Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
200 Reviews
1234.975
Previous | 1 2 3...20 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

If you are looking for an organization dedicated to environmental education for students of all ages, look no further than the 501(c)(3) Chewonki Foundation in Wiscasset, Maine. It will meet your highest expectations (as it has mine), whether your interest is in a summer camp for boys or girls on a 400n acre Roger Tory Peterson Sanctuary on the Maine coast, or to study up-to-date methods to conserve energy. Programs, led by well trained knowledgeable leaders, stress community building and foundation owned properties throughout Maine offer many ecological habitats for study. They are reached by hikes, boats and kayaks.
It has been a pleasure to be associated with Chewonki for over over 70 years as a camper, counselor, board member and advisor. My time there led to advanced degrees and professional positions in environmental education.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am very pleased with the Foundation as it is presently run by a dedicated Board and staff.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Chewonki offers campers and students opportunities to unplug, reflect, learn and grow. My sons have had the challenging and rewarding experience of participating in Wilderness Trips. And we have a soon-to-be-Semester student in the house!
I had the privilege of volunteering in the Development
Office for about 3 weeks. I remain impressed w/ Chewonki's crystal clear mission statement, generous scholarship awards and the exceptional quality of people that Chewonki attracts and retains.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to get the word out even more, so more students could learn and grow

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Chewonki fosters an appreciation for the simple things, for the environment, for meeting a challenge head on, and for living and working in community with others. This appreciation often shifts a person's (especially a young person's) entire worldview. This is the magic of Chewonki. You hear over and over and over again: former Chewonki participants say that Chewonki has changed their lives. It changed my life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Never before have I been a part of such a caring and thoughtful community. Both camps (in Wiscasset and at Fourth Debsconeag) attract the most interesting and inspiring people from all around the globe, and I am honored to say that I worked there for two summers. Every trip leader and staff person I have met at Chewonki puts all of their energy and passion into each day.

The Chewonki Foundation is an exceptional community filled with beautiful people. I hope to return to Chewonki as a trip leader again. I would hope too that those unfamiliar to this place would come and join us for the days to come!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Improve the Girl's Camp.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

My experience at Chewonki changed my life. After graduating from their semester program, I went on to join their Girls Camp leadership program and later became staff. The lessons that I learned at Chewonki will stay with me forever; more than technical wilderness skills, I learned how to listen, to create and foster community, and to lead others to their own self-discovery. All this because of the outstanding staff and programming at Chewonki.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

Chewonki is a fantastic organization that I hope to stay involved with. One of their programs is a Semester School for high school juniors, of which I was a student this past spring. It was one of the best things I've ever done!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

The Chewonki Foundation changed the way I will live my life forever. I went for a semester last year and learned about the importance of finding my true self, exploring the world, how to truly enjoy learning, and it taught me so much about agriculture. The people that are a part of this Foundation have hearts bigger than anyone I have ever met. They are experts in what they teach and their goal is to truly better this world and create leaders that will make a change. I will always go back to Chewonki knowing it is my home and where I found people that cared whole heartedly about me and the things I love. A feeling like that does not come easily and requires a lot of thought and skill. This is such a wonderful foundation in every way shape and form.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make it more accessible to a wider range of people (meaning more financial aid, more diversity) but this comes with being promoted more and more people donating money and more outside support. I would love to see the Foundation to be more self sustaining and have even more food coming from the farm and the cabins being off the grid.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

The Chewonki Foundation has educated and inspired young people for almost 100 years! I was a student in a year-round program in 1975, a wilderness trip participant, a wilderness trip leader and now a board member. Much of what I did in my professional and academic life hails back to what I learned about myself and the interests I developed at Chewonki. The foundation has a wonderful, vast campus and fantastic staff. Its teachers lead by example to impart their reverence and knowledge of the natural world, high school academics, wilderness adventures and leadership - the list goes on. I, like most folks who've had the good fortune of being in a program at Chewonki, was transformed by my experiences there.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Reach more young people.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

No doubt Chewonki changed my life. Granted, I am one to believe that every experience you have changes your life in some way, but Chewonki changed mine in a significant and positive way. I have experienced the organization in a few different capacities: I was a semester student during my junior year of high school--a program that provides value for almost anyone, from anywhere. We worked and learned and explored in atypical ways, and I will certainly never forget those four months. I keep in touch with my classmates and teachers equally. Secondly, I participated in Chewonki's Wilderness Leadership Expedition during the summer after the Semester School. I got a taste of what is a virtually unmatched wilderness trip program for teens, and was able to learn a great deal about white water canoeing technique, as well as leadership skills and wilderness medical training. It sounds cliché but I think I'm going to say it anyway: Chewonki builds an extremely strong bond among its community, such that wherever I go, if I meet a Chewonki person, I know we will have more than enough to talk about

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None. You do you, 'wonk.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

Chewonki changed my life, and I know it will continue to change the lives of others for decades to come.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...20 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

host an event for us in your town or neighborhood. Volunteer