Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
151 Reviews
1234.768215
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 9, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

more

August 9, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

I am the mom to an 8 year old CDH survivor. I have been a member of CHERUBS since she was born, started serving on committees approximately 5 years ago, and have been a member of the board for almost 3 years. I served as the Treasurer for CHERUBS for about 2 years, and then moved to the role of Vice-President about a year ago. Through volunteering in these roles, I have had an inside view of CHERUBS for many years and am aware of all facets of the charity- the volunteers, the members of all 3 boards, and the finances. I am proud to say that CHERUBS is run by a team of wonderfully dedicated volunteers led by the charity's sole employee, the President of CHERUBS, Dawn Williamson. It takes a lot of hours, and people from many areas of the world, and with many talents to serve the CDH community. All of the volunteers that I have come in contact with from State Representatives, to Hospital Angels, to those who work on the various committees, to the Parent Advisory Board, and the Executive Board serve dutifully with professionalism and respect to see that families get the help they need while working to raise awareness of CDH and money to further research that is so desperately needed. From my role as Treasurer, and with continued knowledge of the finances of the charity as an executive board member, I can assure you that every donated dollar is used to the best of its ability to help the cause. Meticulous care is taken to see that donations are spent only in the manner with which the donor specifies (research, family assistance, awareness, etc.), and that money is never wasted. I am proud to count myself as a member of the CHERUBS team.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help the charity to continue to grow to offer even more to the CDH community

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 3, 2013

I have been involved with CHERUBS for over a year now and am continually amazed with the wonderful work that is done to support families, raise awareness, and fund research. I am proud to be a part o... more

August 8, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have been a board member of CHERUBS for the past year and I continue to be moved and inspired by all of the good work done by our volunteers, our President, our parent advisory board and our executive board. I look forward to the future, continuing to support families, raise awareness and funding research.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 3, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

I have been involved with CHERUBS for over a year now and am continually amazed with the wonderful work that is done to support families, raise awareness, and fund research. I am proud to be a part of CHERUBS after working closely with and witnessing the passion of the president, Dawn Williamson, first hand.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 1, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 4, 2012

I am a Mother to a 4 year old CDH Warrior. I was devistated by a disease I had never heard of at my 20 week ultrasound. For two weeks I was in a deep dark depression and as I lay in bed I felt my Son ... more

August 1, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My name is Christina. I am on the CHERUBS Parent Advisory Board. I will not throughout any of my comments, emails, etc. Bash, Downgrade, Commit Libel or Slander directed towards ANY CDH Organization. I believe it truly takes a heart filled with anger and hatred to do something like that. I choose not to posses those traits and make the conscience decision to Believe in the Positive and Hope that one day All CDH Organizations will Work Together for THE COMMON CAUSE THAT BROUGHT US ALL HERE IN THE FIRST PLACE!!!!! Do you Remember how CDH was brought into your life, Do you remember why you chose to Volunteer to help raise Awareness of CDH and Funds for Research for CDH?? Instead of the insults I am seeing on this page (which are making me ill), why don't we try lifting each other up with Positive aspects of the Organizations. We are here for one purpose CDH and our children!!! Who Cares what Organization your with, Who cares WHO you support. JUST FOCUS ON SUPPORTING CDH RESEARCH AND AWARENESS!!!!!!! I found CHERUBS while doing Research on CDH, which like many of you, I had never heard of. I was supplied with a Plethora of information and support from the Forums, Before, during and After my Son was born. There were days I felt so alone in that NICU, I knew all I had to do was turn on my computer and go to those Forums and I could talk to someone else that was going through that too! After we got home and settled into a routine (the CDH kid routine) I decided I wanted to be there for those Mom's in my State, I never wanted any of them to feel alone or just feel the darkness creep up on them in that cave of a NICU room. I Chose to Support the Organization that was there for me, I stand by that decision to this day. I have met so many wonderful people throughout this time, many support several different CDH Orgs, The one thing these PARENTS that support several different orgs are doing is SUPPORTING CDH RESEARCH AND AWARENESS and in return receiving support from all different aspects of organizations. I sometimes wish I didn't know how all these organizations treat each other and could look at all Orgs with innocent eyes. All I know is this, CHERUBS was and Is there for me. I SUPPORT CDH AWARENESS AND RESEARCH and everyday, that is what CHERUBS does as well. Thank you for hearing me out and lets just try and be nice and respect each other.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find a way to get more volunteers

