Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.942865
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

My parents are the patients in this clinic and we love the service there. The receptionists are very kind, the doctors model professionalism and genuine care for the patients, and the nurses are very helpful, too. I often feel that they go extra mile to help the patients. They deserve recognition of their first rate service. CVIM is truly a blessing to our community.
May 5, 2014

more

May 5, 2014

I believe that everyone is entitled to quality health care, and that is what CVIM provides for its patients. The volunteers are caring and friendly and make it a pleasure to work there. The staff is available to help with any questions. I worked as an eligibility assistant previously and now volunteer as a receptionist. I feel as though I am making a contribution to our community, and I am always learning. I just wish two things: 1) that we had universal health care in this country, and, barring that, 2) that the agency had all the money, doctors, dentists, nurses, and hygienists that it requires to serve the great community needs.

I really appreciate the opportunity to volunteer for CViM!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 26, 2014

more

April 26, 2014

I have been a receptionist at CVIM ever since it opened, and find it such a rewarding experience. I look forward to working with a truly dedicated group of people each week, and greeting the clients who frequent our clinic. Not only do we provide medical and dental services, but our case management staff offers people help in all aspects of their life, something you can't find in a private medical setting. Every community member should be aware of the great contribution our clinic makes to those in need of our services.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 26, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 14, 2013

I have been a volunteer Eligibility Assistant for CVIM for about the last seven years. The organization does an amazing job of providing medical care, dental care and social services to residents of ... more

April 26, 2014

I started volunteering for CVIM in 1966 after retiring from Penn State. I have always thought that health care for everyone is a necessity of life. Without good health people often cannot work, which leads to more poverty and illness. My experiences with the clients have made me a more compassionate person, just seeing what they are going through in their daily lives. I am honored to be a member of this amazing group of dedicated professionals and volunteers who have the best interest of their clients at heart.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ask more dentists to apply as volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 14, 2013

I have been a volunteer Eligibility Assistant for CVIM for about the last seven years. The organization does an amazing job of providing medical care, dental care and social services to residents of Centre County, PA, who constitute the "working poor". These residents typically have no medical and/or dental insurance and their income is determined by the Federal Poverty Guidelines. Medical doctors, nurses and dentists offer their services as volunteers. Some case managers volunteer their time, also. The receptionists, Eligibility Assistants, and people staffing the medicine distribution office also volunteer.

I am continually amazed at the professionalism of the office. Everyone is treated with respect and tact. I sometimes get clients who say they will be moving to another state. One young woman was moving to Florida. She assumed that she would just sign up with a free clinic there and receive the same care she was getting with us. I cautioned her that not every place has one, and that we are grateful to have this one to serve our local clients.

The atmosphere in our office is cordial and very pleasant. Everyone there seems to be on the same page when it comes to serving the clientele. I am proud to be associated with such an incredible group of people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2014

more

April 25, 2014

I have volunteered in a number of places since my semi-retirement but none has been so rewarding as CVIM. Although the work I do (Medical Records) could probably be done by a sixth grader I am so grateful that I have an opportunity to contribute in this small way to the life-changing work that CVIM does for our community. The deep commitment to serving those who cannot afford medical care and the compassion evidenced by everyone on the paid and unpaid staff is an inspiration to everyone who comes into contact with CVIM.
April 24, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
August 28, 2013

I cannot tell you how wonderful CVIM is for our community. This is not just a building or a name but a truly caring group of volunteers and professionals who are compassionate. I recently welcomed a h... more

April 24, 2014

Centre Volunteers in Medicine is a very special place! When I first started to volunteer here--after teaching for over 30 years--I was very nervous. This was something that was completely out of my comfort zone. Well, it was the best thing that I could have done not only for myself but, hopefully for others. The entire organization is composed of caring and intelligent people. It is such a happy place to be. Everyone works so hard to make life a little better for others. I am honored to be a very small part of this organization!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make a wish and we would have all the money to help all those who need help!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 28, 2013

I cannot tell you how wonderful CVIM is for our community. This is not just a building or a name but a truly caring group of volunteers and professionals who are compassionate. I recently welcomed a homeless gentleman into the office. He needed immediate care and had not yet qualified as a patient. Our entire staff did everything possible to make sure he was going to get what he needed. CVIM is a special jewel in the State College Community

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2012

No words can describe the kind ofattention that our patients receive at CVIM! The entire staff works so hard to make sure the clients are well cared for in both body and mind!! It is an honor to volunteer at CVIM. As I leave each week I know that the population in our community have a wonderful place to go for top notch medical and dental care.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 24, 2014

more

April 24, 2014

I volunteered with CVIM as a way of giving back to my community and fulfilling an elective requirement for my Masters program at PSU. This is a great organization run by intelligent, capable professionals who are using their skills to help the medically under-served of Centre County. The organization is well-managed, but depends on volunteers in order to fulfill its mission. I would highly recommend those looking for a volunteer experience to choose CVIM! You will not be disappointed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 8, 2013

more

September 8, 2013

I began volunteering for CVIM 10 years ago when they first opened for business and feel honored to be a part of an organization whose goal is serving the medical and dental needs of folks who have no other access to care. The staff and volunteers are totally dedicated and are willing to go the extra mile in improving health of our clients.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to figure out a way to persuade more physicians and dentists to volunteer their time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

Centre Volunteers in Medicine provides a needed service not filled by other agencies. In addition to direct medical and dental care, there are caseworkers who help people apply for programs they may qualify for. They also provide resources and counseling for smoking cessation. Over all, it is a well run organization, with many excellent volunteers.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

I was the the pharmacist who set up the original drug distribution segment of CVIM. During the early days I saw the clinic grow from providing care for a few hundred patients to the thousands of people
that are served today.
From a health professional point of view, it gives you the
chance to practice your profession as you
thought it would be like as you struggled through your education. You see how appreciative the people are that come through the doors. You see how other volunteers (many who had no knowledge of how
complex our healthcare system can be), grow into prominent roles.
I have seen how efficient this clinic has become, not just out of necessity, but also because it is not constrained by the world of HMO's and government intervention.
The satisfaction I have gotten from being able to give something back to the community where I have resided most of my life is immeasurable.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers