Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.972975
Write A Review
November 1, 2014

more

November 1, 2014

Characters of Character is a wonderful non-profit childrens character education program.

The passion that is put into this program shows in the faces of all the children that it helps.

It is a pleasure to volunteer for such a good organization.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

We need Characters of Character in every curriculum! Great program!
October 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Have know Joni and family for many years. She is very passionate about her work, and not only talks the talk; but, does the walk too!
October 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Characters of Character offers a variety of services and tools to everyone-from teachers to parents to social workers- to help them instill core values into children. As a volunteer for the organization from the very beginning I have seen the impact that the Characters have on children and how easy the Characters make it for children to relate to them. They provide an outlet for children of all ages to express themselves in a positive manner!
October 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Teaching our children strong core values is essential today and I cant think of a more engaging, empowering and effective way to teach our children than with the Characters of Character. I've witnessed so many kids hugging, talking and understanding the characters at so many community events, classroom visits, fundraisers, libraries and more. I've witnessed parents and educators alike thanking Joni the creator for working so hard on sharing her organization, characters, books, curriculum, posters, games and knowledge to help teach our children good character. Nothing makes Joni happier than helping our children to understand these character;, Behavior Bear, Do'er Duck, Friendship Frog, Healthy Hippo, Manners Monkey, Respectful Rabbit, Responsible Rabbit, Self-Esteem Elephant and Warm-Hearted would love to meet you, too!
October 25, 2014

more

October 25, 2014

The Characters of Character program founded by Ms. Joni Downey has been a great tool in teaching our young preschool children about good manners, good character and healthy habits for life. We have enjoyed several visits by "Manners Monkey" or "Behavior Bear" and the children loved it. Ms. Joni exemplifies professionalism and great character in all she does. I highly recommend her program and positive message for our young children. It is greatly needed in a world where there is so much negativity, bullying and violence. The "Characters of Character" is a must for all early childhood educators and young families.
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

Met Joni in Schaumburg at a children's convention. Wonderful lady, wonderful organization! Got the Let's Be books. Kids love them!
October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Characters of Character is by far the greatest organization to teach kids from right to wrong, never giving up, be respectful, self esteem, health, ... So much more! The kids can interact with the characters and learn so much at the same time. It's a great feeling seeing all the kids being so focused on what Joni has to say about each character and so much good comes out of it. I love this non profit organization!
October 20, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 27, 2014

I home school my children and when they were introduced to the characters in "Characters of Character", they responded so well; they looked forward in practicing what each Character portray. My kids ... more

October 20, 2014

I am a home school mom. My children love the Characters and what a fun way to teach them all kinds of great values!
Thank you, Characters of Character!
June 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I home school my children and when they were introduced to the characters in "Characters of Character", they responded so well; they looked forward in practicing what each Character portray. My kids love to show off what they have learned and I can see they are proud to do what is right. I am proud to see my children re-act so positively to the teachings that "Characters of Character" have brought to my home.
Thank you, Characters, we love you!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make sure that every school had access to this program to help the generations with what it has been missing for a long time...character qualities.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 20, 2014

more


1 previous review
January 9, 2014

I had the honor of meeting with Joni and her Characters of Character. I got to see first hand the powerful impact that these characters have on children and even put a big smile on adults faces! She s... more

October 20, 2014

I was working at an elementary school that Joni first introduced her Characters of Character. I saw first hand how enthusiastic her approach was and how excited the children were to learn about them. In a world where it seems like values and simple manners are disappearing, it is so nice to know that somewhere our children are learning these valuabled life lessons. I truly believe every child should experience this program, they will surely benef
January 9, 2014

I had the honor of meeting with Joni and her Characters of Character. I got to see first hand the powerful impact that these characters have on children and even put a big smile on adults faces! She shared her struggles financially with printing, marketing and attending exhibits with her program which makes sense. I don't understand why funding is so difficult to obtain for such a good caucse. Don't let this worthy, reputable and hard working organization fall by the way side, they make a difference!
Elaine

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hope they could exhibit and share more of their materials with others.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

dress in costume and help with community events Volunteer