Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 22, 2012

more

November 22, 2012

CAT worked with the clients I served-adolescent girls in foster care that lived in residential treatment. It was amazing to see their transformation as they participated in new experiences that put them in situations where they had to work together, trust each other and communicate effectively. At the end of our time kayaking one of the girls stated, "I wish we had our own kayak--it's such a good coping skill for me!" There are not many other nonprofits that are giving youth in need such a unique and life changing experience.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

As a teacher of twice exceptional students, I am amazed at the work they do!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

Excellent people who are making a difference in the area. Shows what we can do if you put differences aside.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 7, 2012

more

April 7, 2012

Chicago Adventure Therapy (CAT) is doing excellent, needed work with youth in Chicago. CAT's unique approach is working wonders as the programs continue to grow!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

I loved volunteering with Chicago Adventure Therapy (CAT). I was involved in a variety of programs: kayaking on Lake Michigan, biking across the city, and navigation programs in iconic Chicago parks. CAT's programs provides a unique insight into understanding a youth’s lived experience and coping skills that I have not observed in other therapy or programming modalities. CAT programs foster an environment where individuals are able to push personal boundaries, explore new identities, and share openly in a context that is built on trust and safety. As a volunteer social worker, I have observed CAT participants building lasting connections between peers, exploring the city in new ways, and gaining a deeper sense of self. It is always a blessing and blast to volunteer with CAT!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

I know there are a lot of good causes out there, but let me tell you why I donate to CAT. For low income city kids, there are pressures from a lot of directions – and many of them make bad decisions because they’re not aware of all the choices available to them. There are many examples on their website, but CAT removes these kids from their usual environment and puts them into adventure situations like kayaking or rock climbing, and they see the world differently – by facing a new challenge it educates them to reconsider their options in their daily lives. The “therapy” part of it helps them to process this experience so they re-frame their thinking to consider college or other avenues that enriches not only their life, but society as a whole.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers