Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
123.7297345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Chicago Photography Center is a wonder organization and I love attending their events. They are extremely professional and friendly to all who visit them and an asset to the community at large. Keep up the fine work CPC!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

What a mess. Spend your $ elsewhere. Do not think the people at the top care about the students or even teachers. Large turnover in staff? Wonder why?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

A wonderful resource for teaching photography, and being able to interact with other passionate photographers, both professional and amateur. I have taken many classes on different aspects of photography, and have used their facilities for post production. I especially like that they have darkroom facilities for black and white film developing. I really enjoy the hands-on process of film developing, I just wish there were more film photographers joining me!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

I signed up for a introductory camera class at the CPC in January of 2011 without ever owning a real camera. In less than two years, I have already been able to have my photos exhibited in shows both here and in London, England. All of that made possible by the hard work and commitment of the wonderful instructors and staff at The Chicago Photography Center. I know is sounds cliche to say that an experience is life changing, but my life has been enriched beyond belief, thanks to the CPC. Not only can I say that the CPC made me the photographer that I am today, but I can also say that it has helped me grow as an individual and has opened the door to opportunities I never knew existed.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 26, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

March 26, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I attended Photo 1-3 from 2008-2009. Initially I felt attending these classes was a valuable experience. Very quickly things began to change for the worse. I had no idea why the Photo 1 instructer was asked to leave and no reason was given. What was explained was that the school was headed in a different direction and that it was time for change. What has seemed to change is the students no longer seem to be the number one priority. I was made to feel out of place and not good enough to show my work. I compared my experience with a friend that attended Photo 1 in 2010. He also expressed dissapointment in that the school is not interested in promoting students work or showcasing it, for that matter. This school is only interested in promoting the work of the staff. What sense does that make?! I have been shooting as a hobby over 11 years and have attended many different photography classes including workshops and college courses. All I can say is this place isn't worth the time or money.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

March 23, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

March 23, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I once volunteered with this organization, and took a variety of classes. I even exhibited my work there. But it's changed in recent years and I no longer want to be a part of what they do. I don't know why Karen E. would refer to comments as “defamatory, libelous and untrue”-.- the person was speaking the truth about the organization's default. Maybe Karen wasn't there when the initial deal was made and prefers to concentrate only on "current affairs". I was there, I saw what happened. This organization has a checkered past, with obligations they are not meeting.
I understand that the current Board is not going to advertise these behind-the-scenes problems. But prospective students should know that the organization isn’t on the soundest of foundations.
Aside from all that, I have found other schools in Chicago for photography classes where the emphasis is placed much more on student work, not that of professionals. If you are looking for a place to begin (or continue) your own photographic journey, and are interested in showing your own work in a public gallery, CPC may not be right for you. My work has been exhibited at other photography galleries in Chicago. I have taken classes at other schools where the concentration is on teaching fundamental through advanced photographic skills and digital printing. They have sophisticated digital labs with excellent computers and printers. They employ very experienced and gifted teachers whose goal is to bring out the very best in their students’ work. These teachers aren’t involved because they want to exhibit their own work, they are involved because they want to encourage and inspire students. Do a search for "photography classes in Chicago", and read websites from other schools. CPC is by no means the only game in town.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

March 23, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 23, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

The CPC stands at the forefront of bringing interesting, diverse exhibits into the neighborhood. I've had the delight of attending their gallery openings and fundraisers, and have found them to be a worthwhile cause. Although I don't take pictures, a number of my friends have taken classes at the CPC. Their feedback is that the courses are well-organized, and the instructors really know their stuff. A true asset to Chicago!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

assist in the digital lab or darkroom; assist with data entry; administrative tasks; opening receptions and special events; volunteer scheduling; weekly reports. Volunteer