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 4, 2012

I am a Mother to a 4 year old CDH Warrior. I was devistated by a disease I had never heard of at my 20 week ultrasound. For two weeks I was in a deep dark depression and as I lay in bed I felt my Son kicking me from within. I thought to myself, this is a Fighter, I had better follow suit. I logged into my computer and quickly found CHERUBS. I have to admit, I was a voyer for a bit of time. I celebrated the life of the warriors and sympathized with the families that lost their babies to this disease. CHERUBS gave me hope when I had none, an ear to listen when I needed one, and a hug when I least expected one. In honor of my Son and to help other families on their CDH journey, I have become State Rep of Wa. I hope one day, with enough research bills passed, we will release balloons in celebration of LIFE after CDH.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 1, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 3, 2013

I have been involved with Cherubs for four years and they have become such a family to me. It started off just as a member and felt nothing but support and kindness throughout the charity. Then I star... more

August 1, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Hello My name is Melissa Larrison and I am the fundraising coordinator as well as being on the CHERUBS Parent Advisory Board. We try our very best to support all parents and family members who come our way needing support. I found CHERUBS in 2008 and they have become my family. Anytime I'm down or needing a friend someone is there to help you. We are run by a multitude of wonderful volunteers not one person. Together, with all the groups in the ACDHO, are helping to fund CDH research. I personally lobbied in Washington D.C. for more funding for CDH research and we have come a long way, but there is still lots left to do. Lets all work together for this common goal.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have more volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been involved with Cherubs for four years and they have become such a family to me. It started off just as a member and felt nothing but support and kindness throughout the charity. Then I started to volunteer to help me work through my grief and support others. The services Cherubs offers are nothing but the best. They make you feel included and loved, no matter what state you live in. Finally I was asked to be a board member. I have never been so honored in my life. I enjoy working with everyone from the top to all our members all over the US an abroad. Cherubs has changed my life for the better.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My daughter was born February 2009 since then I have been involved with CHERUBS. My experience has been wonderful. We are like a big family that you can rely on for support. I have held numerous fundraisers in memory of my child and have felt the knowledge and support Dawn and her team offer is amazing!! I can't imagine my life without Cherubs. Great Organization!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 3, 2013

HAPPY “National Congenital Diaphragmatic Hernia Awareness Month”. APRIL is National Congenital Diaphragmatic Hernia Awareness Month. Thank you Dawn for spearheading this campaign. It was a bri... more

July 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Thank you Cherubs for all the support you have given to 1,000's of CDH families. The President, Dawn's, cherub Shane passed away a long time ago. Dawn has carried on his legacy in hopes to help research find a way to prevent this terrible birth defect from happening to others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

needs paid employees. Organization is growing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 3, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

HAPPY “National Congenital Diaphragmatic Hernia Awareness Month”. APRIL is National
Congenital Diaphragmatic Hernia Awareness Month. Thank you Dawn for spearheading this campaign. It was a brilliant idea. All Cherub parents will be eternally grateful to you for maintaining this
organization to benefit CDH babies.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been involved with Cherubs for over 14 years. Dawn Williamson (President) is and always has been a hands on person. She is not a behind the scenes person. Her dedication is exemplified by the countless hours she puts in every day. She is on the front line comforting parents, spearheading fundraisers along with running the business end of the office. Dawn is not a leader in name only- she is creative, makes a plan and a lot of the time executes it on her own. Cherubs' success is due in chief to Dawn's unwillingness to "never give up".

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 29, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
April 29, 2011

CHERUBS mission is solely to help babies born with Congenital Diaphragmatic Hernia and their families through research, awareness and support services. For 16 years we have provided free services to make the journey of CDH a little easier for 1000's of families around the world.

CHERUBS
is a public 501(c)III non-profit organization run by caring parents, grandparents and survivors with a medical advisory committee composed of the leaders of CDH Research. Our members and volunteers have hearts of gold and work as a team putting the big picture of helping all CDH babies first.

We are run as a charity - with the heart of a charity. All donations go to further our services, all of our services and project go to help these babies. We never trademark or copyright, we promote CDH Awareness rather than our own branding, we have never spent a penny in legal fees, we work with other charities and organizations, we support all families and have helped many other CDH charities get started directly and indirectly. Our focus is the always, always the babies and families.

It is this open-hearted outlook and determination that has made us the world's first, largest and most active CDH charity and that has made us successful in helping families.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I am the President and Founder, founding the charity in 1995 when my own CDH child was 2 years old. I was alone in dealing with CDH and didn't want any other parent to go through this without information and support. CHERUBS is named for all children lost to CDH, is not created in honor/memory of any specific child and was created on a foundation of compassion, kindness and sincere desire to help others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More volunteers, more funding, more services!

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Put together 50 informational packets for CDH families. Volunteer