Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
161 Reviews
1234.782615
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
August 10, 2013

When my daughter was born 26 years ago there was no CHERUBS. You only had your family and friends who were very supportive and loving but it would have been so much better if CHERUBS had been around t... more

September 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

There was no CHERUBS when mydaughterwas born in 1986. We found CHERUBS a few years ago when I was researching adults with CDH. This is when I found CHERUBS. We have learned more since finding other families through CHERUBS than adult family practice doctors ever knew. Thank you all!!!! Love our CHERUBS!!!
August 10, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

When my daughter was born 26 years ago there was no CHERUBS. You only had your family and friends who were very supportive and loving but it would have been so much better if CHERUBS had been around then. I did not find them until several years ago while doing a search on CDH and its affects on adult survivors. Very little is known about the affect on adult survivors or doctors that know much about the affects on them. We have met so many wonderful families and adult survivors. We have learned more from them than any adult doctor has ever been able to share.

My daughter, Casey and I have been involved with CHERUBS ever since. She is became the Texas State Rep for CHERUBS after a family get together in San Antonio a couple of years ago. Casey would not have become involved had CHERUBS not been the wonderful charity it is.

This has happened all because of the hard work and hard hours Dawn has put into CHERUBS and to recruit so many other hard working volunteers to assist her. I am proud to say I know Dawn, many of the wonderful board members and volunteers working together to make CHERUBS one of the Great Nonprofit Charities today!!! Thank you all for your hard work for us all!!! We love you!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2013
10 people found this review helpful

more

August 8, 2013
10 people found this review helpful

I first learned about CDH when I met my wife, Dawn, who is the founder of CHERUBS. She lost her only child to CDH in 1999. My first experience with the charity was helping to plan a conference and ball in North Carolina. I was able to meet families and I am always impressed at the dedication and impact my wife has had with her work at CHERUBS. I taunt her about being a "CDH celebrity" because everyone knows her name and because of the internet attacks she deals with as if she wasn't a person. People around the world know her and she works with politicians and celebrities to help these kids. No one else has done that and I am very proud of her.

I attend events and I support Dawn and CHERUBS and I have seen it grow from a small charity into a global one in the 7 years we have been together. When we first got married baby items were all over our home. They were stacked in our guest room, in our children's closets, under their beds and filled our attic. After 2 years I made the decision that CHERUBS had to leave our home because there was not room and because Dawn needed time off of work. At the time she was working 2 full time jobs and we had no time with her. I asked her to make a choice between jobs and I asked that she choose her company to contribute to our family. She chose CHERUBS because she wouldn't abandon CDH families. Her Board took a risk and hired her rather than lose her 3 years ago. With an office and 1 job, Dawn has done more in 3 years than 15 years. Instead of congratulating her and CHERUBS on all their accomplishments, her salary is being put on the internet and people are shaming her. She does not make $40,000 but what if she did? Most NPO execs make over $60,000 a year. Most company execs who oversee 4000 people make well over $100,000. Dawn is paid pennies of what she is worth and she would still be volunteering if she had her say. If she is successfully running the charity she should be duly compensated. What she makes is no one's business but hers and the Boards. If you think she is greedy or after money then you have never met my wife. She would turn our home into a homeless shelter and give away everything we have if I let her.

In the 7 years we have been together I have seen the dark side of CDH. I have watched my wife cry for her son and visit his grave. I have sat beside her in court many times when she had to take out a restraining order against a "competitor". I was there at the entire trial and I have watched my wife and my family be a victim time and again simply because she choose to help CDH families. That woman looks at my Linked In page, she contacted Dawn's ex-husband, she even had IRS auditors in our home in front of our kids because she filed a false complaint to try to shut CHERUBS down. For 10 years she has tried to harm my wife and our family in any way possible. I have read the blogs she posts about our family, our finances and our life that are not only none of her business but not even close to true. The only person coming between her and my lawyer is my wife and this person should be very grateful. My wife has too much class to do the same to this person or her family and she should be very grateful for that as well. Because my wife started a charity out of the goodness of her heart in memory of our son it does not give anyone the right to pry into our private lives, to publicly slander my wife or to stalk our family.

I won't comment on what type of man I think the British man whose wife runs a charity for the things he's done to my wife. What type of man accosts a woman alone by herself in another country and then writes such trash for the world to see? She has a very soft heart and I know she was proud to help you as much as she could. To pay her back her kindness you've betrayed her and the charity. She is a good woman and you are no man. I will be more of a gentleman to your wife than you have been to mine and not name either of you so harm doesn't come to your reputations. You owe my wife an apology and gratitude.

For everyone that thinks my wife runs CHERUBS alone and makes all the decisions, you haven't seen the committee meetings she holds or the volunteers she has had in our home. You don't know the conference calls she takes late at night or e-mails she responds to all evening long. My wife is the most honest person I have ever known. If she says something it is true and she always has proof of everything she says. I know, I've tried arguing with her. She is also the hardest worker I have ever met and loyal to the extreme. She has tried to help every single person who started their own charities. Some took advantage of her and now attack her but she still acts like a lady. I have never seen anyone give more of themselves or have the dedication and passion she does for CHERUBS. Having a wife so involved in CDH and grief every day is not easy on our family. Having her attacked for her charity work makes me want to make her quit and find a job that pays more with less stress. She never will. I am proud of all she has done and proud to be married to such a beautiful woman inside and out. My only regret is not having the opportunity to meet Shane.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More funding and employees are needed to take this charity to the next level.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 30, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 3, 2012

My daughter was born with CDH in 2006. Immediately I wanted to get as much information as possible so I went to the internet. CHERUBS is the organization that first came up. I was able to get informat... more

July 30, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

When a donation is given an acknowledgement is usually sent. Cherubs never sends a thank you. My mom's church sent a donation in my daughters name and never received a note of thanks. Same thing happened to me and several of my friends. Cherubs PAYS its CEO nearly $40.000 a year. Dawn should have plenty of time to send simple thank you notes. SHAME ON CHERUBS BOARD OF DIRECTORS FOR NOT MONITORING THEIR CEO!

First off thank you so much for threatening yet again with your lawyers. It seems you do threaten people with them when you are backed into corners. In FACT my mothers church DID donate to your organization and when I recently visited her house a couple of them were visiting. They ASKED me why they NEVER got an acknowledgement for the donation they made. I then informed them to NEVER donate to you again because it just goes to pay your salary Dawn. They were SHOCKED that you drew such a large salary and agreed CHERUBS would never again get a donation from them! I can in FACT get a COPY of the CHECK sent to Cherubs and post it online if you wish. So be careful who you call a liar.

Second I am NOT a volunteer at Breath of Hope. I have stated that I am a turquoise kool-aid advocate for Breath of Hope as you have referred to me. I just figured why not announce it to everyone on Facebook. Since you have me blocked on Facebook I wonder how you trolled to discover that out. Oh I know you used a vulnerable CDH parent to find out for you!

Third a person has to wonder why all the sudden Breath of Hope was getting false reviews on GreatNonProfits. Could the answer be that you have been pushing for reviews on your Cherubs facebook page???? Coincidence? I think NOT! You better hurry and delete them before people realize I'm right! Also why are all the negative reviews on BOH left anonymously? Probably because you wrote them and are a coward not to leave your name. As you may notice bad reviews left for Cherubs are from real people who leave real names.

Also check out this website: http://deceitfulnessofcherubs.blogspot.com/
Dawn is so deceitful! This site has proof of the drama Dawn continues to create and it also shows how she is deceitful with her finances.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have a board of directors that actually monitored the organization. CHERUBS current board has no say.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 3, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

My daughter was born with CDH in 2006. Immediately I wanted to get as much information as possible so I went to the internet. CHERUBS is the organization that first came up. I was able to get information from the website about CDH that was great. However I never was acknowledged by Dawn the founder or anyone else. Desperate for more information I sent the "requested" $20 membership fee. I never did receive acknowledgement from CHERUBS. I later learned the founder was going through some "life" struggles and abandoned her website. Perhaps she could have asked someone to fill in for her on her website but she did not(she does however continue to draw funds from Cherubs for expenses during this time). I was disappointed and let down by the organization during the hardest time in my life but I'm aware that life does go on. I found my support elsewhere.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have my Board of Directors take control of the website when the founders life becomes overwhelming.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 14, 2012

more

August 14, 2012

My son was born with CDH and we didnt know it until 3 weeks later when we ended up in the ER. I found CHERUBS months later, and it has been an invaluable resource for me as I watch my son grow stronger every day. Thank you CHERUBS for being so great!!! I now donate about $10 a month and try to send in items for the CDH totebags when I can.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 13, 2012

more

August 13, 2012

So far my experience with Cherubs has been wonderful, Dawn, the founder, has such love for all these children and wants to do all she can to help every family. Now with the indroduction of the bill in the senate she has rallied all the CDH community to stand behind it and get more reseach dollars for the babies. I have never seen it be about her but always about the babies and I know that even though they are a small charity they will continue to do GREAT things!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 3, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

May 3, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I watch as Dawn puts in 50 or 60 hours a week at CHERUBS to help CDH families. She takes phone calls at midnight and answers email constantly even when I ask her not to because she cant stand to not help someone for 5 minutes. The office was in our home until last year so I know exactly how much time and love goes into her work. If you were there in DC during the march to see all the people and be on Capital Hill you would understand. I met families and I saw the difference this charity makes. If you ever stepped into the office you would understand. If someone has a complaint because she missed one email out of thousands or they were asked to donate then they need to get a grip. My wife has done more to help CDH families than anyone else in the world has and she deserves admiration and respect. Stop complaining and donate.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
August 13, 2012

We found CHERUBS after our precious grandson received his Angel wings due to right-sided CDH. What a compassionate, wonderful group of people who never forget those milestone dates and never fail to ... more

December 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

After losing our precious grandson, Liam Anthony Hunt after 33 days to right-sided CDH, our family found CHERUBS. What a wonderful, compassionate organization filled with fabulous people who are knowledgeable, know what your going through, and are always always there for you. There are not enough words to describe this organization or express my sincerest gratitude. When my grief even 2 years later gets too much, I know I can always blog on CHERUBS and I know that I will always get responses that comfort me.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2012

We found CHERUBS after our precious grandson received his Angel wings due to right-sided CDH. What a compassionate, wonderful group of people who never forget those milestone dates and never fail to check with you during those times. We have learned so very much and now work in earnest to provide donations and support to other CDH families. CHERUBS is VERY deserving of this award. Dawn Torrence Williamson is THE most amazing woman and I am honored to have met her.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Our precious grandson was born with undiagnosed right-sided CDH. Our son in-law found CHERUBS after Liam earned his angel wings. CHERUBS & Dawn do amazing things not only for parents of CDH CHERUBS but grandparents as well as other family members. I absolutely applaud Dawn & CHERUBS for all the awareness they provide over the U.S. & U.K. Our family traveled from Vermont to Washington, DC to help raise awareness through the Parade of CHERUBS. Our family donates items for tote bags. Our family has a wonderful group of women who knit infant hats & booties that also gets sent in our CHERUBS memory. My husband & I vowed to donate monies each year on Liam's Angel Anniversary. We cannot say enough good things about CHERUBS. Liam's Mom (our daughter) is CHERUBS Vermont State Representative and has connected with CDH families here as well as working with our House of Representatives.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Put together 50 informational packets for CDH families. Volunteer