Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
45 Reviews
1234.866675
Write A Review
October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

By focusing on capital markets, the small, sharp team at Ceres has tremendous leverage. As a supporter, I can hardly imagine getting more bang for my dollar. This is an organization that's worth knowing.
October 26, 2014

more

October 26, 2014

Ceres work with Corporations, especially investors, is playing a unique role in the Climate transition to Clean Energy. Bringing the risks of continued investment in long-term fossil infrastructure and resources is one of the most important approaches to creating this change … change that requires doing things in a very different way.

Ceres work is unique and incredibly important.
October 26, 2014

more

October 26, 2014

Sustainability is no longer a pastime for armchair intellectuals. It is slowly but surely assuming a major role in the healthy continuance of life on earth.
As the science of the art of prevailing on the adversity of collaborating opposites, sustainability aims at creating a
mutually participatory Cause ⇄ Effect platform of cre­ative de­struction, of out-of-equilibrium, “middle-out” homeostatic adaptive trade-off between allocat­ion and growth, supervised by a source-moderated utilization of Nature. Being a inter- and intra-disciplinary issue with deep and interactive roots in thermodynamics, chaos, complexity and nonlinearity, understanding and appreciation of sustainability calls for much more than neighbourhood get-togethers. It is in this spirit that organizations like Ceres assume defining significance in the propagation, patronage, well-being, and growth of a less-than-intuitive paradigm that sustainability represents.
Sustainability is an out-of-equilibrium phase of Nature, supported by "life" and land-marked by "birth" and "death", much more indeed beyond Brundtland. Newtonian reductionism that we acquire --- and pass onto future generations --- fail to address these issues except for the obviously trivial. In situations such as these begging paradigmatic shift in our attitude to and relationship with the mainstream, dedicated support of organizations like Ceres with the capacity, potency and fortitude to address complex issues are inevitably needed.
Sustainability is much more than rallies, demonstrations, politicians, corporates, climate change, and green economy, important as these might well be. They cannot be substitutes for the analysis-debate-synthesis dialectic of the academia, of a nascent science of the 21st century awaiting a much-needed take-off. Without an academic foundation, it is unlikely to graduate from the present polemical state to the class-room where it rightly belongs.
Ceres, I believe, is uniquely positioned with its rich and varied background of a quarter century, to play the proverbial role of a facilitator and negotiator between academic and corporate social responsibility worlds (and the state) to foster a beneficial homeostasis that either on its own cannot hope to achieve.
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

CERES SENSITIZES US TO THE ISSUES THAT MATTER FOR THE PLANET AND HAS DONE A GOOD JOB WITH WATER AND MANY OTHER ISSUES. I BELIEVE ALL NON PROFITS IN THE SUSTAINABILITY SPACE CAN LEARN FROM CERES ON HOW TO DEEPEN KNOWLEDGE ON KEY SUBJECTS.
RAVI FERNANDO

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I discovered Ceres over a year ago and I have been telling my friends about it ever since. Ceres offers big companies an opportunity to work profitably toward sustainability. And, reading about its endeavors Ceres has spurred me to begin converting my investments to sustainable ones. As a member of Citizens Climate Lobby, Ceres gives me an important viewpoint as I work toward influencing members of our government to put an increasing tax on carbon based fuel at their source and return all dividends to the citizens through the IRS (revenue neutral). Anne Bachner
October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

As founder and chair of the small non profit company Budgets of Care Limited I have both used the example of, and information from, CERES to grow our influence and understanding within our own community.

I am particularly delighted with CERES influence on many large investor organisations
and how they encourage the use of capital for the betterment of businesses throughout the world.

They are certainly one of the most important forces that is help bringing about what Tellus calls the "Great Transition".
October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

I am an unpaid lobbyist for nuclear energy, and watched Ceres, Mindy Lubber, hosting the UN Climate Investor Summit 2015. The conference was well organised with experts in climate science, insurance risk and fiduciary duty - to name a few. Discussing divestment from fossil fuel as a means to mitigate climate change from rising carbon emissions. Moreover, the conference was but one of a series of many more to come, so that governments of the world will not only recognise carbon emissions must be reduced, but commit to investment in 'clean' technologies such as nuclear energy, hydro, solar, and battery storage. Moreover, the conference addressed the need for global inequality and the need for poor countries to be funded for their economies and standard of living to improve. The link to watch this event - part 1 & 2. http://www.ceres.org/investor-network/investor-summit --- A vote of support for Ceres is essentially, a vote to save the planet, a vote for clean air, a vote for your children's, children. There are many worthy non-profits out there that need support. If there were one specifically for Ebola, that would be a global priority as well. But now, we need most of the worlds cooperation and it is Ceres who has managed to pull together most of the worlds attention. Time is not on our side, and if Ceres didn't already exist, the world is be serious trouble. Make our home, Earth, your first priority. People all over the world need their help - and that's what they are more than capable of giving. Sincerely, d'O'yle
October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

If you're looking to improve climate outcomes, Ceres is simply the best team to bet on.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

The Ceres Roadmap to Sustainability offers a demanding, but practical and achievable set of expectations for a diverse set of stakeholders who can make sustainability mainstream. The Ceres team knows how to persevere and engage different communities, investors, business, citizens in order to accomplish their mission of advancing a low-carbon, clean energy future.
October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

In June 2013, Ceres came to Toronto, Canada to run a first ever workshop to bring together the insurance industry and many infrastructure providers to develop a better understanding of how to manage risks associated with climate change. This was a highly effective meeting which resulted in new communication amongst stakeholders and at least one major specific initiative, which is an agreement to develop resilient buidling guidelines. The staff were very professional in their work and as a City of Toronto staff member working on the issue of resilience to extreme weather associated with climate change, I would be quick to collaborate with Ceres again on the climate resilience issue as it affects Toronto.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers