Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
123.7297345
Write A Review
August 23, 2013

more

August 23, 2013

Great organization under very caring and competent management and staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013

more


1 previous review
March 21, 2012

Board seems too interested in drinking wine and spending $ on food. Better places to spend money and their time. more

April 6, 2013

The volunteers care but the board?

Found better classes for the money and nicer people elsewhere.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 21, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

Board seems too interested in drinking wine and spending $ on food. Better places to spend money and their time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was seeking community outreach that fed my love of art. Volunteering for the Chicago Photography Center was the perfect way to do this. As volunteers we meet with adults who live in supported housing or shelters. As a group, we venture through different city scenes while sharing photography lessons and discussions. It creates a new avenue of expression for the students and such an rewarding dialogue for everybody. It's been such a positive experience and I'll definitely continue my involvement.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

I signed up for a photography class and in the process got a life changing experience. The instructors are mind blowing to say the least and push me the way I need to be pushed. Every instructor is 5 star and in the industry as Columbia College professors or professionals photographers of Chicago's biggest media publications. CPC is perfect for if you just want to learn how to take good photos, but it also has the capacity to push someone to greatness. The students they are producing are high caliber and gifted. They are exhibiting and starting sucessful businesses. I have to say my favorite things is the atmospere. Instead of having a competitive atmosphere it is one where everyone encourages each other and it is not elitist. Everyone helps everyone else grow and the amount of friendships fostered out of this places makes it an uplifting experience to simply be part of.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2012

more

October 20, 2012

The Chicago Photography Center is a great organization that has helped inspire me to take my photography to levels I never thought I could achieve. The instructors are passionate and knowledgeable, and are true professionals working in many of the fields of photography (product, photojournalism, editorial, etc). I'm very happy that I found out about this place, and can't wait to see what they do next!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Revamp the computer lab with Macs and make sure the entire system is calibrated to make sure photo paper isn't wasted.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

The CPC has provided me with a friendly and inviting space with qualified and dedicated instructors who are genuinely interested in teaching and sharing their passion for photography. Inspiration and creativity are abound in an environment that is both professional and casual at the same time. With the support and expertise of peers and instructors, I find myself discovering, more and more, the artist voice within. Volunteering for the CPC has been a rich and fruitful experience, both in becoming a part of the mission and in the learning opportunity it has provided.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 22, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

March 22, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I Worked with them when they first started out and it was great then. A real community of photographers sharing everything, this was in 2006 and 2007. Since then, they fired the director who started the center and turned it upside down. They no longer have a open door community feel or policy. It is geared more to wedding photography any little else. The original place was for all kinds of photographers or those new to photography. I stop volunteering my time for that kind of organization. Don't believe me, look at the plaque on the wall for my name as a voulenteer!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

March 22, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

March 22, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

CPC has an awesome community outreach program. For 7 years, volunteer photographers have taken cameras and photography classes to adults who live in shelters. They're going to expand this program to include other underserved populations (maybe veterans, and/or kids at risk).

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

assist in the digital lab or darkroom; assist with data entry; administrative tasks; opening receptions and special events; volunteer scheduling; weekly reports. Volunteer