Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
7 Reviews
1234.857145
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 2, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 2, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

i have done quite a bit of research into this organization and some things about their approach are very unique. They started out by looking at what was wrong with charities in general and addressing those issues (transparency, accountability, engagement, embracing technology). On top of that water is oen of the bigest if not the biggest issue facing the world today. It has tremendous ripple effects on a group of people.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 13, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 13, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Charity: Water has provided a cost effective way to combat one of the most serious and solvable problems in the world today. I spent quite a bit of time researching this group before we donated and everything looks in order. The work done per dollar is almost unmatched in the world of charities today, it really makes me happy to think that $20 could make a noticeable multi-year impact on another person. The cost effectiveness of the organization is demonstrated on Charity Navigator (http://www.charitynavigator.org/index.cfm?bay=search.summary&orgid=12548) where we see an 87+% efficiency (money that goes to actual program expenses) and an excellent transparency rating. I also think that showing the locations of all their projects is an excellent exercise in donor transparency and demonstrating impact (see "Proving It": http://www.charitywater.org/projects/map/).

Concerning our personal experience: My wife and I sponsored a well (more info: http://www.charitywater.org/donate/sponsor-a-project) and Charity: Water has kept in touch with hand written letters and additional status reports on the project we helped fund. The ground-work is being completed for a well in India as we speak.

This may be my very favorite charity as an "Impact Investor". For people looking to save lives and provide quality of life in exchange for dollars I recommend Chairty: Water, perhaps above all others.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
October 22, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

I have been volunteering for Charity Water for five years and they are a top notch organization. They are very prudent with their expenses and use an extensive volunteer base whenever possible. I have worked for dozens of other charities throughout the years and Charity Water is hands down the best experience I have had with non-profits.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I just found out about this charity through my professor at the University. It is actually amazing what people can achieve if they have access to water. Congratulations to founder and would try to find some ways to help.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 22, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 22, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

When I found out that charity:water received a four star rating from Charity Navigator, it came as no surprise. This charity is the most diligent, transparent and accountable organization that I know. Not only that, they really are sincere and compassionate about their cause.

A few things
that really stand out to me about charity:water -

Their Cause - We all experience hunger and the cold of winter, and when it comes to charities, those are the types we easily connect with. Clean water, on the other hand, is something we have never had to go without and often times forget that it's a luxury that a billion people don't have. charity:water reminds us this and how something so simple, can save so many lives.

Transparency - Their split funding model lets me know that every dollar I donate or raise will go to providing clean water to people. And now, with their new Dollars to Projects program, I'll be able to see exactly which water project my donations help make happen. I really like this because with most charities you never really know the true impact of your donations, but with charity:water I do.

Engagement - I love how charity:water engages their donors. After I did a campaign on mycharitywater.org I felt as if I was a part of charity:water and not just a donor. I think they go out of their way to make their campaign fundraisers feel appreciated. I really liked the thank you videos they did at http://www.youtube.com/user/charitywaterthanks

All in all, this is great organization filled with people passionate about what they do.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing how my donations helped the Bayaka tribe of Central African Republic get clean and safe drinking water.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

partner with other charities that have similar goals so that they could spread their culture of transparency and dedication.

September 21, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 21, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

This organization sets the gold standard for raising money for a cause, period. On top of that, they have laser sharp focus on their mission: To bring clean water to the world. Donations are tracked specifically to each well or piece of equipment purchased. Their staff is full of creative ideas - and they have fun at work!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My non-profit NGO has partnered with Charity:water. www.LiquidWater.com

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think they are already making the changes needed to build more wells, by also investing in drilling equipment!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

What is unique about this organization?

Tracking of donations to specific projects, and percentage of donations which go to program.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 10, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 10, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

Hey, these folks are doing great work bringing clean and safe drinking water to people in developing nations.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've seen some photos, video and GPS coordinates plotted in GoogleEarth to prove the wells they built.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them raise awareness of the water crisis through their events, fund-raising exhibitions and other public awareness campaigns.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers