Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
123.7297345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
March 26, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

March 26, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I went here first around five, six years ago and was met by the founder and director at the time and he was extremely rude to me. He knew me and my work and purposely went out of his way to try humiliate me. I have been around the block a few times, I wasn't going to intimidated. Then I heard he was terminated. I decided to give the place another chance. Since then I have been back numerous times, from openings to benefits. I was soon asked to be an instructor there and have been since. I find CPC to be a wonderful and supportive community of people who care about the world of photography. They are a committed bunch and I will always be part of this community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2013

more

November 21, 2013

The Chicago Photography Center has been EVICTED from its space on Lincoln Avenue. They
owe tens of thousands of dollars in back rent and real estate taxes they are responsible for.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I have long had a passion for photography, having taken classes and taught in college and having been a member of several photographic organizations over the years. Going to galleries and seeing photographic displays is important to me, but sharing my work and ideas with other photographers as well as having discussions about the medium and its history gives me special pleasure. This is exactly what I found at the Chicago Photography Center, peers with knowledge about the medium and its history who are willing to discuss work in critiques and further to discuss the principles and skills that are beneficial to that work. The Center offers facilities in which to create your own images, from darkrooms, to computers and printers, to lighting studios. It offers classes in which to further one’s understanding of photography. It has a gallery space to show the work of members and other artists. It is not a one-dimensional organization, but a place that allows photographers to pursue the knowledge required to grow from beginners to sophisticated professionals with an artist perception of the discipline. A center like this is essential to a thriving and sophisticated photographic community in a city such as Chicago.
Michael Berns

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It works just fine as it is.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Chicago Photography Center is a wonder organization and I love attending their events. They are extremely professional and friendly to all who visit them and an asset to the community at large. Keep up the fine work CPC!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

I joined Chicago Photography Center as a member almost 2 years ago and took a few classes. I found the community warm and supportive and the classes were fantastic. My work was part of an all student exhibition in July of 2012 which was a fantastic experience. Late 2012 I became a member of the board of directors to help CPC continue their services and to give back.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 27, 2013

more

August 27, 2013

I am an amateur photographer with a new camera. Being a member at Chicago Photography Center enabled me to meet with an excellent trainer, so I am confident in using the camera. The prints I created have been used for a poster where I volunteer, which increased attendance at events. Plus the prints look gorgeous.

There are both tangible and intangible benefits to the CPC trainings. I have more confidence using my digital camera and the results help the causes I care about.

The Executive Director is super competent and her enthusiasm is contagious. The hard-working Board of Director, though small, is committed to expanding the impact of the Center. CPC is recognized as the best place to learn photography in Chicago, probably the Midwest.

Joan Flanagan

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Move the printing studio to the first floor near the gallery.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 23, 2013

more

August 23, 2013

Great organization under very caring and competent management and staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013

more

August 21, 2013

The Chicago Photography Center (CPC) has absolutely changed my life. I would not be where I am today as a photographer with out them.

The CPC is there to help you on your photographic journey whether you're a casual photographer or are interested in making a career of it. The instructors
are all knowledgeable, working photographers who are always supportive and helpful. The CPC offers classes for every level of student and shares opportunities to display your work and to photograph outside of class through partnerships with other organizations and clients (some of whom pay).

The CPC is primarily a place of learning, and I have learned a ton, but I think the biggest impact it's had on my life has been a social one. It often takes me a while to get comfortable in new surroundings but the people at the CPC made me feel welcome right away - the environment is completely nurturing and friendly, not cut-throat or competitive, and that's been absolutely perfect for me. Through classes and events I've been able to network with other photographers and make some amazing friends. My fellow classmates and I work together on projects and recommend each other to clients when we're not available or otherwise can't take on a gig.

I really can't recommend this place enough. Try it out for yourself - you won't be sorry.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013

more

August 21, 2013

The Chicago Photography Center is a wonderful venue contributing to keep photography as a viable art and a tool in journalism, such as photojournalism. The Center reaches and teaches the neighborhood.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Enlarge the facility.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013

more


1 previous review
March 21, 2012

Board seems too interested in drinking wine and spending $ on food. Better places to spend money and their time. more

April 6, 2013

The volunteers care but the board?

Found better classes for the money and nicer people elsewhere.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 21, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

Board seems too interested in drinking wine and spending $ on food. Better places to spend money and their time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

assist in the digital lab or darkroom; assist with data entry; administrative tasks; opening receptions and special events; volunteer scheduling; weekly reports. Volunteer