Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
67 Reviews
1234.835825
Write A Review
June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

I have been volunteering at the shelter for over four years and have enjoyed every minute of it. I have learned more information while volunteerting on the medical care of animals then I ever thought possible. All the staff members are so friendly and helpful in answering customer's quesions. It is great to see the community step forward and help the animals in finding new home and just by fostering. I also enjoy doing the off shelter adoption events and spreading the word out to the community about what the shelter does.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 29, 2014

more

June 29, 2014

I just recently started volunteering here when I had to move to SC for the navy and I LOVE it. It's so great to work with all the animals. All the animals are treated so well and the shelter works so hard to adopt as many animals as possible. They're extremely clean and the staff is so sweet and helpful. Love volunteering here!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014

more

June 28, 2014

I have been volunteering at CAS for over two years. It is a modern, clean facility where both staff and volunteers take their mission of caring for the animals seriously. They go way beyond keeping the animals fed, watered, and the areas clean. They also make sure they have good human interaction and enrichment to keep them busy. All volunteers must take a 3 hour class on dog interaction which promotes safety. Beyond this, they operate bark camp at the shelter for middle school children during the summer, and a summer program for older children who may be interested in a veterinary career. Last year they also developed a training class that was attended by people from South Carolina as well as other states and provided enough training materials so that the attendees could go back and give this class to others. CAS is recognized nationally as one of the best organizations of its kind. Best of all, I found my constant companion, a two year old miniature poodle there!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014

more

June 28, 2014

As the only No Kill shelter in the Southeast, the job the CAS is doing is absolutely amazing!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

If you would like a truly rewarding experience, try volunteering at the CAS. The programs, staff, and fellow volunteers are outstanding. I assist in the veterinary dept by caring for the patients (dogs, cats, puppies, and kittens, and even one rabbit) after their spay or neuter surgery. The vets and vet techs are excellent technically but also show great care and concern for any medical issue they may find. I've observed full amputations, eye surgery, hernia repairs, and many other procedures provided to strays or unwanted pets which then led to a healthy life and adoption. This is a very deserving nonprofit with all the right goals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None at this time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

I began volunteering for CAS last October after reading about the progress CAS had made toward becoming a "No Kill" shelter. I have participated in several events: dog walking at the shelter, sharing hurricane preparedness information with the community, an outreach to the North Charleston community with free rabies and distemper vaccines and the Summer Slam.

The staff has been most kind and helpful to me. Their dedication to the homeless animals is amazing. The remain courteous and cheerful no matter how busy they are. And I have thoroughly enjoyed interacting with the volunteers.

I can't enter high kill shelters. It is too depressing. No so at CAS. There is an air of optimism here even though there is much work left to do. CAS does an amazing job for the Charleston, SC community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think this organization runs pretty smoothly.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

The best part of my day is volunteering at CAS! The facility is far superior than any other I've seen, with great staff. Just the fact that CAS is no kill makes me want to support them. They care for and adopt out THOUSANDS of animals per year. Even as a volunteer, you have to go through orientation and an interview. I can't even begin to express how much I believe in Charleston Animal Society!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I could donate thousands of dollars, I would!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014

more

June 26, 2014

I have only been volunteering at Charleston Animal Society for a short while, but I cannot begin to express how many hard working and compassionate staff members I have met. I have volunteered at other shelters and this one exceeds every one in so many ways. It is the highlight of my week to help out there and see these precious babies get adopted because of all of the hard work everyone is doing. They all deserve a chance!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014

more

June 26, 2014

Working as a Voleenteer (Foster Parent) at the Charleston Animal Society has been one of the most rewarding things I have ever done. There is no doubt that animals come first at this shelter. The amazing group of people that work here go far beyond any expectations in helping out in any way possible to save lives and make a no kill shelter possible. After over a year of being a foster voleenteer I have noticed the staff listens openly to any suggestions, go to any extreme to help provide answers, and will even cry along beside you if you lose a pet. I have never seen a place more dedicated and loving to each animal in the community. It is an honor to be apart of CAS and watch the amazing effect it has had on all the animals that come through the door. If you want to help just one rescue out this is the place to come to...it will not only save that animal but make it a continued reality that all animals are worth saving!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Call for more people in community to voleenteer!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014

more

June 26, 2014

I have been involved with several nonprofits in my life and have never seen one with the dedication to mission and outcomes as the Charleston Animal Society. Their determination to become a No Kill shelter is amazing. They have an amazing presence in our community and deserve every recognition available, not only for the services they provide to deserving pets, but as an example to all nonprofits, whatever their mission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

share their love with a homeless animal. Volunteer