Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 2, 2013

more

November 2, 2013

I have participated with Cherish Our Children International since we began in 1993, as a Board Member,1st Executive Director, and National FUNdraising Coordinator. As a small organization, we have been a catalyst for big changes impacting the lives of children around the world. A few highlights are:

In Romania, deinstitutionalization of orphanges, Returning Montessori teaching, education and treatment for AIDS.
In Serbia, tutoring in orphanges, and providing community services for families of special needs children.
In Israel, supporting Bride for Peace, after school soccer and tutoring for the most needy children.
In U.S., Houston, supporting children of incarcerated parents to break the cycle and become Educated, Not Incarcerated!
I focused on raising funds to support these children and was privileged to see "up close" the differences in thousands of childrens lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more and stronger fundraisers. Create an ongoing stream of income to benefit our programs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 22, 2012

more

December 22, 2012

I am the Founder of COCI. Over the last 20 years hundreds of volunteers have gotten thousands of children out of disadvantaged situations and have given them a life they never would have had. Our volunteers go above and beyond the call of duty to provide emergency relief, education, tutoring, nutrition, nurturing - whatever is wanted and needed so that each child can make their unique contribution to the world. It has been an honor to work with kids in Romania, Bosnia, Serbia, Mexico, Kenya, Israel, and the U.S. Juli Hall

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
October 19, 2012

I have had the pleasure to serve on the board and experience first hand the difference Cherish Our Children is making. In Reynose, Mexico where we have helped build several schools, drilled water wells so they no longer have to trunk water in, and provide nutrition for the children while in school. Kisumu, Kenya where I have personally visited Children First who we partner with to take care of orphaned children and provide education to the local children. Serbia where we support children with physical and mental limitations attend medical treatments, physical thearpy, education, and recreational activities. Without our help they would not be able to get to the services they need. Lastly right here in the U.S. where we support No More Victims, Inc. located in Houston. Through this program children of incarcerated parents are provided a structure to not repeat the path their parents took. The children learn life skills and receive the love and encouragement to stay on the right path, finish high school and become a contributing adult. We find unique individuals making a difference and support and empower them to succeed. Come join us and make a difference.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 7, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 7, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

After 12 years serving as the volunteer country director in Serbia and Bosnia, I have witnessed thousands of desperate children living new lives, with medical, dental, educational, and recreational services. A post-war and post-communist society marginalizes needy children, especially if they are special needs kids. COCI is changing all of that, and we've even seen 5 (working on #6) special needs children adopted by loving American families. It's been truly amazing to see how much one person, along with a small team, really can accomplish. Serving these children has been the happiest time of my life!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers