Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.948285
Write A Review
May 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a Cheerful Givers volunteer, board member, and advocate for many years now. I remain inspired and humbled by the work they do to enable parents living in poverty to give their children birthday gifts. I have assembled bags with my own children and, through that experience, been able to teach them about the power of giving. The number of children served grows each year, as does their need for volunteers, donations, and support. I'm proud to continue my support of Cheerful Givers and invite you to do the same.
May 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have voluntered with Cheerful Givers for a few years. It is a wonderful organization that spends funds wisely and serves a significant need in our communities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I'm a fairly recent virtual volunteer, helping with writing pieces that bring attention to the uniqueness of Cheerful Givers. It has been a rewarding experience, and even though I am oceans away I have enjoyed being able to give back to those who deserve so much - children. I look forward to continuing my volunteer experience into the future and if you are not already involved with this wonderful organization, you should be. There is nothing more precious then giving the gift that brings a smile to a child's face.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I've been a virtual volunteer for about a year and a half, researching grants and helping out with special projects. It's been such a rewarding experience even though I am a couple of thousand miles away. Karen keeps Cheerful Givers so well organized. She is always quick to respond to my questions and keeps me in the loop so I feel part of the team. It feels so good to be able to help children in need. I'm very glad I found Cheerful Givers through Volunteer Match.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 4, 2013

There are so many reasons to love Cheerful Givers. A birthday gift is simply a vehicle to increase self-esteem in kids AND parents. It's a little boost that makes a big difference in lives. more

May 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I've enjoyed every minute on the board. Always moving forward and looking for new opportunities and partnerships to spread the message. I've really come to realize that the gift of self-esteem is priceless. Who can deny giving birthday gifts to parents and children in need?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep growing so we can eradicate the problem of poverty

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

There are so many reasons to love Cheerful Givers. A birthday gift is simply a vehicle to increase self-esteem in kids AND parents. It's a little boost that makes a big difference in lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get the word out to more people!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
May 12, 2012

If you are looking for a very flexible non profit to volunteer for, Cheerful Givers is the one! I have been involved with the organization for roughly 8-9 years. I have been involved with various asp... more

May 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been with Cheerful Givers for over 10 years. my experience starts like this. I work at Ecolab & we had one bag making event. I had not heard of anymore so I contacted our community giving folks. They asked if I would like to lead the group to do more events. I said yes. Doing that for six months or so I was asked by Cheerful Givers to participate in an advisory group for corp groups. we discussed how each of us did things, shared ideas on new ways etc. I was with that group for I am not sure how long then was invited to be a board member. I agreed to join the board & was voted in. Was a fun experience I learned alot about being on a board & was able to add my point of view. I was a single mom & had used oportunities like Cheerful Givers for my daughter. I did have to leave the board due to a family event that came up, but I still am involved, some at work & pick up toys monthly to go to the sponsored group CG's has. I also do many volunteer events like the Volunteer Expo each year at the MOA & the yearly MN Birthday party again at the MOA. I like CG's as it is a flexible organization you can volunteer as much or little you are able to. Cheerful Givers may not save lives, but can change the world "One child at a time!" Take the time & check it out you can not go wrong! There are many kids who do not know they have a birthday, due to their parents not being able to help celebrate that day. Each of us should be acknowledged on our Birthday! It makes us unique & special! Again check out Cheerful Givers!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

If you are looking for a very flexible non profit to volunteer for, Cheerful Givers is the one! I have been involved with the organization for roughly 8-9 years. I have been involved with various aspects of the organization from Board memeber for roughly 3 years, I make bags at my work place, I go to the volunteer Expo at the MOA to promote Cheerful Givers annually. To mention a few things. Take the time to think of not so fun or bad Birthday or having no party as a kid. Imagine now not beeing even acknowledged on your birthday! that is why I am part of Cheerful Givers. I know the bags we make go to parents to give their child (plus) Child is acknowledged on his/her Birthday (plus). I know & feel good about making the bag & contributing (plus). there is no way to go wroing!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 4, 2010

We started our group at my work place over 7 years ago. We have continued to make Birthday Bags quarterly, now. All of my co-workers who participate love to do it! they feel is a good way to volunteer & help kids & families too! It does not take much time & we have a great time. As one of the folks that makes bags said "we can change the world one child at a time!" I fully agree. Thank you for reading these I hope you will donate or volunteer for Cheerful Givers.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have felt very good being able to work with Cheerful Givers. I feel is a great cause & everyone shopuld help!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing!

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

is fun & very easy to do!

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Wonderfully fun folks, Ma Roscoe from channel 9 "The Buzz" Was very cool! to mention just a few folks.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Make sure each & every child living in poverty would be acknowledged on their Birthdays!

Ways to make it better...

I could not have had a better experince.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

FUNDING!!! FUNDING!!!

One thing I'd also say is that...

Folks to Volunteer or Donate, you can not go wrong is a great organization!

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
August 28, 2013

As a homeschooling mother with tons of responsibilities at home, Cheerful Givers is often times something exciting in our family. We can help children at the same time giving us a chance to have fun! ... more

May 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Cheerful Givers is one of the most down to earth charities that I have ever volunteered with. The staff are over and above nice and they are always available to chat or give advice for future promotions. Cheerful Givers is the best place to volunteer for, no matter what the others tell you, they obviously can not compete with Cheerful Givers. Why? Because Cheerful Givers is for children right here in America that are struggling to have a happy birthday. Children that may be living in a domestic violence shelter or children that may be dependent upon a food bank to eat every month. These kids need us more than anything and by giving just a small amount of time weekly or monthly you can help children in poverty have a chance at having a real birthday present on their birthday. Not only that but you can even have your very own birthday blitz and pick out the items that you are interested in donating to children. You can get your place of business involved and each person can do something to help. This is what Cheerful Givers is all about, the Kids! I am so glad that I found them!
August 28, 2013

As a homeschooling mother with tons of responsibilities at home, Cheerful Givers is often times something exciting in our family. We can help children at the same time giving us a chance to have fun! Cheerful Givers opens the opportunities for our family to personally give our time and become responsible individuals. My children love to help raise money for a birthday blitz as well as have the party and give from their hearts! There is so much that Cheerful Givers makes possible, and we are so thankful for this absolutely awesome charity!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand Cheerful Givers world wide!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Paula G.

I have volunteered for Cheerful Givers for 2 years, and have the greatest respect for what they do. The mission of this wonderful organization is elegantly simple and enormously influential. Giving children whose families are facing hardship birthday gifts to bring smiles to those
faces is an act of love, community, and far-reaching compassion. Cheerful Givers does work that matters and, for these children, builds their self-esteem and confidence. The stress of providing presents for their child on their special day is taken off the shoulders of their parents. What Cheerful Givers does for these families has ripple affects that create positive memories for the rest of their lives. Cheerful Givers lets these families know that though they are struggling, that their children are not forgotten on their birthdays. Hats off to them. They are a blessing to many!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

keep creating ways to help them continue to grow.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Volunteering for Cheerful Givers is an excellent opportunity. The process of getting involved is quick and easy, and there are a variety of ways to contribute. I am a Social Media volunteer who works to promote Cheerful Givers and encourage others to join our cause. Even for a few minutes a day, I can tell that my work goes a long way in helping Cheerful Givers meet their goal of providing birthday gifts to children living in poverty. This an organization near and dear to my heart that I look forward to working with for a long time!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing, I just want it to grow!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
September 4, 2013

In early 2013, I was looking for a way to virtual volunteer from home, and I love to research all kinds of stuff. Through volunteermatch.org, I found cheerfulgivers.org, and by mid April I was a Inkin... more

May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

It's been over a year and I still virtually volunteer as an in-kind donations researcher. I've never volunteered for a non-profit as long as I have with Cheerful Givers. This is a great place to volunteer. They are organized and I love the fact that you get recognized in a newsletter for your hard work. It feels so good to help kids receive something nice for their Birthday.

If you're looking for a place to volunteer in person or remotely, look no further than cheerfulgivers.org!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

In early 2013, I was looking for a way to virtual volunteer from home, and I love to research all kinds of stuff. Through volunteermatch.org, I found cheerfulgivers.org, and by mid April I was a Inkind Donations Research Assistant. It was the video, Your cheerful givers story video, that I watched, and I had a tear fall down my face. It's been 4 months plus, and I wanted to volunteer my hours and time, to a worthwhile cause. I love giving back, and am proud to see happy faces on kids, who get these beautiful birthday bags, who otherwise would not receive anything for there birthday.

Thankyou to to everybody who works here, and to all of the volunteers, for all of your hard work, time and good efforts.

Look forward to more researching, and hopefully more donors giving what they can.

Thanks Kristi Bright

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Purchase a variety of small new toys and gift bags, assemble them into the birthday bags and donate them to a shelter or food shelf in their own community. Then contact karen@cheerfulgivers.org to let us know how many bags were filled and where they were donated. Volunteer