Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
1234.965
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
June 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Joni Downey and Characters of Character are a bright light and a breath of fresh air. With all the influences of reality TV and other changes in society, Joni and CFC instill solid values and learning that will last children for a life-time. The characters are a delight, and Joni's commitment to impacting the lives of children and working with parents and educators is without peer. Joni and COC should be in every school, in every state throughout the nation. I am fully convinced that lives and families have been touched and changed in a positive way due to the activities and programs of Characters of Character and Joni Downey.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it certain that it was available to every school and every family.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My daughter was doing a pageant and needed a platform. She was looking for a nonprofit organization that she could use for the platform. She was so excited when she found Characters of Character. She firmly believes that these characteristics need to be taught to children and what a fun way to do it, using the fun characters. She loved her year as Miss Roy (Roy, UT), and talking to the schools about the program. She was proud to represent this organization. Thanks Joni Downey for all your support!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Being a doctor, I see patients of different ages. I will say that kids these days DON'T have the discipline and the morals that were instilled in me when I was a kid. Upon hearing about Characters of Character, I applaud Joni's determination to provide an avenue for kids to learn these skills and morals in a fashion that they can relate to. As we all know, these things are taught at a young age by our parents. But if they aren't getting taught this at home, where will they get exposed to it? Three words: Characters of Character. This program is helping develop the future of our society.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have them do this program at every school.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I home school my children and when they were introduced to the characters in "Characters of Character", they responded so well; they looked forward in practicing what each Character portray. My kids love to show off what they have learned and I can see they are proud to do what is right. I am proud to see my children re-act so positively to the teachings that "Characters of Character" have brought to my home.
Thank you, Characters, we love you!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make sure that every school had access to this program to help the generations with what it has been missing for a long time...character qualities.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am not only a board member of characters of character but an educator who uses characters of character to teach children about good character traits. I use all the characters in my classroom to gain interest and trust from my student's. We have discussions about the characters and their traits. The cuteness of the characters attracts my students and they don't even realize their learning character education. I can't think of another character education curriculum that can impact and teach my student's these life-changing traits. I encourage my students to model the character traits. It's so enlightening when I hear children discussing these traits without any teacher instruction. This is how I know the characters and their traits are reaching my student's. It is not rare to hear shout outs of "Do'er Duck Never Gives Up!" in our classroom.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Implement it into every classroom!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 9, 2014

more

January 9, 2014

I had the honor of meeting with Joni and her Characters of Character. I got to see first hand the powerful impact that these characters have on children and even put a big smile on adults faces! She shared her struggles financially with printing, marketing and attending exhibits with her program which makes sense. I don't understand why funding is so difficult to obtain for such a good caucse. Don't let this worthy, reputable and hard working organization fall by the way side, they make a difference!
Elaine

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hope they could exhibit and share more of their materials with others.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Joni introduced animals as "Characters of Character" to me several years ago. Each animal professes a simple memorable message that address conditions that affect our pre and primary grade school children and their families. I have several of the Characters posted in my office. My colleagues at work are captured by the Characters and often comment: ..."just what I need", ..."my grandkids would love this",..."this should be in my child's classroom". When children visit my office, some immediately recognize the animals; with a little encouragement from a supportive adult the learning process continues for the child. Each animal has a message and children are asked to tell us the message. The method and environment in which the message is conveyed can play an important role in support of parents and teachers. I am sincere in my belief that "Characters of Character" can improve conditions that affect our youth and can lead to the realization of positive outcomes in the development of our youth. I am a parent/grandparent. My grandkids recognize the Characters and the messages that they "tell them"! Philip (IL Dept. of Human Svcs.)

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Hosting Characters of Character at our bookstore is always a joy. The children love meeting the character and the parents are thrilled with the programming and what their children are able to take away.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 15, 2012

more

July 15, 2012

After learning about Healthy Hippo, my kids think twice about saying "NO" to their vegetables! These characters have a simple way of engaging children into good choices, we love the CHARACTERS! Kole and Paige's mom

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 15, 2012

more

July 15, 2012

"AWESOME" describes the program best, for the kids, parents, teachers and community at large. We need more "Characters of Character."

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers