Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
1234.955
Write A Review
April 17, 2014

more

April 17, 2014

A Foundation that integrates local knowledge and skill with global innovation and effort, to ensure a future for wild cheetahs. CCF's methods engage audiences near and far, educating and inspiring creative solutions that benefit both nature and us.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
April 15, 2012

As with all big cats, I am very concerned with their survival. Their numbers have been declining at alarming rates. From a very young age I have loved cheetahs. I found the Cheetah Conservation Fund years ago and support them with a donation whenever I can. I plan to apply to volunteer in Namibia to work with them directly , hopefully next year. They have done amazing work for cheetahs.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 5, 2012

more

January 5, 2012

Without the work of CCF the amazing cheetah may not stand a chance for survival.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 3, 2012

more

January 3, 2012

My family and I have been following and donating to the Cheetah Conservation Fund since 2008. We continue to be amazed at the huge impact CCF has made in preserving the cheetah species. They have made great strides educating farmers and providing them with trained Anatolian Shepard dogs that ward off straying cheetahs. These farmers used to shoot the cheetahs on sight. They also have released trapped cheetahs back into the wild. They are indeed an amazing group. Thank God for Dr. Laurie Marker and her team!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 28, 2011

I am both a donor and volunteer for CCF. I first got to know co-founder and CEO of CCF, Dr. Laurie Marker, on a safari around Namibia that she led in May 2007. I returned to Namibia in 2008 to volunteer, to contribute my scientific expertise in Genetics and to learn more about these magnificent animals. What sets CCF apart from many other animal conservation charities is Laurie's approach to the problem of imminent cheetah extinction. She strove to understand why the farmers were killing predator cheetahs and has developed a multi-pronged approach to reduce that centered on education. Her organization is an international model for similar animal conservation organizations. In addition to African farmers, CCF trains conservationist from around the world, removes thorny bush and makes logs used in European stoves, breeds Anatolian and Kangal guard dogs to keep cheetahs away from a farmer's livestock (they are donated to the farmers after the farmers are trained to make use of them), they provide a sanctuary for injured cheetahs that are treated and either reintroduced to the wild or housed in a large habitat. Their scientific research on the behavior and genetics of this animal is now allowing the reintroduction of cheetahs into the wild that previously wouldn't have been able to survive. They are also being successfully reintroduced into former habitats. This is only a partial list.. (Go to their website to learn more). I don't know why the ratings were originally low, but I'm certain now that they have achieved a 4-star rating, they won't drop below that in the future. One of Laurie's latest recognition was being named a Rainer Arnhold Fellow. These awardees are social entrepreneurs with promising solutions to the big problems in health, poverty, and conservation in developing countries. It is her entrepreneurial spirit that drew me to support her organization (I was an early employee at a successful biotech company). Once knowing her, I learned of her committment to encouraging the talent in her adopted country and continent to work towards the common goal. But it is really the impact this organization is making on worldwide animal conservation, serving as a model for how to approach this problem of animal extinction, that is makes this excellent organization stand out and be worthy of your financial support.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

performing surgery on a wild cheetah that had been caught in a trap, allowing it to survive and later be returned to the wild. Collecting data from field cameras that allow for a census of wild cheetahs. This informaiton is provided to the government to help define public policy.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Why did you make your donation at this time?

In response to a year-end challenge grant, where my donation is being doubled.

What would you tell others about this organization?

Please visit their website (www.cheetah.org) to learn more about cheetahs and their multi-pronged approach to animal conservation centered around education. You will also see how even children become involved, working to change their future world.

August 7, 2011

I honestly don't understand the low rating. CCF is doing more to save the severely endangered cheetah than any other organization. They seem to care about the people in the cheetah's ecosystem as well as the cheetahs which is important to me.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've learned much more about cheetahs, have seen the results of CCF's work with local communities to prevent the killing of cheetahs, and research on returning cheetahs to the wild.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Improve communication with donors, find ways to involve them through more local events and at home volunteer opportunities. Sell more reasonably priced merchandise to raise funds.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

I love cheetahs and don't want to see them become extinct.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 14, 2011

I'v met Dr. Marker. She works tirelessly and effectively against the extinction of the Cheetah in Africa, --not amassing a fortune as some other CEO's of NGOs. She is enirely dedicated to her work, using her teaching and negotiating skills to help the local population understand the value of environmental protection.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've was blown away by Dr. Marker's dedication and enthusiam.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

clone Dr. Marker, as previously suggested.

May 12, 2011

I first learned about the Cheetah Conservation Fund in July, 2008 when I read an article about them in a back issue (March 2008) of Smithsonian Magazine. The article described how the cheetah had shrunk from a population of 100,000 in 1900 to a present level of between 10,000 and 12,000 worldwide, making them a highly endangered species and possibly threatened with extinction in the not-so-distant future. The article told about an American woman with experience with cheetahs, Dr. Laurie Marker, who was so heart-stricken about this eventuality that she sold her possessions, moved to Namibia (where most of the remaining cheetah population lives), and started the Cheetah Conservation Fund to try to help these beautiful creatures and spread the word to the rest of the world to join in, too.
This article hit me like a hammer. It was so upsetting to me that I could not sleep that night. I got up, went to the computer, and did some reading about cheetahs. They are a unique genus of cat unlike any other big cat in the world. Many of us know them to be the fastest land animal (up to 70 mph), but that's just the beginning. Historically, they were literally the consort of kings, revered by Egyptian pharaohs, Iranian kings, and Indian rajahs. Cheetahs were part of the Egyptians' religion, and they also accompanied the rulers and their royal party to hunt for sport. These powerful men were so besotted with cheetahs that they were allowed to roam freely on the palace grounds, and some made it into the palaces, too! One Indian king had 10,000 of them. Anyway, the more I read, the more I was hooked. CCF got me with a one-two punch that night, and I joined them and never looked back.
CCF is an incredible organization that makes every donated dollar do something for the cheetah. What I find especially fascinating is the organization's ability to think outside the box to solve problems. The Namibian farmers have always disliked and feared the cheetah because it will occasionally eat a lamb or a goat; the country is so poor that the loss of even one animal can result in starvation for the farmer and his family. CCF's solution? Educational seminars for the farmers; they will even pay visits to the farmer's homes if they cannot come to the CCF center in Otjiwarongo. And most interestingly, CCF has started a program to breed Anatolian shepherd guard dogs to be given free to the farmers to guard their flocks. Another spectacularly successful endeavor resulted from the problem of acacia thornbushes overrunning the land, which can blind cheetahs when they run into them while running after their dinner. CCF solved the problem by harvesting the thornbushes (using Namibian labor, that they might make money for their families) and compressing them into a burnable log called the BushBlok. Sales of the BushBlok logs directly benefit CCF. CCF actually makes the problems part of the solution! They are trustworthy stewards of the funds they receive.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

CCF is a tight-knit organization that makes every member feel wanted and appreciated. I have gotten to know many of the volunteers and staff, as well as Dr. Marker, and I consider them all to be friends as well as tooth-and-nail fighters for the cheetah's survival.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I could change the organization, it would be only to hire a few more paid staff members to lighten the load.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

CCF welcomes volunteers and student interns in Namibia for periods starting at 2 weeks. For information please visit our web site.