Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
161 Reviews
1234.782615
Write A Review
September 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Wish I'd found CHERUBS when my son was here! Great people doing an amazing job simply because it needs done and they love doing it! Everyone has one goal; helping CDH families. Wait; make that two goals. We also want to put CDH on the map, like breast cancer and autism. We want the recognition, the awareness, and the research!
September 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
August 10, 2013

When my daughter was born 26 years ago there was no CHERUBS. You only had your family and friends who were very supportive and loving but it would have been so much better if CHERUBS had been around t... more

September 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

There was no CHERUBS when mydaughterwas born in 1986. We found CHERUBS a few years ago when I was researching adults with CDH. This is when I found CHERUBS. We have learned more since finding other families through CHERUBS than adult family practice doctors ever knew. Thank you all!!!! Love our CHERUBS!!!
August 10, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

When my daughter was born 26 years ago there was no CHERUBS. You only had your family and friends who were very supportive and loving but it would have been so much better if CHERUBS had been around then. I did not find them until several years ago while doing a search on CDH and its affects on adult survivors. Very little is known about the affect on adult survivors or doctors that know much about the affects on them. We have met so many wonderful families and adult survivors. We have learned more from them than any adult doctor has ever been able to share.

My daughter, Casey and I have been involved with CHERUBS ever since. She is became the Texas State Rep for CHERUBS after a family get together in San Antonio a couple of years ago. Casey would not have become involved had CHERUBS not been the wonderful charity it is.

This has happened all because of the hard work and hard hours Dawn has put into CHERUBS and to recruit so many other hard working volunteers to assist her. I am proud to say I know Dawn, many of the wonderful board members and volunteers working together to make CHERUBS one of the Great Nonprofit Charities today!!! Thank you all for your hard work for us all!!! We love you!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 13, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I volunteer for CHERUBS as a Hospital Angel. I am very proud to give back to them as I am eternally grateful for all they have done for me & my family in the last 3-1/2 years!

CHERUBS is more than just a group to me, they are truly like a second family. After my son Jayden died I was so
devastated I locked myself away and was on the verge of wanting to end everything, but just when I was at my worst, my mom showed me CHERUBS. Once I saw what they were about and got to know some of the AMAZING people who not only TRULY knew my pain and wanted to help me in my time of need and beyond, I found that because of the support and LOVE of these selfless, caring, open, and understanding people I had truly found a renewed sense of purpose and reason to live!

Now because of finding this WONDERFUL community I now have a passion and drive for life and have met some of the most amazing, wonderful, and close friends I have EVER had that I NEVER would have met would it not have been for CHERUBS! I also now have a new mission and goal in my life to help other families like us and let them know they are not alone, and we will be there for them in ANY way they may want/need just like all the amazing families before me did for my family in this wonderful group.

My biggest hope and goal for this charity is to raise enough money and awareness to put to more research to help us someday find the answers, and in return find an end so no more babies die or suffer... pure and simple.

Thank you for listening and THANK YOU TO CHERUBS FOR ALWAYS BEING THERE AND HELPING TO SAVE MY LIFE WHEN IT COUNTED MOST .

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a TON of research money to stop CDH!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

August 8, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

In 2010 our Daughter, (Angel Cherub) Libby, was diagnosed with CDH at the 20 week scan. We came home and Googled CDH and thankfully found CHERUBS! Over the past 3 years we have received the most amazing support from people that we now regard as Family. We will be forever grateful for all the hard work that CHERUBS members do. We have made some great friends! I have recently decided to Volunteer in the hope to help other families and am really looking forward to working with so many kind and inspirational people xx

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

August 8, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Since finding CHERUBS aafter the passing of my son, Liam Anthony Hunt, I have been blessed to connect with a network of incredible people! Members of CHERUBS have reached out to me and my family in a number of ways and have inspired us to find positive ways to give back and reach out to others affected by CDH. This will be my second year as the Vermont State Representative and I hope to continue in this role for many years to come to not only honor the memory of my gorgeous Angel CHERUB, Liam, but to help to many families that are affected by this devastating defect in my home state and nationwide. It is my honor and priviledge to be apart of such an incredible organization!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

With my CDHer being my first child. I had never heard of CDH until she was officially diagnosed with it. It was great to find a charity that had so much support and love. They treat you like family and after being a part of the charity for the past 9 years they have become family. What a wonderful thing to be a part of!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

CHERUBS has been a blessing to both me and thousands of other families. If CHERUBS had been around when I was born, my parents would have been able to relate to others going through the same situation as well as get answers to questions that the Dr's could not answer. The amount of support that each volunteer and member gives is overwhelming. I am honored to be a state rep and honored to pay it forward to each new member. CHERUBS also has the most kind hearted CEO. Dawn gives and gives. The love she has for her son carries over to the members of CHERUBS.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

CHERUBS has been such a wonderful organization for not only myself, but my large family. Unlike most families, I was aware of what CDH was, as I lost my oldest brother to it in 1973. However, I did not know to the extent of just how critical this birth defect was. My 18 week ultrasound showed nothing wrong. I didn't find out my son was going to have CDH until 8 days before his birth. I found myself not sleeping and searching for anyone who would talk to me and understand what I was feeling and going through. All I kept seeing online was the negative side to CDH. Then, I came across CHERUBS. I met and had an instant bond to all these families who knew exactly that I was feeling and going through. I remember posting something brief on the FB page explaining that I was due any day and just had barely found out, and the next morning I had several friend requests instantly from members.

CHERUBS has given me support and has given me the opportunity to serve others in the CDH community. I'm very grateful for the service, love, support and friendship I find with CHERUBS. I'm grateful that I can now call myself an official HOSPITAL ANGEL volunteer for CHERUBS and visit other CHERUB (CDH) families in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I found out about my baby having CDH when I was 35 wks pregnant. I was devastated. Everything after that went so fast it was a blur. Then I found CHERUBS. I finally had a support team and someone to turn to. At CHERUBS I feel like I always have a friend who truly understands what I'm feeling and going through. I love what CHERUBS does so much that I became a state rep so I could help out people who have helpe me & be there for CDH families who need support. I want to do what has been done for me plus so much more. I can't think of a better group to be a part of! We are all CDH family and raise CDH awareness together as a team! And I LOVE IT!! Thank you Dawn and EVERYBODY that is apart of CHERUBS! Our members are truly amazing and inspirational!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
May 3, 2012

I am an adult CDH survivor. Until I stumbled upon CHERUBS in a late-night, curiosity-filled internet search session about the mysterious birth defect with which I had been born, I had never met anyon... more

August 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As an adult CDH survivor, I had never in my life known anyone else who had heard of the condition, much less had experienced it. As far as I knew, I stood alone. When I found CHERUBS, I immediately became connected to thousands of families who had been through the nightmare of CDH and gave me insight into what my own parents went through.
As a parent myself, I have had to face the possibility that my own children may also be victims of CDH. Thankfully, they were all born perfectly healthy. This also enables me to give hope to other survivors that they will be able to become parents themselves and lead "normal" lives.
Through CHERUBS I have made some of the best friends a person could ask for and I cherish that.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more money for the wonderful services they provide to families and the funding for research.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 3, 2012

I am an adult CDH survivor. Until I stumbled upon CHERUBS in a late-night, curiosity-filled internet search session about the mysterious birth defect with which I had been born, I had never met anyone else who had it or even had heard of it. Now, thanks to this wonderful charity, I have met many families who have struggled through the devastation that CDH has wrought upon thier lives. I was extremely lucky to have survived. I have met many surviving children and a couple of adults, but I have also met families who have had to face the overwhelming tragedy of losing their children. One of the reasons there are more young children survivors than adults is due to the research that CHERUBS has helped fund, making the survival rate increase. The members of CHERUBS are like a big, international family, connected not by DNA, but by CDH. As a volunteer, I have seen first hand the tireless dedication that is put into CHERUBS and the shoestring budget on which it is run. Due to financial reasons, I am not able to donate to CHERUBS like I'd love to be able to do, but when I am able, I will be sure to put them at the top of the list. Until then, I volunteer when & where I can & I enjoy every minute of it!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I was born in 1972 with CDH. Until I found CHERUBS, I had never known anyone who has ever heard of CDH, much less known of anyone else who'd been born with it. Thanks to this wonderful charity, there is an international network of families who support each other.
When I was born, the survival
rate was barely over 10%. Thanks to CHERUBS and the dedication of the volunteers who rasie awareness everyday and help raise funds for research, the survival rate today is 50%. We still have a long way to go!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

getting to know other CDH survivors as well as helping to support grieving families.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make it more well-known.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Put together 50 informational packets for CDH families. Volunteer