Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
1234.921055
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
August 15, 2013

more

August 15, 2013

chashama has, since 2005, offered me access to a temporary project studio, a week-long residency in upstate NY, and most recently access to an empty storefront where I presented my work for two weeks. Each situation has been important to me as a professional artist, and the staff has always been courteous, efficient and very warm and helpful.
The structure and nature of this organization allows it to both be flexible and efficient while offering great opportunities to self-directed artists without micromanaging their projects. If you are based in the NYC area and have an idea you want to try out, or a short- or long-term need for space, this is definitely the first organization to approach.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Suggest a better website.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Living as a "starving artist" is especially hard in an urban area like New York. With so many museums and Music and Arts losing government funding, artists sometimes give up their passions for security and comfort. Chashama, a non-profit organization, provides the resources necessary to fuel the creativity of these artists. By extension, Chashama is supporting forward thinking, which is so vital to our society's progression. Even more so, Chashama's staff is supportive and friendly. Go to one Chashama event and you'll leave with a few friends and more than a handful of contacts. As a volunteer I found the Chashama staff to be very efficient. Chashama is very considerate of their volunteers' time. I feel Chashama deserves recognition for thief contributions.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

I began volunteering with Chashama this year when I became aware of their mission and immediately realized that I would like to assist this wonderful organization. It has turned out to be one of the best decisions that I have recently made, as I have immensely enjoyed attending their events as well as meeting their enthusiastic staff and fellow volunteers, whom are so dedicated and committed to the cause. Given the shortage of affordable real-estate in the NYC area, the service that they provide cannot be overemphasized! Although I am not an artist, I have always appreciated the artistic community and will gladly support an organization that helps nurture artists, to help them flourish and grow to accomplish and achieve their visions and goals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

Chashama does not merely help ameliorate some of the staggering financial burdens inherent in the creation of great works, but they also help foster and strengthen our culture of artistic community involvement. It's surprising to me that there are not more organizations like this to help match artists with affordable work space in other cities. We could really use a Chashama here in San Francisco.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

I love Chashama! Every event I've attended has been full of wonderful, friendly, helpful people. The artists that bring together always have interesting and original pieces to share. The environment is warm and welcoming. I look forward to each and every Chashama event I hear about. Their commitment to their vision is unsurpassed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

Fantastic events, outreach and artist support. Truly a cornerstone of the New York art community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

chashama is a fantastic organization! I am honored to be given the opportunity to work for chashama and assist them in carrying out their mission to help artists flourish! They repurpose buildings in transition, invest in neighborhoods, foster local talent, and sustain a range of creativity, commerce and culture.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Chashama is an amazing organization that really opens its gallery for all to see. Their amazing events, gallery openings and other projects brings in people who aren't normally the "artsy" type. I myself am far from being an artist, but came into this appreciating art. And helping Chashama was a way to help artist and enjoy their work. We all can benefit from what they are able to create. I was able to meet many amazing people and hope to continue participating with Chashama.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

I helped out at their Gala, early summer, that took place in Anita's way, near Times Square. It was a great event and the coordinators were really organized in supervising their volunteers. They were specific in what they wanted each of us to do and really professional in their handling guests and workers. I liked their efficiency and overall love for detail that they displayed at the gala. I would gladly help out again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

I volunteered with chashama at Open Studios and Go Brooklyn weekend. As an artist in Greenpoint I wanted to be able to help out other artists as well as this organization, which is to say the least, extremely beneficial for artists in NYC. Not only did I meet some great visitors, but I had the chance to meet artists in chashama's amazing studio spaces. Being that the studios are far away from my space and where I live in Williamsburg, I may have never been able to meet so many great people. Chashama was organized, inviting, and motivated to bring awareness to Open Studios. It was really a joy to volunteer with them and I will do it again hands down.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us at our next open studio event! Volunteer