Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
123.7297345
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
December 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

What a mess. Spend your $ elsewhere. Do not think the people at the top care about the students or even teachers. Large turnover in staff? Wonder why?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Board of the cpc has defaulted on their obligation to the investors of the building they occupy. This group of people (the investors) came together for the sole prepose of providing a home for cpc. Because of their default, 27 people are about to louse their $350.000 investment. I believe in the past 5 years there is no person that started classes at cpc that have acquired the skills necessary to be able exhibit in a show. cpc says they are a school but they have not had a student show (of their own students) since I left as program director 6 years ago. Their gallery only exhibits the work established photographers. They use the gallery as a draw for their classes with the implication that after someone attends their classes they will learn enough to also be part of a show. Maybe, but because cpc does not have "student shows" it's not likely that they will be able to exhibit there. I started teaching photography in 1969 when I with others started the Jane Addams Center/ Hull House Photography Program (JAC/HH). cpc clams they are the same program that started at JAC/HH in 1969. They are not. The JAC/HH photography program only exhibited the work of their students.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was seeking community outreach that fed my love of art. Volunteering for the Chicago Photography Center was the perfect way to do this. As volunteers we meet with adults who live in supported housing or shelters. As a group, we venture through different city scenes while sharing photography lessons and discussions. It creates a new avenue of expression for the students and such an rewarding dialogue for everybody. It's been such a positive experience and I'll definitely continue my involvement.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

I signed up for a photography class and in the process got a life changing experience. The instructors are mind blowing to say the least and push me the way I need to be pushed. Every instructor is 5 star and in the industry as Columbia College professors or professionals photographers of Chicago's biggest media publications. CPC is perfect for if you just want to learn how to take good photos, but it also has the capacity to push someone to greatness. The students they are producing are high caliber and gifted. They are exhibiting and starting sucessful businesses. I have to say my favorite things is the atmospere. Instead of having a competitive atmosphere it is one where everyone encourages each other and it is not elitist. Everyone helps everyone else grow and the amount of friendships fostered out of this places makes it an uplifting experience to simply be part of.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

CPC has fostered my personal and technical growth as a photographer. I have learned invaluable lessons in the practice of photography from gifted and esteemed instructors. There is a strong sense of community among staff, volunteers, students, and visitors. I have friends in other cities and states who are envious of my access to CPC as a resource. It is so rare to find a place that offers such a comprehensive set of programs for photography. I especially appreciate their outreach to youth in Chicago. We need more positive opportunities for creativity for our young people. CPC is a prime example of the impact that is possible through mentoring. There are few such organizations, and I feel incredibly fortunate to be able to benefit from their many programs.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2012

more

October 20, 2012

The Chicago Photography Center is a great organization that has helped inspire me to take my photography to levels I never thought I could achieve. The instructors are passionate and knowledgeable, and are true professionals working in many of the fields of photography (product, photojournalism, editorial, etc). I'm very happy that I found out about this place, and can't wait to see what they do next!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Revamp the computer lab with Macs and make sure the entire system is calibrated to make sure photo paper isn't wasted.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

more


2 previous reviews - show all
March 23, 2012

As the founder and owner of a fine art photography gallery that attracted clients from around the globe, and a professional fine art photographer who has had solo exhibitions in France, Italy, India a... more

October 19, 2012

Chicago Photography Center teaches excellent classes in a wide variety of photographic subjects and has a gallery that shows both local and international artists, for the enrichment of its students and the public. Many students choose to take the entire curriculum in the certificate program and the expertise of the instructors assists them in their chosen areas of photography, providing confidence to compete in the marketplace.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 23, 2012

As the founder and owner of a fine art photography gallery that attracted clients from around the globe, and a professional fine art photographer who has had solo exhibitions in France, Italy, India and the US, I have to say that CPC, although a young organization, is on the right track. Their classes are comprehensive, taught by professionals in the field, and the lectures and exhibitions are topnotch. I think that given time, with the wonderful energy that goes into every endeavor, will grow into a strong, vibrant center for the photographic community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 24, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

Chicago Photography Center is the best place in Chicago to learn a variety of photography techniques, in both traditional film and digital formats for those who don't want to enroll in a whole College program. The center has constant events, critiques, lectures, guest artists, exhibitions and competitions which makes it a true photographic community.
Constant innovations and improvements show that

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

By curating student work as well as well-known professional photographers' work, I am very impressed with many of the students who study at CPC.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep doing what we are doing, and add better lighting for the gallery.

October 19, 2012

more

October 19, 2012

I am a certificate program student at the Chicago Photography Center, and through classes and events at the center, I have developed a much richer understanding of photography of all kinds, and made wonderful contacts and friends. The Chicago Photography Center is a profoundly generous community, and I'm happy to call it home.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

The CPC has provided me with a friendly and inviting space with qualified and dedicated instructors who are genuinely interested in teaching and sharing their passion for photography. Inspiration and creativity are abound in an environment that is both professional and casual at the same time. With the support and expertise of peers and instructors, I find myself discovering, more and more, the artist voice within. Volunteering for the CPC has been a rich and fruitful experience, both in becoming a part of the mission and in the learning opportunity it has provided.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

A wonderful resource for teaching photography, and being able to interact with other passionate photographers, both professional and amateur. I have taken many classes on different aspects of photography, and have used their facilities for post production. I especially like that they have darkroom facilities for black and white film developing. I really enjoy the hands-on process of film developing, I just wish there were more film photographers joining me!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

assist in the digital lab or darkroom; assist with data entry; administrative tasks; opening receptions and special events; volunteer scheduling; weekly reports. Volunteer