Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
September 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Change a Life Uganda is an outstanding organization that I whole heartedly support and endorse. I became aware of of CALU in late 2011, and began volunteering with in early 2012. They are doing Tremendous work in an area of the world that badly needs all the help that can be provided. My family sponsors a child at the St. Lawrence Primary School and has recently been updated on her progress via letter and e-mail. It is GREAT feeling to know that you can help so much by giving so little. Thanks to Change A Life Uganda my family and I have been able to help those less fortunate get a step up out of poverty. Please support this wonderful organization!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more Help, because the problems they face are so BIG!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I became involved in Change a Life Uganda in 2008 when I accompanied Jean & Dave to Uganda along with my daughter and several others. I learned first-hand what living in a third world country was really like. I got to meet both children whom I sponsored -- a girl who was orphaned as a result of AIDS and a boy who was from a single parent home. What this organization has accomplished in the few short years of its existence is phenomenal. All people involved in Change a Life Uganda deserve kudos for their tireless efforts on behalf of the clients they serve.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to get more assistance in the management of the organization. All are volunteers, and this is a very time consuming effort.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I support ChangeALife Uganda because of the quality and integrity of the people involved and the intensity of their belief in the cause of the organization. Their hands-on approach means there are no "middlemen" interpreting intentions or diverting needed funds. ChangeALife Uganda has made incredible progress in a short period of time, and is poised for even more. These changes include bringing better education to hundreds of children who otherwise would not receive it, providing microfinance opportunities at below-market interest rates to reach those who could not afford a standard bank loan, and providing healthcare where it once was, for all purposes, non-existent. Best of all, these are not "one-shot" efforts, ChangeALife is focused on long-term change and the sustainability of that change. Working with ChangeALife has been an exciting and rewarding experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Enhance its social media capabilities.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Jean and I went to Uganda to see how we could help as part of another organization. we came back with a mission. When we looked at the model that existed we realized that the model would work in only a limited way and would not lead to self sustanability. the model Father Lawrence designed with the input of our Ugandan staff is sustainable and the changes we seen can be dupicated. Education is the starting point which porvided us to change our lives. I am so excited to see the children and their families progress each year. Our most important challenge is to get the water project done so that santation and health can be achieved. With the help of so many caring folks and the local know how we should see that dream come true. this organization grows presents a personal model that works. What a gift to those working for it the sponors and those getting a chance to suceed through the generous support of our donors

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Bring more volunteers on board to help in the USA there are many helping in Uganda

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

CALU has been a part of our lives at The Rumson Country Day School for over 5 years and I have patiently waited for my opportunity to go to Uganda and make a personal connection with the people with whom we are working. I could not have imagined how deeply this experience would affect me. The faces of " my children" resonate every moment of the day and I am always thinking of ways that I can help them to reach their potential. My days "in country" were life- changing and I find myself bombarding anyone who will listen with stories and observations about our experience. I am profoundly moved by the grace with which the Ugandans face their lives; embracing their significant challenges with a dignity that is seemingly impossible. Our school and our clinic in Migyera bring opportunity to the community and the completion of the water project will improve the quality of their lives beyond measure. For many years, I have worked in the field of human rights, but my experiences in Uganda provided a clear and powerful understanding of the human crises that exist in our world. I now look at my world in NJ with a new clarity and appreciation for all that we have and I plan to work with a determination to make the world a better place for our friends in Uganda.

Jane Robins Denny
Director of Community Service
The Rumson Country Day School

Director of Education
Chhange
Center for Holocaust, Human Rights and Genocide Education
At Brookdale Community College

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add more Funding and Manpower to this wonderful Organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

In 2012, I was invited by Change A Life Uganda to visit the medical clinic they were funding. July 4 was opening day! I was there to assess the clinic's needs. It was a rewarding trip and I was impressed by how much can get accomplished by a small group of dedicated individuals. I was hooked. In fact I have committed myself to helping the people of Mygeera and am now the medical chair of CALU :)

I look forward to going back in 2014. There is so much more that has to be done.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I had the pleasure of accompanying Jean, Dave and the CALU team to Uganda this summer. My wife, Dr. Evelyn R. Wells, was making her 3rd trip to Uganda while Judith, Timmy and I were making our first visit to the "Pearl of Africa". While my wife worked with the clinical staff and teachers my children and I were given the opportunity to teach Chess to the students of St. Joseph's Primary School in Nabbingo and St. Lawrence Primary School in Migyera. We also had a group of local Secondary School students in Migyera stop by to join us for a few lessons at St. Lawrence to bring our Student population to 33 Learners (Plus 7 Teachers) from 3 different Schools participating in our "Change for Chess/Chess for Change" Program. It FAR exceeded my expectations, and I am very proud of everyone involved with the Program. We also had the opportunity to meet our "Sponsored Daughter", Sylvia and members of her family at their home. It was an eye-opening experience to see the distance she had to walk each day to and from school. This led to our decision to board her at school both for her safety and her school standing.
To say that this was a life-changing experience would be an UNDERSTATEMENT!! Our time with the Students, especially Sylvia & those in our Chess Classes, and visits to their homes gave my family and I a look into how the people of Uganda live in comparison to what we see here in US. It was amazing to see how happy people with so little can be. The kids were all happy and outgoing and so interested in everything we did. I can't wait to return and see how everyone is doing. I HIGHLY recommend Change A Life Uganda as an organization you trust and work with to help the Children of Uganda!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only thing CALU needs is a little more manpower. Jean & Dave are spread a little thin, so please consider sharing your time by volunteering for this wonderful organization!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers