Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
March 22, 2012

more

March 22, 2012

I have been a member of CGMC since 1998-- next year is my 15th year with the organization. With each passing year, CGMC's artistic excellence has grown significantly, and its membership has grown at the same time. When I joined, we had just over 90 members. We are now at 160 active members. I am proud of our accomplishments since joining - from performing at the IL state capitol for LGBT rights, to singing the National Anthem at Wrigley Field for the Chicago Cubs, to performing at area high schools. CGMC is also the place where I have met some of my closest friends, who will be a part of my life forever.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Feedback from audience members-- especially those living with AIDS and in need of something joyful and uplifting in their lives. I have also experienced this on the member side, as members tell stories of feeling alone in the world, and finding comfort and friendship while a member of the chorus.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to increase our operating budget through donations and grants.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Again, having the funds necessary to allow members to enjoy their experience as a member without having to continually pay more into it.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Absolutely-- I have no hesitation in saying the experience has been life changing for me. When I first moved to Chicago, I spent a year trying to find my way in my new home. It wasn't until I joined CGMC that I truly felt AT home in the city. It's meant the world to me.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I felt appreciated, needed, and loved.

March 22, 2012

more

March 22, 2012

Chicago Gay Mens Chorus is an organization that allows its members to express themselves through performing. I have been involved with this organization for eight years now. Our shows are an amazing opportunity for us to entertain and convey a message to the community. We truly are a family and we thrive to give as much of ourselves through our performances.
The friendships developed in the chorus are life changing. Some of the feedback we receive from the audience is overwhelming. We have received letters from young people expressing how grateful they are to have seen a group like ours and from different community leaders. We touch so many people in many different ways.
We have had several opportunities to perform for the governor and mayor. CGMC has performed on local news stations to promote our concerts and partnered with Macy’s to march in the Chicago Pride Parade. The Chicago Gay Mens Chorus is a wonderful addition to the magnificent art and culture that is offered in the great city of Chicago.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 22, 2012

more

March 22, 2012

I've been with CGMC since 2009, it was always a dream of mine to be a member. Once I retired that dream came true. After 53 yeaers I've finally found a place in the gay community where I truely belong. I've had the opprotunity to sing at some amazing places, and be part of history such as performing at the Civil Unions signing, and ceremony, performiong at Wrigley Filed, Chicago Theatre, going to Milwaukee, and Bloomington Ill. I'm alkso blessed to be part of a loving and caring family, if you;ve never been to a show you're missing a good time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 21, 2012

more

March 21, 2012

I have been a member of CGMC since 2007 as a singer and volunteer. This group has allowed me to sing with some great talent, as well as at locations I would never have dreamt of. We have sung the National Anthem at Wrigley Field, performed at the Chicago Theater, and sung at the Chicago Cultural Center for the signing of the Civil Union Act in Illinois. We also perform at theaters filled to capacity (950 seats). To receive a standing ovation is beyond words. To see concert goers smiling faces, or teary eyes after emotional songs brings joy to my heart. CGMC singers are all volunteers, from professional singers to those that do not read music. We all come together in a welcoming environment to create music. Over time, members have become close friends, making our performances to our friends, family and the general public more meaningful.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 21, 2012

more

March 21, 2012

What Makes CGMC Special
We Entertain
CGMC delivers a unique entertainment experience found nowhere else in the city. We produce professional-quality shows that combine the best elements of musical theater, cabaret and traditional choral performance. But only CGMC can add that special “twist
of gaiety” that can make each show fun, moving and memorable.

We Inspire
Whether we're representing the community while singing the national anthem at Wrigley Field or providing rarely-seen GLBT-friendly entertainment in smaller cities downstate, CGMC serves as ambassadors and provides a positive image to countless thousands every year.

We Motivate
Sometimes the message to take action can be delivered more effectively through song than through speech. That’s why CGMC has been heard regularly in the dome of the state Capitol (supporting GLBT rights and domestic partner benefits) and at major fundraising events throughout the city (often supporting AIDS-related organizations).

We Comfort
CGMC is not only an integral part of the community, but we are a family. When asked to help, CGMC heeds the call. We’ve sung at at the Auditorium Theater honoring the victims of Sept. 11. We sing at smaller memorial services honoring local community leaders... and sometime our own members. We're humbled to realize that CGMC's presence can bring comfort and healing to those around us. Whether you join us as a singer, a donor or an audience member, the Chicago Gay Men’s Chorus cordially invites you to become part of our family.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers