Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
127 Reviews
1234.992135
Write A Review
May 6, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
January 4, 2013

With Central Virginia Horse Rescue you see exactly where your donations are going. They will ask for help with "bail" and transport for Auction horse or with other horses in dire need. They also sh... more

May 6, 2014

We have been donating to CVHR for a couple of years and will continue to do so. When they intake a new horse they evaluate what the needs are for this particular animal and work to achieve those goals so that the horse can become adoptable into a new and loving family. We feel that CVHR is a very deserving Rescue. Cindy and the volunteers are all amazing and have helped so many.
January 4, 2013

With Central Virginia Horse Rescue you see exactly where your donations are going. They will ask for help with "bail" and transport for Auction horse or with other horses in dire need. They also share out with other rescues. Which I think is in the True Spirit of Rescues. It is not the Rescues in need it is he Animals that are in Need. These animals have trusted people and ended up being starved and hurt and cast out. Thanks You to Cindy and all the Volunteers for all that they do help these Horses.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

This is a wonderful Rescue. That is why we donate to them, monthy. They use their funds wisely and help get the animals forever homes. We sometimes go to the Facebook page of Camelot Auction and we always seem to see Central Virginia Horse Rescue raising funds to pull horses from the slaughter pens that are throw aways, (We have a TROW AWAY Horse and I could not imagine our lives without this magnificent horse). They seem to always be able to save some. They get these creatures back to a livable life and then find Forever Homes for them. Please Always Adopt , horses, dogs ,cats and all animals need homes. Sure some of the animals have issues but they were not born that way… People make them that way.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 6, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 6, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have been following and donating to CVHR for several years now. Although I have not yet had the opportunity to meet Cindy, or visit the rescue in person, seeing the wonderful care given to many unfortunate horses, donkeys, etc. really touches my heart. With the knowledge and networking they do at CHVR, many other rescue organizations could learn allot from them. CVHR keeps its followers and financial supporters updated with great pictures and bios on its website and Facebook. Its always so very sad to see these horses come to the rescue pretty much starving to death...to see them come along their journey at CVHR...gaining weight, being loved, trained and valued as we are meant to do is heartwarming to say the least! I hope someday to adopt our next horse from CVHR. They do an excellent job!
May 1, 2014

more

May 1, 2014

Found CVHR through Facebook and have been following their posts ever since. They sometimes rescue horses from Camelot which I am familiar with. I have the utmost respect for everyone at this organization. It brightens my day to see via their pictures and posts what they do day in and day out to help equines in need. You can tell they are extremely transparent in everything they do and their love for these animals is evident. This is one rescue organization that I would donate to time and time again without hesitation. If I lived close by, I would be there every day to lend a hand and do whatever needed to be done. It would be a pleasure to work beside them to accomplish the amazing things that they do for these wonderful animals in need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes but would love to find a way to fundraise to support them

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 1, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

more

May 1, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

I first saw this group on Facebook through a friend. In the nearly two years since, I have been to visit twice and seen with my own eyes the miracles they perform on a daily basis, transforming starved and neglected horses inside and out into the beautiful beings they were meant to be. I donate and have also volunteered with them when I can. I truly believe in Cindy Smith, her team of volunteers, and their mission to rescue and find safe homes for horses in need. Truly angels on Earth!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


3 previous reviews - show all
May 9, 2013

It was a pleasure when I could volunteer in person, but now I am miles away.. The founder, Cindy Smith, keeps me informed with news letters and personal answers when I have a question. The open way o... more

April 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I first heard of CVHR about 3 years ago when it was just getting going well. On my first visit, I knew it was going to be special. At the time, I was in driving distance and could volunteer. Since then I have moved too far away to be there in person, but based on my personal experience, I have total confidence that my donations will be well used and continue to send what I can regularly and for special causes. Cindy keeps us all very well informed about what is happening, progress, set backs, successes and losses. It is wonderful to watch the volunteer base and donor list continue to grow. I can't say enough about the wonderful work being done for equines AND for people. Many of the rescued horses have become companions and best friends for people with special needs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make it possible for CVHR to own its own farm and to have a few paid staff members.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 9, 2013

It was a pleasure when I could volunteer in person, but now I am miles away.. The founder, Cindy Smith, keeps me informed with news letters and personal answers when I have a question. The open way of communicating helps me feel secure that my dollars are well used. I have personally met the board members and they are honest and honorable to the maximum degree. If you want to help horses in jeapordy be the best that they can be.. Your money will be well used here.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

This rescue uses its time and the money raised in the most effective manner. Every penny counts. They have a great record of rehabilitating these horses and finding them excellent forever homes. I don't think ANYBODY does it better.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Well, it has been more than a year since I submitted a review for CVHR as a volunteer. I now live too far away to be very active so I have changed my "title" to donor. But in spite of the distance, I feel still very involved. Cindy keeps us up to date with shared pictures, news letters, information about the new horses coming in, and the reports on those who have been adopted in the past. I am as excited about this rescue now as I was when I first heard of it. This is a charity that has never let me down. I have never had any reason to doubt its integrity or to feel taken for granted. What I can do may not be much, but I always feel like I make a difference to a cause that is dear to my heart.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have not had the opportunity yet to visit the actual locations but have been following this group for a littl over a year and have seen the multitude of horses loves they have impacted. They are definitely a asset to the communtiy and I would advocate for them at a moments notice. I am also extremely excited about their Courtland location as its much closer to home and I hope to be able to assist with their efforts in our communtiy. Awesome people doing awesome work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I became aware of Central Virginia Horse Rescue when I was working as an equine specialist at our local animal shelter. Because our mares were not in danger, CVHR was jot able to take them. Due to an unusual course of events, one mare eventually ended up at CVHR in 2013. I began my relationship with this organization at that time and have been absolutely blown away at all they are able to achieve whilst working on a shoe-string budget. Gelding programs, training programs, general medical care, hoof trimmings, and floating teeth, not to mention emergency medical events...all funded by donations of the many, many people who support the amazing work these people do.
I will continue to support CVHR long after the mare is placed because I truly believe CVHR is a remarkable organization, and its leadership and farsightedness cannot be compared to any other equine rescue that I have experienced.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage more people to support CVHR to enable to expand to a larger location.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 25, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 24, 2013

Central VA Horse Rescue does rescue right. They take in horses that others might not want, but they don't take in more than they can handle. For the ones they cannot take, they network to find them go... more

September 25, 2013

Central Virginia Horse Rescue is one of a handful of rescues that I trust implicitly and support wholeheartedly. I am totally impressed with how well they take care of the horses in their care, take in and network those in need, and find the right home for every horse they adopt out. CVHR rocks!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Central VA Horse Rescue does rescue right. They take in horses that others might not want, but they don't take in more than they can handle. For the ones they cannot take, they network to find them good homes. They are GFAS certified, they are transparent and trustworthy. I'm never afraid to donate to this rescue. Founder Cindy Smith is my hero.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

CVHR is a rescue that does things right. They are GFAS certified which means a lot in my book. Cindy not only takes in rescues, which get the best of care, but she also helps others with herd dispersals and individual placements. I never have to worry about where my money goes when it goes to CVHR. They are a top notch rescue.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 27, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 27, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

After following and being a supporter of CVHR for a few years, my husband and I went down for a weekend visit. Not only have Cindy and her volunteers shined from afar, in person they were all even more exceptional. The horses are all in wonderful shape, with great manners and friendly attitudes, the barn is very clean and well kept- everything is, once again, run just the way it should be. With so many organizations being "shady", CVHR stands out as one of the most honest and transparent organizations I have ever dealt with. You really can not go wrong supporting this rescue and the horses in Cindy's care.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them a winning lottery ticket. Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2012

As a rule, I do NOT recommend Peeps. BUT~~I am rather fortunate to know Central Virginia Horse Rescue and it's Queen, Cindy Smith, in many capacities. I adopted a donkey from her, To Sir With Love, to... more

May 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Once Again...I sound like a broken recording but the longer I know this Rescue and it's People...the more impressed I am. Cindy and Randy have hearts the size of Mountains but their compassion is coupled with practical good sense. They reach out in many areas of the USA but easily Central Virginia Horse Rescue is the finest Equine Rescue in Virginia. Cindy also PATIENTLY answers 100's of questions each week on a full range of Equine subjects to help novice owners better care for their own horses. This Rescue is a bright shining star....in a gray paved equine world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Zero Zio...except to find her more help :)

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

As a rule, I do NOT recommend Peeps. BUT~~I am rather fortunate to know Central Virginia Horse Rescue and it's Queen, Cindy Smith, in many capacities. I adopted a donkey from her, To Sir With Love, to help along an very sick yearling we had. The little Gray longeared fella has given me many special moments. He came to us from CVHR COMPLETE...everything had been attended to. His feet were trimmed, his shots were up to date, his Coggins was live and he was in GREAT health. Cindy represented him HONESTLY and Candidly...and isn't that refreshing in this world? I have also served shoulder to shoulder with her as an admin for the well-known CHW Weekly page and got to see her faithful written responses daily in action to save auction horses and campaign for them until ALL had homes. Many many times, she took home the LAST Horse Standing in number 10 pen to see it saved. Last, but not least, I know Cindy as a donor to Central VA Horse Rescue. She is SQUEEKY impeccably clean & transparent in all financial dealings and it is all but impossible to get her to do ANYTHING for herself. To spell it out: She wakes up, lives, breathes, eats and sleeps dreaming about saving horses. A steward to trust and support! You have mine!! ~~~Kate W.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help clean barn Groom horses Spoil a resident help with facilities repair Volunteer