Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
151 Reviews
1234.768215
Previous | 1 2 3...12 |
Write A Review
August 9, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

more

August 9, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

I am the mom to an 8 year old CDH survivor. I have been a member of CHERUBS since she was born, started serving on committees approximately 5 years ago, and have been a member of the board for almost 3 years. I served as the Treasurer for CHERUBS for about 2 years, and then moved to the role of Vice-President about a year ago. Through volunteering in these roles, I have had an inside view of CHERUBS for many years and am aware of all facets of the charity- the volunteers, the members of all 3 boards, and the finances. I am proud to say that CHERUBS is run by a team of wonderfully dedicated volunteers led by the charity's sole employee, the President of CHERUBS, Dawn Williamson. It takes a lot of hours, and people from many areas of the world, and with many talents to serve the CDH community. All of the volunteers that I have come in contact with from State Representatives, to Hospital Angels, to those who work on the various committees, to the Parent Advisory Board, and the Executive Board serve dutifully with professionalism and respect to see that families get the help they need while working to raise awareness of CDH and money to further research that is so desperately needed. From my role as Treasurer, and with continued knowledge of the finances of the charity as an executive board member, I can assure you that every donated dollar is used to the best of its ability to help the cause. Meticulous care is taken to see that donations are spent only in the manner with which the donor specifies (research, family assistance, awareness, etc.), and that money is never wasted. I am proud to count myself as a member of the CHERUBS team.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help the charity to continue to grow to offer even more to the CDH community

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
August 13, 2012

We found CHERUBS after our precious grandson received his Angel wings due to right-sided CDH. What a compassionate, wonderful group of people who never forget those milestone dates and never fail to ... more

December 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

After losing our precious grandson, Liam Anthony Hunt after 33 days to right-sided CDH, our family found CHERUBS. What a wonderful, compassionate organization filled with fabulous people who are knowledgeable, know what your going through, and are always always there for you. There are not enough words to describe this organization or express my sincerest gratitude. When my grief even 2 years later gets too much, I know I can always blog on CHERUBS and I know that I will always get responses that comfort me.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2012

We found CHERUBS after our precious grandson received his Angel wings due to right-sided CDH. What a compassionate, wonderful group of people who never forget those milestone dates and never fail to check with you during those times. We have learned so very much and now work in earnest to provide donations and support to other CDH families. CHERUBS is VERY deserving of this award. Dawn Torrence Williamson is THE most amazing woman and I am honored to have met her.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Our precious grandson was born with undiagnosed right-sided CDH. Our son in-law found CHERUBS after Liam earned his angel wings. CHERUBS & Dawn do amazing things not only for parents of CDH CHERUBS but grandparents as well as other family members. I absolutely applaud Dawn & CHERUBS for all the awareness they provide over the U.S. & U.K. Our family traveled from Vermont to Washington, DC to help raise awareness through the Parade of CHERUBS. Our family donates items for tote bags. Our family has a wonderful group of women who knit infant hats & booties that also gets sent in our CHERUBS memory. My husband & I vowed to donate monies each year on Liam's Angel Anniversary. We cannot say enough good things about CHERUBS. Liam's Mom (our daughter) is CHERUBS Vermont State Representative and has connected with CDH families here as well as working with our House of Representatives.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 13, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 13, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I volunteer for CHERUBS as a Hospital Angel. I am very proud to give back to them as I am eternally grateful for all they have done for me & my family in the last 3-1/2 years!

CHERUBS is more than just a group to me, they are truly like a second family. After my son Jayden died I was so
devastated I locked myself away and was on the verge of wanting to end everything, but just when I was at my worst, my mom showed me CHERUBS. Once I saw what they were about and got to know some of the AMAZING people who not only TRULY knew my pain and wanted to help me in my time of need and beyond, I found that because of the support and LOVE of these selfless, caring, open, and understanding people I had truly found a renewed sense of purpose and reason to live!

Now because of finding this WONDERFUL community I now have a passion and drive for life and have met some of the most amazing, wonderful, and close friends I have EVER had that I NEVER would have met would it not have been for CHERUBS! I also now have a new mission and goal in my life to help other families like us and let them know they are not alone, and we will be there for them in ANY way they may want/need just like all the amazing families before me did for my family in this wonderful group.

My biggest hope and goal for this charity is to raise enough money and awareness to put to more research to help us someday find the answers, and in return find an end so no more babies die or suffer... pure and simple.

Thank you for listening and THANK YOU TO CHERUBS FOR ALWAYS BEING THERE AND HELPING TO SAVE MY LIFE WHEN IT COUNTED MOST .

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a TON of research money to stop CDH!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 12, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

August 12, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

This is the most professional and kindest charity I have met on my CDH journey. They are very focused on helping CDH families and being the best charity possible. I am proud to be a part of this charity and watch it grow.

I have known Dawn for many years and I second everything her
husband said about her. She is a lady. When people sling mud at her she protects CDH families and doesn't throw it back. She makes it into pies and serves them with a smile. This woman is my hero.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I wasn't aware of the huge wages that the president was taking. After looking on guidestar I feel decived that this wasnt previously mentioned on fb. When I donate I want it to go to helping babies not into someones pocket. Taking 1/3 of annual takings is not justifiyable in my mind. I really think this is needs re-thinking.
But at least I Guess they are trying to help.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Significantly reduce wages.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Okay

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 10, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

August 10, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

When my daughter was born 26 years ago there was no CHERUBS. You only had your family and friends who were very supportive and loving but it would have been so much better if CHERUBS had been around then. I did not find them until several years ago while doing a search on CDH and its affects on adult survivors. Very little is known about the affect on adult survivors or doctors that know much about the affects on them. We have met so many wonderful families and adult survivors. We have learned more from them than any adult doctor has ever been able to share.

My daughter, Casey and I have been involved with CHERUBS ever since. She is became the Texas State Rep for CHERUBS after a family get together in San Antonio a couple of years ago. Casey would not have become involved had CHERUBS not been the wonderful charity it is.

This has happened all because of the hard work and hard hours Dawn has put into CHERUBS and to recruit so many other hard working volunteers to assist her. I am proud to say I know Dawn, many of the wonderful board members and volunteers working together to make CHERUBS one of the Great Nonprofit Charities today!!! Thank you all for your hard work for us all!!! We love you!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

August 8, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

In 2010 our Daughter, (Angel Cherub) Libby, was diagnosed with CDH at the 20 week scan. We came home and Googled CDH and thankfully found CHERUBS! Over the past 3 years we have received the most amazing support from people that we now regard as Family. We will be forever grateful for all the hard work that CHERUBS members do. We have made some great friends! I have recently decided to Volunteer in the hope to help other families and am really looking forward to working with so many kind and inspirational people xx

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 3, 2013

I have been involved with CHERUBS for over a year now and am continually amazed with the wonderful work that is done to support families, raise awareness, and fund research. I am proud to be a part o... more

August 8, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have been a board member of CHERUBS for the past year and I continue to be moved and inspired by all of the good work done by our volunteers, our President, our parent advisory board and our executive board. I look forward to the future, continuing to support families, raise awareness and funding research.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 3, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

I have been involved with CHERUBS for over a year now and am continually amazed with the wonderful work that is done to support families, raise awareness, and fund research. I am proud to be a part of CHERUBS after working closely with and witnessing the passion of the president, Dawn Williamson, first hand.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

August 8, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Since finding CHERUBS aafter the passing of my son, Liam Anthony Hunt, I have been blessed to connect with a network of incredible people! Members of CHERUBS have reached out to me and my family in a number of ways and have inspired us to find positive ways to give back and reach out to others affected by CDH. This will be my second year as the Vermont State Representative and I hope to continue in this role for many years to come to not only honor the memory of my gorgeous Angel CHERUB, Liam, but to help to many families that are affected by this devastating defect in my home state and nationwide. It is my honor and priviledge to be apart of such an incredible organization!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2013
10 people found this review helpful

more

August 8, 2013
10 people found this review helpful

I first learned about CDH when I met my wife, Dawn, who is the founder of CHERUBS. She lost her only child to CDH in 1999. My first experience with the charity was helping to plan a conference and ball in North Carolina. I was able to meet families and I am always impressed at the dedication and impact my wife has had with her work at CHERUBS. I taunt her about being a "CDH celebrity" because everyone knows her name and because of the internet attacks she deals with as if she wasn't a person. People around the world know her and she works with politicians and celebrities to help these kids. No one else has done that and I am very proud of her.

I attend events and I support Dawn and CHERUBS and I have seen it grow from a small charity into a global one in the 7 years we have been together. When we first got married baby items were all over our home. They were stacked in our guest room, in our children's closets, under their beds and filled our attic. After 2 years I made the decision that CHERUBS had to leave our home because there was not room and because Dawn needed time off of work. At the time she was working 2 full time jobs and we had no time with her. I asked her to make a choice between jobs and I asked that she choose her company to contribute to our family. She chose CHERUBS because she wouldn't abandon CDH families. Her Board took a risk and hired her rather than lose her 3 years ago. With an office and 1 job, Dawn has done more in 3 years than 15 years. Instead of congratulating her and CHERUBS on all their accomplishments, her salary is being put on the internet and people are shaming her. She does not make $40,000 but what if she did? Most NPO execs make over $60,000 a year. Most company execs who oversee 4000 people make well over $100,000. Dawn is paid pennies of what she is worth and she would still be volunteering if she had her say. If she is successfully running the charity she should be duly compensated. What she makes is no one's business but hers and the Boards. If you think she is greedy or after money then you have never met my wife. She would turn our home into a homeless shelter and give away everything we have if I let her.

In the 7 years we have been together I have seen the dark side of CDH. I have watched my wife cry for her son and visit his grave. I have sat beside her in court many times when she had to take out a restraining order against a "competitor". I was there at the entire trial and I have watched my wife and my family be a victim time and again simply because she choose to help CDH families. That woman looks at my Linked In page, she contacted Dawn's ex-husband, she even had IRS auditors in our home in front of our kids because she filed a false complaint to try to shut CHERUBS down. For 10 years she has tried to harm my wife and our family in any way possible. I have read the blogs she posts about our family, our finances and our life that are not only none of her business but not even close to true. The only person coming between her and my lawyer is my wife and this person should be very grateful. My wife has too much class to do the same to this person or her family and she should be very grateful for that as well. Because my wife started a charity out of the goodness of her heart in memory of our son it does not give anyone the right to pry into our private lives, to publicly slander my wife or to stalk our family.

I won't comment on what type of man I think the British man whose wife runs a charity for the things he's done to my wife. What type of man accosts a woman alone by herself in another country and then writes such trash for the world to see? She has a very soft heart and I know she was proud to help you as much as she could. To pay her back her kindness you've betrayed her and the charity. She is a good woman and you are no man. I will be more of a gentleman to your wife than you have been to mine and not name either of you so harm doesn't come to your reputations. You owe my wife an apology and gratitude.

For everyone that thinks my wife runs CHERUBS alone and makes all the decisions, you haven't seen the committee meetings she holds or the volunteers she has had in our home. You don't know the conference calls she takes late at night or e-mails she responds to all evening long. My wife is the most honest person I have ever known. If she says something it is true and she always has proof of everything she says. I know, I've tried arguing with her. She is also the hardest worker I have ever met and loyal to the extreme. She has tried to help every single person who started their own charities. Some took advantage of her and now attack her but she still acts like a lady. I have never seen anyone give more of themselves or have the dedication and passion she does for CHERUBS. Having a wife so involved in CDH and grief every day is not easy on our family. Having her attacked for her charity work makes me want to make her quit and find a job that pays more with less stress. She never will. I am proud of all she has done and proud to be married to such a beautiful woman inside and out. My only regret is not having the opportunity to meet Shane.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More funding and employees are needed to take this charity to the next level.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...12 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Put together 50 informational packets for CDH families. Volunteer