Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
1234.736845
Write A Review
June 25, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
June 25, 2014

The Chesapeake Bay needs to be clean & supported for our fresh seafood. That's why crabs are scarce, smaller & extremely expensive. I'm 63 yr.old but when I was a little girl -20's always
bushels of crabs all summer long. Now I just can't afford the price for a dozen that aren't really
Maryland crabs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give more if I could but my husband & I are retired.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 30, 2014

CBF is an outstanding organization! Their mission to protect the bay and our water resources is one that I can wholeheartedly support, and the money donated goes to programming that will have an impact on the future of water resources in MD.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 16, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
April 16, 2014

We need to save our natural resources for the survival of the animals and plants who depend on them, as well as human-kind. Without these resources, we are all on the road to extinction. Our destruction of our environment is going to be felt by all. The sooner all of us step up and stop this senseless disregard for our environment, the better.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 21, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
December 21, 2013

Our turn of the century farmhouse sits on a tidal river just upriver from the Chesapeake Bay.
The beautiful natural setting is a serene getaway that we share with visitors by making
the farmhouse available for vacation rentals. Our guests see bald eagles, eat oysters
and fish from the
river and kayak along miles of natural shoreline.

Contributing to the Chesapeake Bay Foundation on a monthly basis is our way of giving
back to an organization dedicated to assuring that the natural bounty of the Bay and its
rivers will be available to future generations to enjoy and appreciate.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add more programs in Virginia along the lower Bay and its rivers.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 10, 2013

more

December 10, 2013

As a child I was given the opportunity to enjoy summers boating, swimming, fishing and sailing on the Bay with my grandparents and family. What a wonderful place to be! Now as an adult I feel it is my responsibility to help protect this wonderful resource and to make it better for future generations. Living in PA. in a watershed of the CB, I've followed and participated in programs provided by the Chesapeake Bay Foundation and have seen how they are trying to save this national treasure. I know it is a hard task with so much urban sprawl and agricultural road blocks, but the more people are educated the better the Bay will be and our future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to focus more on teaching all levels of education and showing how even if you don't live right next to the Bay, how just living in a watershed is interconnected to the Bay and is very important. It would be great if all schools had a required portion of their studies on the Chesapeake Bay and its importance to everyone.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
November 30, 2013

I am a licensed captain. I have a small sailing business that operates primarily on the Chesapeake Bay. The condition and quality of the Chesapeake Bay is immeasurably important to attracting clients and to my own personal recreation. The news of adding 1500 housing units to Kent Island is extremely alarming and I want to help fight that looming problem.

I recall with some sadness how John Smith and his contemporaries reported the clarity of the water and seeing the biomass of crabs moving across the bottom of the bay and its tributaries. These days, we are lucky to see a foot or below our waterlines. We may never get to THAT level of clarity again but we MUST do better than we are right now.

I am happy to help in this small way.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 15, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
July 15, 2013

My husband and I were married on the Chesapeake Bay on June 14th, 2013. I arrive on boat via the bay! The wedding was almost as beautiful as the scenery. The Chesapeake Bay is very near and dear to our hearts. We decided to donate to the CBF as part of our wedding favor (along with a small shaker of Old Bay)! Thanks for all your hard work ... together we can save the bay!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 31, 2013

I've experienced Port Isobel, and the learning experience about the bay and what one can do to preserve it is invaluable!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 30, 2013

My SHELLFISH reasons for supporting the valuable work of the Chesapeake Bay Foundation are numerous. My reasons in order of importance to me are:
We must sustain this way of life for the waterman- we can not loose this valuable part of our heritage.
Our bay is a major part of my life and
can not imagine not being able to enjoy it.
and most SHELLFISHLY-I love fish and shellfish. Eat a fish-save a steer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Explore more methods for promoting our bay out of the area. I can not believe the people I encounter every day who do not even know of the Bay's existence. While we have a home on the North East River, we live primarily in Wilmington Delaware. Just today I had to educate a very bright person on the bay. She asked "Where is the Eastern Shore-Is it near Baltimore Inner Harbor or Camden Yards? Perhaps ads in the Philadelphia or Delaware Today magazines, both of which are life style publications.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 3, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
April 3, 2013

I enjoyed working with the professionals in the Norfolk Office. I assisted growing oysters and planting underwater grasses in the Lynnhaven. I worked with them at various time during the mid 90's through about 2003.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2003

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers