Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
1234.921055
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
August 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

chashama is one of the most effective organizations with which I have worked. As an organization, they under promise and over deliver. They have made a major contribution to the revitalization of Downtown Jamaica. I simply cannot say enough good things about their mission, business model and leadership.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

I've had several studio spaces through chashama. The connections and community fostered through this organization have had an immeasurable impact on my artistic career.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

I have had a number of studio spaces through chashama and each has resulted in new artistic developments and lasting and supportive friendships.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

I have enjoyed and benefited from my association with chashama since the early stages of my art career. My early shows with chashama lead to more exposure and a further reach for my work. Anita Durst and her team are supportive and friendly and genuinely care about the artist they exhibit. Thank you Anita and thank you chashama for all that you have done and your continued support.

Todd Monaghan, Artist

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 12, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 16, 2012

I have been fortunate to have been involved with Chashama for many years. The service that they provide to the community that they work in , is second to none. Space is the bread and butter of there ... more

September 12, 2013

I have had the pleasure of playing(some might call it work) with Chashama for almost all of it's history. My friend helped put it together and it's been growing ever since. Each time I do something with them, my appreciation for the arts grows!! KEEP GROWING CHASHAMA THE WORLDS NEEDS MORE OF YOU!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand to other cities

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012

I have been fortunate to have been involved with Chashama for many years. The service that they provide to the community that they work in , is second to none. Space is the bread and butter of there services. In the metro NY area this is a huge financial burden on any individual or organization or individual. They provide money, artistic support, administration support, facility support and act as a liaison between various NYC agencies. What they do for the art community,youth,and other non profit groups, may never be reproduced

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 2, 2013

more

September 2, 2013

chashama is there for artists in a way that no other nonprofit is. Building community, providing affordable space and establishing a way for art-making to occur outside of academia and the mainstream. For so many years chashama has given back to New York all the beauty and provocation that her artists can muster.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 19, 2013

more

August 19, 2013

i've known chashama since it was founded and the great inspiration through Reza Abdoh. Can't say enough good things about it. I've been a performance artist at the 461 gallery, saw great art in other people's spaces there and at the Army Terminal, plus storefronts and attended incredible parties, fundraisers and experienced the happy energy of all artists supported. When I presented my work, I would never have been able to find such a great space for the same low rate, which made the work possible. Thank you for being around so long and repurposing space to so many artists. Looking forward to seeing and doing more!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Just get more spaces for more art.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 19, 2013

more

August 19, 2013

5 stars. I have been volunteering chashama for a year and they help to me a lot in internship and They develop my art knowledges and skills. Also, I have deep connection with staff member and artists of chashama. They are approachable and willing to help you with events and studio. Keep it up the good work chashama!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help their artist to sell their work and make them famous..... :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 19, 2013

more

August 19, 2013

My husband and I are both chashama studio artists and have helped organize the performances at the annual gala. Without chashama we would not have an affordable space to create our works of art and we would not be able to make a living as an artist without both our studio and the support of the organization.
chashama goes over and above to give artists spaces to create and display their art while bringing art into the everyday lives of New Yorkers and presenting tourists with a great example of how NYC supports a creative environment.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 19, 2013

more

August 19, 2013

I have attended multiple events that were curated by chashama, and each time I had a blast. The art was beautiful, the performances were captivating and the chashama staff were fantastic. I had a lot of questions about getting my own space and the staff members I was able to speak to were super helpful and easy to talk to. I have now applied for my own space and am considering an upstate residency. Go chashama!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any changes I would make.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us at our next open studio event! Volunteer