Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.948285
Write A Review
May 29, 2012

more


1 previous review
May 5, 2010

Cheerful Givers has made my life presently. Karen Kitchel, President of Cheerful Givers never fails to thank each and every volunteer that helps Cheerful Givers. She has been a joy to work with throug... more

May 29, 2012

I have been volunteering with Cheerful Givers since Nov 2009 and after 2 years still continuing as a volunteer manager. I am happy to say that I am glad I found by chance on Volunteer Match and expressed interest. I joined Cheerful Givers at a time when I didn't know what I was doing in my life. Volunteering with Cheerful Givers changed my life and keeps me mentally happy and I feel good that I am helping for a cause. Flexible hours and in a virtual role kept my mind busy and I feel satisfied that I am useful to somebody in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 5, 2010

Cheerful Givers has made my life presently. Karen Kitchel, President of Cheerful Givers never fails to thank each and every volunteer that helps Cheerful Givers. She has been a joy to work with through the interaction of emails.

Every week, I dedicate around 10 hours of my time to
volunteer for Cheerful Givers in the role of a Virtual Volunteer Manager. My role includes a variety of tasks and exchanging several emails with Karen as well as volunteers. I also gather, maintain, and update information on our volunteers. The information I collect makes its way into the monthly newsletter and annual report.

I have volunteered in many organizations over the past 15 months. But my volunteer work at Cheerful Givers is the best so far I have felt and the most fun I have had giving back to the community!

Helping people, even if I may not get to meet them, gives me the mental satisfaction of knowing that I am making a difference in their life, even if in a small way, while working from my home.

The best part of Cheerful Givers is that one can volunteer from any part of the country.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

many ways. I am mentally happier, confident, good leader and become a good writer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

that Cheerful Givers holds atleast one of its events in the Bay Area.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

None.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Good leader, confidence, good writer, spreading positivity, etc...

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Happy and cheerful.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 21, 2012

more

May 21, 2012

Wow, Cheerful GIvers has grown so much since I started volunteering in 2008! The mission is simply to give a happy birthday to as many less fortunate children as possible. Simple, yet SO important. Looking forward the future of CG!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am the Founder and Chairman of the Board for Cheerful Givers. I started Cheerful Givers because I believed we could make a difference in the lives of less fortunate children and their families. When I created this organization, I never dreamed that we would help more than 500,000 children, that we would have so many volunteers and contributors, and that we would provide as much happiness to the givers as we were providing to the receivers. Cheerful Givers has taught me how to be a better person, how to give anonymously and unconditionally, and that one person’s idea can make a difference in the lives of everyone involved. Thank you to all the cheerful givers and cheerful receivers!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I began working with Cheerful Givers when my son was about to turn one. I couldn't imagine him not receiving even one special gift. As a matter of fact, I knew he would be showered with toys, clothes, books and other presents. It really spoke to my heart that there were people out there committed to spreading birthday joy to children whose parents have fallen on hard times. It's not that they didn't WANT to provide for their child, they just couldn't. Cheerful Givers is an amazing organization that works tirelessly EVERY day to assemble birthday gifts so that parents can ALSO experience the joy of GIVING a gift to their child. What an amazing ability!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Being involved in Cheerful Givers has been one of the most rewarding experiences I have ever had. It is such a worthy cause and the impact is so direct. I look forward to continue working closely with them in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Even as an adult, I still enjoy my special day! So, when I read about Cheerful Givers and considered the children who may not feel "special" on their special day, I felt like I had to get involved. Over the past year and a half I have become involved personally as well as assisting my company in their involvement. Everyone has a great time filling birthday bags and the more we fill, the more we want to fill!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

It has been an honor to watch the growth of Cheerful Givers over the years under the expert guidance of President Karen Kitchell. The dedication to giving children a very happy birthday goes above and beyond greatness. Cheerful Givers is my role model for how a charity needs to function.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Cheerful Givers is an organization that is one of my favorite charitable givers. My school age child care group connected with Cheerful Givers through a service learning project 6 years ago. Since then I have chosen to celebrate my birthday with a Birthday Blitz, creating bags for others to celebrate their birthdays. Nothing brightens my day than seeing the happy faced logo of Cheerful Givers!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

It is a great organization that provides birthday bags to low income families with young children so they have a gift for their birthday. All children should have a special birthday and Cheerful Givers sees that they do.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Cheerful Givers mission is so simple, yet so powerful -- to provide a child with a birthday gift on their one special day, to make that child feel special and valued no matter their current circumstances. And I love that it allows parents the dignity to choose a gift they can feel proud to give. When I tell people about Cheerful Givers, they get it. It inspires people to get involved. I'll continue to donate, volunteer as I can, and share their mission and story whenever I can.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Purchase a variety of small new toys and gift bags, assemble them into the birthday bags and donate them to a shelter or food shelf in their own community. Then contact karen@cheerfulgivers.org to let us know how many bags were filled and where they were donated. Volunteer