Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
1234.818185
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Center for Development Alternatives is a good organization which is doing phenomenal work. I have interacted with Mr. Jayachandran who is a visionary. The programs are mostly grass roots level with scope for training other non-profits. I wish the organization success.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

September 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Very well thought out programs - developed painstakingly from the ground up under the leadership of Jaichandran

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2002

September 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Centre for Development, its place for design and developments,place of wisdom, perfect place for think tank. sharpen your knowledge, thinking about reality, working for the right people in right manner, clarity in community.dedication, Perfect and prompt meaning for Non profit organisation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

waiting for the opportunity to make some real fruitful globalised projects, under his guidence

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am aware that, the Centre For Development Alternatives (CFDA), is a non-profit organization, has been operating in Chennai, for more than twenty years and workings towards the empowerment of women from underprivileged community. This organization has been focusing on building community based organizations and community guide projects to address poverty and social isolation issues.

I can proudly say that, I have been taught and developed by this organisation towards forming Self Help Groups and their Livelihoods Projects in a structured manner (Separate Module). I learnt many things through this organization about planning and executing the projects as success with the active participation of community. Whatever the successes are happened to me in my life, it’s only because of the approaches I learnt from the Director of this Organisation.

I personally wish and congratulate this organisation to success in their future endeavours.

A. KAMALAKKANNAN
DEPUTY MANAGER (CSR)
ULTRATECH CEMENT LIMITED
ADITYA BIRLA GROUP
REDDIPALAYAM, ARIYALUR DISTRICT. Mobile: 09443353637

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

be very usefull and thankful to them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

September 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

CFDA is one of the organizations that I have always admired for their transparency, straight forward approach and emphasis on sustainability. The self help groups that they have mentored in the outskirts of Chennai are excelling today. This is a great example of, how, a well the mentored groups would climb the path of development. It is also remembered for its documentation work on the process of group formation, micro credit, enterprise development and other training manuals.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've worked with CFDA for one month in 2011. This was an eye-opening experience. CFDA, its members and Mr Jayachandran Rajarethinam are making a difference in the local communities.

While there, working as part of IBM Corporate Service Corps, I learned about micro-banking, about India. I
was impressed by how CFDA was able to help these groups of women create their own banking system. But it is not only about how to collect money and apply for a loan, it is also about education, about empowering women. And it did not stop at these groups. When a group graduates and gains in autonomy, they are encouraged to help other communities as well, not limiting to the CFDA projects.

It is this kind of people, spirit and gestures that can change the world, one piece at time. CFDA and its team are part of the solution.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Centre for Development Alternatives and more so Mr Jayachandran Rajarethinam have helped us tremendously in Socio- Economic survey for varied multinational projects and local industries. His study has facilitated our organization to recommend a meaningful and inclusive CSR to the communities in which the Industries are situated or design a neighborhood friendly HR policies. The companies that have benefited by his insights are Tata Steel, Motorola, India Cements, Cadbury, DuPont, Kellogg and of course Centre for Excellence in Organization

His simplicity, and his humility and his LSIP( Large Scale Interactive Process) and connect with varied village panchayats, demographic and political insights will help us to understand the psyche of the community.

I always personally count on his advice

Great Community insight facilitator and those in NGO sector, Youth organisations and SHG's will also benefit by his expertise for any CBO initiatives( Community Based Organizations).

I feel it a prerogative as well as a privilege to write this commendation of an outstanding grass root work having known him from 1997 and he was introduced to us by Late Ravi,, another great community worker

S.Deenadayalan
CEO
Center for Excellence in Organization
Bangalore 85
deen@exploreceo.com

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't have an expertise to comment on this and i feel he is doing a great job and may be he could bench mark international processes in this domain

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Centre for Development Alternatives is a great organisation to work with, it is lead by noble people having rich expereince in implementing projects at the grass root levels. The Organisation is committed to create real impact on the lives of people and is driven by this thought. I have known the Chief Functionary Mr. Jayachandran from the last five years and is one of the best people I have ever met. He is a kind person, who loves to help people selflessly.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ensure that Mr. Jayachandran leads it till the time he wishes to do so

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

September 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The founder of this organisation is an excellent professional, very candid, straightforward, and invested many years in making it an organisation that is people oriented. Its biggest strength is the capacity to build organisations, empower people. I have great respect for Mr. Jayachandran and his style of work, and would trust this organisation with very good work on the ground.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Suggest donors invest in a corpus fund for the organisation, so that it can be on a more financially sustainable level, and this will help to retain staff.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I met Jayachandran and worked with CFDA in 2011, when I had the chance to cooperate with Jayachandran & CFDA through the Corporate Services Corps program (CSC).
I spent 4 weeks in Chennai and had a chance to closely work with Jayachandran & CFDA. Jayachandran's vision for better future for poor
female population in India was indeed deep and heart touching experience. His enthusiasm, as well as his knowladge and leadership skills helped numerous woman to change and significantly improve their life conditions.
I was deeply touched by the work done by Jayachandran & CFDA. Jayachandran made helping the poor community his life mission, and it was an honour for me to meet him and to work with him and CFDA.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers