Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
78 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
December 1, 2014

more

December 1, 2014

After being part of this amazing project, in its ever flowing kitchens for three years now I can honestly say Ceres has changed my life for the better. Once just another teenage girl, Ceres has given me more motivation than I ever could inspire without it. I now have a life path I hope to take and achieve as much and more as Ceres has in my own career. Realizing what helping others can do for the self has been an amazing gift. I hope I never have to stop being part of something so powerful as cooking goof food for a community who loves and appreciates it.
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I've begun volunteering as part of the Ceres Project and am astonished, not surprised but overwhelmed, by the clear organization of the program, how volunteers know exactly what to do because it's so simply laid out, even as Ceres grows so fast that all the people who work and volunteer will be stretched. I have confidence both creative and realistic solutions will be found. I just hope that more and more people who previously had few opportunities to eat the nourishing great food that Ceres offers will have the chance to be nourished as Ceres can nourish. Barbara
October 27, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 27, 2011

I am so impressed with Ceres. The mission and true sincerity to help clients who have cancer (and other illnesses) to boost their immune system, provide meals for them and their family and to provide ... more

October 27, 2014

Ceres seems to be the most pure of mission of any organization I have known. They really are all about bringing healthy, healing, nutritious food to people in need and teaching the teens about good food, cooking, gardening and giving. As a volunteer, it is a privilege to be a part of helping people in need and there is much I have learned along the way, which I really appreciate. I have been volunteering as a liaison and kitchen helper for about three years.
Connie Bowen
June 27, 2011

I am so impressed with Ceres. The mission and true sincerity to help clients who have cancer (and other illnesses) to boost their immune system, provide meals for them and their family and to provide and educate them about many other resources is such a benefit. And they are teaching teenagers to cook these meals that are delivered to clients. Ceres has HUGE support from the community, volunteers and the city of Sebastopol because they are so pure in their mission. And then there is the educational component. The clients get some education as do the volunteers and it is an impressive resource of knowledge about organic, immune boosting foods and herbs. And there are classes. I am happy to volunteer because I can see so clearly the enormous benefit and love they extend to clients who are very much in need.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

hearing the incredible gratitude from clients. When you are very ill, to have someone cook and deliver healthy, immune boosting meals to the client and family for free for 12 weeks minimum and to offer other support is huge.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't know of any changes I would make. They do an amazing job with a few dedicated employees and a host of volunteers. The emphasis is always taking the best possible care of the clients within their means.

October 26, 2014

more

October 26, 2014

Over the last three years I have watched Ceres grow, and I have been growing myself. I have become a more confident cook and a strong leader becuase of my involvement with Ceres. I have taken on the role of teen leader and am now serving as a youth board member, these unique oppurtuinites have made me stretch and change in ways I had not known I was able to. Ceres is a wonderful organization that has blessed the lives of countless indivuals, and I feel so lucky to be a part of this wonderful community.
October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

Ceres is one of the most well organized and managed organizations I have been involved with. All donors should rest easy that their financial donation will work as hard as possible for those who benefit from Ceres wonderful efforts!
October 11, 2014

more

October 11, 2014

I have been volunteering in the kitchen and garden for two and a half year's and my love for Ceres has only grown. Cooking with all of the amazing chefs, and gardening with Sara has made me want to persue the culinary arts.
October 10, 2014

more

October 10, 2014

Ceres is a remarkable program. I'm a physician and I see the link between health and healthy eating, especially when battling serious illness. But Ceres does so much more than simply provide nutritious, delicious meals. Connecting people to the community gives them hope and strength, and then when you layer on the youth volunteer program which helps the teens develop their own sense of community giving as well as healthy eating habits you wind up with incredible synergy that improves the present and promises a better future. I am continually amazed at what Ceres is able to accomplish and very proud to be associated with the organization.
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

When I delivered a meal to a client's house I was really moved by the client's reaction. In a few minutes I learned how consumed they were with worrying about treatments, nausea and test results and the ever-present and oppressive fatigue. It was clear how worrying about something like food - let alone a nutritious meal - was far from their mind. Being able to lift a burden for that family in some small way was incredibly moving. Ceres makes that possible for thousands of people a year.
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

I remember not really being excited about going but my mom asked me to at least just try one day and if it didn't work out then no harm done. Coming home afterwards I was on the biggest high of enthusias, I could not stop smiling or talking about it. That was two almost 3 years ago. In that time I've gained a confidence in leadership, task management, and a way to be in a industrial kitchen setting which has given me a leg up when it came for me to get a job in customer service and catering. All the people in the kitchen are awesome to work with and just be yourself around, the adults listen and hold such a wonderful space for you to step into new roles and help you grow in every way possible, the teens are happy and bring their own strengths to each task (even on their first day). I can say with no doubt that if I hadn't come across Ceres I would not come close to the person I am today.
October 3, 2014

more

October 3, 2014

Ceres provided food for my family and me when I was going through treatments and healing from breast cancer nearly two years ago. Ceres is one of those amazing organizations that sincerely make a holistic impact in healing. I was nourished, supported by my community, and found ways to engage in my life again after treatments through becoming a member of the board of directors.
Being ill can be very isolating, and it was hard for me to give up my activism in the community. Even though I couldn't actively be a part of my community in the way I was accustomed to while I was going through treatments, I felt so connected to my community through the Ceres Project. Because of Ceres, I knew there were people in my community who cared about what I was going through and wanted to help make a difference in my healing. The fact that I didn't know these people and they didn't know me is even more impactful. Everyone one from the teen volunteers who grow, harvest, prepare, and cook to the delivery angels who brought us food each week to the Ceres staff who took such care in their interactions with me to the donors who support Ceres; everyone was a part of my healing.
And make a difference they did! Not only was the food super delicious and nutritious, it became a cornerstone of my healing. Food is medicine. To the amazement of my oncologist, I healed very fast from the bi-lateral mastectomy and made a strong comeback after chemotherapy. I know it was the food, what I learned about food from Ceres, and my relationship with food as medicine that influenced my quick recovery.
I feel so blessed to have received the healing foods from Ceres Community Project. It moved me so much to receive this food that I felt compelled to give back. I am now serving on the Board of Directors to give voice to the client perspective and to support the beautiful community building, life-affirming impact that Ceres has in the communities it serves.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers