer use from learning how to use a mouse and keyboard to setting up email and Facebook accounts. The Chicago Public Library, its staff and patrons benefit greatly from everything the Foundation does. I wish they could see the smiles on the face of each person they have helped - thank you, Foundation members and supporters, on behalf of all our patrons!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I am deeply impressed by the Chicago Public Library Foundation for their commendable and tireless work to expand and make the Chicago Public Library System relevant and accesible through innovative initiatives such as You Media. I enjoy the wide range of authors and speakers program, art exhibits, and and live music concerts and I know the Chicago Public Library Foundation helps make all of these innitiatives possible.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

The Chicago Public Library Foundation (CPLF) is a visionary organization with relentless focus on serving the City of Chicago. I have volunteered with the CPLF for the last three years in a variety of roles and have been amazed by the talent and passion that is found across their staff and Board. The CPLF has lead one of the nations largest library systems to extend its hours, provide one-on-one tutors focused computer education. The CPLF now continues to be a steward in Chicago as the Library further extends into the digital age.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

The work of the Chicago Public Library Foundation is amazing -- the Chicago library system is one of the largest in the country, so outreach and support are of great importance to the city and its residents. The programs of the CPLF engage community members, children, and adults of all ages.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

The Chicago Public Library Foundation is an organization of extraordinary reach and vision, and I believe it has played a huge part in helping the Chicago Public Library remain a vital jewel in this city. I am a former teacher who became a writer of children's mysteries, and the CPLF first came to my attention when they gave me the 21st Century Award, in 2006. As a writer lucky enough to receive this wonderful vote of confidence, I feel the CPLF gave me a tremendous 'running start' in the field, and I can now see what a powerful gift their awards have become; each year they celebrate and stir together writers of life-long renown with those just starting out. The message is clear: they celebrate the written word, and their interest in both discovery of new talent and ongoing celebration of the better-known is infectious. There is a feeling of adventure, of relevance, and of edgy momentum to the CPLF's work in other areas as well; they have added tremendously to the everyday vitality of the CPL by supporting meaningful programs of many kinds for children and teens, drawing these younger readers into the library year-round and supplying ample electronic outreach as well. They are crucial in making the CPL one of the greatest assets Chicago offers its residents. I cannot recommend them highly enough.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

Great staff. Helpful services. Will come back again.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

Chicago's libraries, supported by the Chicago Public Library Foundation, is one of the leading library systems in the world; and it's work is vastly expanded by the magnificent and tireless Foundation board, which provides funding for countless education and cultural programs that the Library otherwise couldn't do. The Board's governance and activism is exemplary. It is a critically important aspect of a vital Chicago institution.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

The Chicago Public Library Foundation supports the city's libraries. What could be more important than that? The library is a FREE resource for every Chicagoan, of every age and from every neighborhood. The Foundation supports programs and services in the libraries that are beyond what the city can do by itself. Cities like Chicago would be immeasurably less vibrant without our wonderful libraries and the foundation that supports them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers