Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
65 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

Few organizations provide the beneficial effects for their community that the CERES Project can claim today. From the nutritional aid to medical patients and their families, to the educational aspects of its outreach to teenagers who, in the process, learn good habits of food selection and preparation, the positive influences are unquestionable.

For the adult volunteers, the sense of fulfillment is most satisfying. I truly look forward to starting the week on Monday mornings at CERES, chopping gorgeous vegetables with new-found friends in a warm and welcoming atmosphere. The fact that the Ceres concept is spreading elsewhere in the US could not be more heart-warming to me!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep up the great work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 29, 2013

more

September 29, 2013

The Ceres organization is so much more than feeding those with health challenges. It lovingly nourishes all that come into contact with this amazing organization. Whole communities are better for having a Ceres.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 28, 2013

more

September 28, 2013

My sister was served CERES meals all summer. We looked forward to Fridays when the meals would be happily delivered, along with a handful of sweet flowers. I help bring them in and organize them ("eat first"), put the menu on the fridge and flowers in water. What struck me from day one was the caliber and quality of the food provided. These are restaurant-quality meals! Packaged in durable, easily stackable, easily washable NICELY LABELED containers!

Being a convert to the plant-based nutrition lifestyle, I am REALLY bowled over by the FRESHNESS and quality of each little tiny diced ingredient. I feel like I am eating at Greens (no lie). CERES food delivery service was a God-send to our family, and made a meaningful impact on the well being of this family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

EXPAND IT TO OTHER AREAS!! (Specifically the Peninsula)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 28, 2013

more

September 28, 2013

Ceres is an incredible organization that serves those facing health challenges by providing them with delicious, nutritious and beautiful food. Our teens, guided by our gifted staff and adult mentors, are the heart of Ceres. They learn the importance of good nutritional choices, taking care of the earth, giving to others, kitchen skills, gardening, teamwork, leadership, and the positive impact they make in our community through their volunteer work. There are also classes for clients and the community teaching good nutrition. We have a fantastic cookbook. And beautiful, productive gardens. The impact of this work is far-reaching, life-changing and vitally important and is done with great love. It is an honor to support Ceres financially and as a volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

Ceres has a multlayered impact on our communities. First, it gives Teens a way to learn about healthy alternatives for nutrition, how to prepare healthy meals and be good team members. In addition it gives them a way of seeing how their volunteerism can impact individuals in a life changing way.
Next, it serves by supplying families dealing with life threatening illness and recovery with healthy meals during critical periods. This service is life changing for those families. And finally, by educating the community about the importance of healthy food preparation it contributes to the well being of the entire community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It is the most well run non profit organization that I have every witnessed. I would only hope that their model can be replicated across the Nation.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
June 28, 2011

I started as a delivery angel for Ceres and am still delivering organic, nutrient dense meals to our clients who are dealing with life threatening illnesses 2+ years later. It is one of the highlights... more

September 27, 2013

The impact Ceres is making in our community is amazing. I am a board member but I have also been delivering meals for over 4 years. Each and every week I see the gratitude first hand from our clients. We are truly making a difference in their lives not to mention the difference we are making in the lives of our teen volunteers. They are being empowered in so many ways. They are learning cooking and nutrition skills and they are witnessing what a difference their involvement is making in their community and in the lives of our clients.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2011

I started as a delivery angel for Ceres and am still delivering organic, nutrient dense meals to our clients who are dealing with life threatening illnesses 2+ years later. It is one of the highlights of my week. Our clients are so grateful and I am so inspired by their courage and what a difference good nutrition makes in their recovery.

The teens chefs are also an amazing part of the Ceres project. Teens from high schools throughout our county come into our kitchen and with adult mentor chefs make this amazing food. The teens are learning the importance of good nutrition and cooking as well as how important it is to give back to the community. When a client comes into the kitchen to personally thank the teens for the meals it is a very moving experience for the teens.

The big hearts in this organization are amazing. Everyone from the staff, volunteers, and clients have very big hearts. It is what keeps me coming back for more. Spending time with amazing people, doing something that is truly helping people recover and reclaim their lives.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

As someone who helps coordinate some of the delivery angels I am always so happy when I find out one of our delivery angels was a former client!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There are so many more people in need. There are 3,000 people diagnosed with cancer every year in our community and we are only serving the tip of the iceberg. I wish we had the capacity to feed more clients.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I can't think of anything at this time.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Volunteering for Ceres makes me realize just what a difference nutrition can make in someone's life, not to mention how easy it is to spend a little time with our clients and open my heart and listen. I was afraid I would be too emotional to deliver food to our clients but I have found a strength while still being able to be warm and compassionate. I lost my father to cancer to 15 years ago so cancer does hit close to home.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I feel like part of a wonderful family- the Ceres family.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 19, 2010

Towards the end of 2008 I was reflecting on how I wanted to volunteer in the upcoming year. I realized I wanted to volunteer for an organization that fed my heart and soul. Lucky for me I found the Ceres Community Project and have been involved for the last 18 months. Being a delivery angel is so rewarding. To be in the presence of our clients, seeing their courage and listening to them open up about what they are dealing with is so heart warming and humbling. Our clients stay with us in our hearts and thoughts-they are amazing people. To hear time after time how our meals have literally saved their lives, allowed them to put their energy towards their healing. It's a blessing to be part of this project.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

As a delivery angel I see our clients in many different phases of their illness. To see a client come through this & beat it knowing that the nutritious meals made by our teens & adults with such love has been part of this process-well it's simply amazing

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

I have been a volunteer mentor chef and board member for over four years for this extraordinary organization that is changing lives in profoundly positive ways. From the teens who learn to cook, eat healthy food and discover that they can make a huge difference In others's lives, to the most vulnerable people and their families in our community receiving nutritious life- giving meals when they need it the most, Ceres is a model for what a great truly game changing nonprofit can be.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to raise more money so they could transform more lives in our community!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

As a donor, I feel confident that my financial contributions will be used wisely to grow the organization and provide nourishing meals for our seriously ill community members. I am confident that Ceres is extremely well managed.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

I have been associated with the Ceres Community Project since its inception. I didn't think it would ever become the organization it has developed into. Serving thousands of meals to those in need and wrapping the meal with a sense of community goes far beyond just a food delivery program.
Helping "sprout" other Ceres Project based organizations around the country is another reason this dynamic nonprofit goes beyond the norm.
September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

I could not have stumbled across a better organization to support if I had tried! There are plenty of programs that provide meals to those in need and are often bedbound, homebound or can't otherwise prepare nutritious meals for themselves. But Ceres is the first I've come to know as including teens in the active preparation of the meals, as well as help tend the garden that provides much of fresh produce incorporated into the meals. The teens gain valuable skills in both food prep and interpersonal relationships working in teams in the Ceres professional kitchen. They also earn necessary Community Service credit through their respective high schools. And to watch the teens work together on a common goal--and knowing how that experience will help mold the rest of their lives--is just amazing! This isn't a program for troubled teens (although some may be), but I would wish this opportunity for EVERY community where you just know this environment would go a long way in changing the course of many young lives!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes, per se, just would wish Ceres all the success in raising the funds necessary to help other U.S. communities replicate the program! They've already worked with many, but there are many, many more waiting their turn, I'm sure!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers