Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
1234.955
Write A Review
April 17, 2014

more

April 17, 2014

A Foundation that integrates local knowledge and skill with global innovation and effort, to ensure a future for wild cheetahs. CCF's methods engage audiences near and far, educating and inspiring creative solutions that benefit both nature and us.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 16, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
April 16, 2012

CCF has been working to save the cheetah for over 20 years now. It is a well-run organization staffed with professionals who are passionate about saving this wonderful cat. The Namibian headquarters delivers top quality vet care for the animals and leading science and research on the species. Well worth a trip to Namibia to visit and help them out.... or just visit their web site and make a donation -- it will be money well spent (www.cheetah.org).

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 15, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
April 15, 2012

I've been following the CCF's activities for a long time, but longer, I have been watching videos on Dr. Marker's work with the Cheetahs. This work is necessary, and the CCF is best equipt to do it. I'd NEVER want to explain to my kids how a once majestic beast became extinct because of our complacence. I've found a tremendous source of spiritual and emotional comfort watching this group put their heads together to solve a very real problem in the ecosystem of the cheetah.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would encourage them to make more visits to the universities in the US and abroad to recruit college students for volunteer work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Personal research + a really compelling youtube video on the Cheetah.

April 15, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
April 15, 2012

As with all big cats, I am very concerned with their survival. Their numbers have been declining at alarming rates. From a very young age I have loved cheetahs. I found the Cheetah Conservation Fund years ago and support them with a donation whenever I can. I plan to apply to volunteer in Namibia to work with them directly , hopefully next year. They have done amazing work for cheetahs.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The Cheetah Conservation Fund addresses the big picture in the fight to save the cheetah species. They attack this goal on numerous fronts and therefore treasure the assistance of volunteers and try to utilize them to their strengths and ability. They operate with a lean staff to conserve resources, but with huge goals there is never a dull moment. As a volunteer in Namibia, I was helping with ecology studies (wildlife counts & camera trap studies), capture & release of cheetahs that were injured or caught hunting livestock, care of the captive cheetahs that cannot be released, medical work-ups on the wild & captive cheetahs, working with the livestock guard dogs & puppies that are given to farmers to protect their livestock, marketing (cheetah runs with tourists, marketing brochures), and international wildlife management course surveys to see how the class succeeded in teaching farmers from over a dozen African nations how to prevent wildlife & livestock conflict. We were also shown the Bushblok, which is a clean burning natural fuel log made of compressed chips from the invasive acacia shrub that in taking over all the overgrazed areas and injuring cheetahs. In two weeks, I was amazed by all that they do and the experience as a whole. I am fortunate that I can also sometimes help them locally with fundraisers & educational events in the US.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I went to Namibia in August of 2009 to volunteer at Cheetah Conservation Fund as a zookeeper. I found the program on their website and was very excited about my trip. Little did I know the excitement that was to come. My first night there I got to sit next to Dr Laurie Marker for dinner. I did not even think I would get to see her there let alone have dinner with her on my first night. She is a incredibly wise woman and so passionate about saving the cheetah. The work that I did while I was there was very rewarding and increased my passion for the cheetah. I truly believe in the Cheetah Conservation Fund and the program that Dr Marker has built in Namibia. I would highly recommend taking a volunteer trip there so you can experience Cheetah Conservation Fund for yourselves. It is one trip that you will talk about for the rest of your lives. I do!!

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Nothing. They really know what there are doing.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Increased my passion for cheetahs and helped me decide my career path.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Like I was making a difference.

January 9, 2012

more

January 9, 2012

I have been following the Cheetah Conservation Fund since it's conception. The work that has been done by Dr. Laurie Marker...and her wonderful people and volunteers and fund raisers is beyond amazing. The work that has been done to protect the species...and educate the local people as well as the people of the world about the plight of the Cheetah should be acknowledged. I am proud to know Laurie, and have great admiration for all the work these fine people are doing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 6, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 6, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My relationship with CCF began when I went to Namibia as a working volunteer. I was also there to conduct research for my undergraduate dissertation at the time, which was quite a daunting prospect. But I needn't have worried. The staff were incredibly friendly and made all of us volunteers feel very welcome, and we all worked together as a team. At a place like CCF you never really know what the day will bring. Some things stay the same - the orphaned cheetahs need feeding and exercising, there is always data to be entered and visitors come to look around and find out more about what goes on. But you never know what might happen next. On my first full day we were all called to the clinic as two adult male cheetahs had been caught and were having medicals so it was all hands on deck. And then the excitement of seeing these magnificent cats being released back into the wild. I spent much of my time working with the livestock guarding dogs, looking after a litter of puppies as they were weaned and then readied for their lives working on farms to protect livestock from predation. At this time all of the goats needed worming so all hands on deck once again as they were rounded up and medicated. I had the most incredible time at CCF and continue to be involved with the charity. The work conducted by CCF is very varied and the staff work together tirelessly to ensure everything gets done. Research continues to be conducted on cheetah ecology but the charity also looks at ways it can work with local communites, the country and abroad in other cheetah range countries. Passing on expertise and knowledge is what CCF does best, training future farmers, teaching schoolchildren about their incredible wildlife, running courses for professionals in other cheetah range countries and also improving the lives of Namibians. CCFs community-based conservation efforts have changed farmers attitudes to killing cheetahs, conservancis have been set up to protect cheetah habitat and wildlife prey species, CCF works with farmers to investigate, develop and implement livestock and wildlife management techniques, CCF participates in government forums and organizations in Namibia and around the world to help influence public policy through interaction and involvement, CCF supports sustainable, environmentally appropriate activities that assure the economic well-being of people living within the cheetah's range in the form of Bushblok, cheetah friendly beef and eco-tourism. And all of this is work is carried out with limited resources. It's such an incredible charity working towards the conservation of cheetahs and their ecosystems, which would not be possible without the generous help from donors. In supporting CCF you are not just helping to conserve the future for the cheetah but also you are helping change the lives and futures for all those living and working in cheetah range countries.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 6, 2012

more

January 6, 2012

Absolutely a wonderful organization and cause! Striving to be a professional in the field as well as a hopeful volunteer with the Cheetah Conservation Fund in the near future, the dedication from those who have completed the programs is amazing. They are so willing to share their new knowledge with everyone, which allows us to spread the news to more people! The CCF keeps a completely positive outlook towards the people who live with wild cheetahs each and every day and make the time to hear their stories and concerns, instead of preaching at them. The CCF really wants those who interact with cheetahs to love them as well and work towards both the human and non-human futures together.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 5, 2012

more

January 5, 2012

Without the work of CCF the amazing cheetah may not stand a chance for survival.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

CCF welcomes volunteers and student interns in Namibia for periods starting at 2 weeks. For information please visit our web site.