Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
109 Reviews
1234.990835
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
February 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I became aware of Central Virginia Horse Rescue when I was working as an equine specialist at our local animal shelter. Because our mares were not in danger, CVHR was jot able to take them. Due to an unusual course of events, one mare eventually ended up at CVHR in 2013. I began my relationship with this organization at that time and have been absolutely blown away at all they are able to achieve whilst working on a shoe-string budget. Gelding programs, training programs, general medical care, hoof trimmings, and floating teeth, not to mention emergency medical events...all funded by donations of the many, many people who support the amazing work these people do.
I will continue to support CVHR long after the mare is placed because I truly believe CVHR is a remarkable organization, and its leadership and farsightedness cannot be compared to any other equine rescue that I have experienced.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage more people to support CVHR to enable to expand to a larger location.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 25, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 24, 2013

Central VA Horse Rescue does rescue right. They take in horses that others might not want, but they don't take in more than they can handle. For the ones they cannot take, they network to find them go... more

September 25, 2013

Central Virginia Horse Rescue is one of a handful of rescues that I trust implicitly and support wholeheartedly. I am totally impressed with how well they take care of the horses in their care, take in and network those in need, and find the right home for every horse they adopt out. CVHR rocks!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Central VA Horse Rescue does rescue right. They take in horses that others might not want, but they don't take in more than they can handle. For the ones they cannot take, they network to find them good homes. They are GFAS certified, they are transparent and trustworthy. I'm never afraid to donate to this rescue. Founder Cindy Smith is my hero.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

CVHR is a rescue that does things right. They are GFAS certified which means a lot in my book. Cindy not only takes in rescues, which get the best of care, but she also helps others with herd dispersals and individual placements. I never have to worry about where my money goes when it goes to CVHR. They are a top notch rescue.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

After following and being a supporter of CVHR for a few years, my husband and I went down for a weekend visit. Not only have Cindy and her volunteers shined from afar, in person they were all even more exceptional. The horses are all in wonderful shape, with great manners and friendly attitudes, the barn is very clean and well kept- everything is, once again, run just the way it should be. With so many organizations being "shady", CVHR stands out as one of the most honest and transparent organizations I have ever dealt with. You really can not go wrong supporting this rescue and the horses in Cindy's care.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them a winning lottery ticket. Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2012

As a rule, I do NOT recommend Peeps. BUT~~I am rather fortunate to know Central Virginia Horse Rescue and it's Queen, Cindy Smith, in many capacities. I adopted a donkey from her, To Sir With Love, to... more

May 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Once Again...I sound like a broken recording but the longer I know this Rescue and it's People...the more impressed I am. Cindy and Randy have hearts the size of Mountains but their compassion is coupled with practical good sense. They reach out in many areas of the USA but easily Central Virginia Horse Rescue is the finest Equine Rescue in Virginia. Cindy also PATIENTLY answers 100's of questions each week on a full range of Equine subjects to help novice owners better care for their own horses. This Rescue is a bright shining star....in a gray paved equine world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Zero Zio...except to find her more help :)

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

As a rule, I do NOT recommend Peeps. BUT~~I am rather fortunate to know Central Virginia Horse Rescue and it's Queen, Cindy Smith, in many capacities. I adopted a donkey from her, To Sir With Love, to help along an very sick yearling we had. The little Gray longeared fella has given me many special moments. He came to us from CVHR COMPLETE...everything had been attended to. His feet were trimmed, his shots were up to date, his Coggins was live and he was in GREAT health. Cindy represented him HONESTLY and Candidly...and isn't that refreshing in this world? I have also served shoulder to shoulder with her as an admin for the well-known CHW Weekly page and got to see her faithful written responses daily in action to save auction horses and campaign for them until ALL had homes. Many many times, she took home the LAST Horse Standing in number 10 pen to see it saved. Last, but not least, I know Cindy as a donor to Central VA Horse Rescue. She is SQUEEKY impeccably clean & transparent in all financial dealings and it is all but impossible to get her to do ANYTHING for herself. To spell it out: She wakes up, lives, breathes, eats and sleeps dreaming about saving horses. A steward to trust and support! You have mine!! ~~~Kate W.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 20, 2013

more

May 20, 2013

CVHR has a high level of compassion for the animals in their care, What sets them apart from so many other rescues, in my mind, is that they also have a sense of responsibility that keeps them from getting in over their heads in terms of taking on more animals than they can provide for. They also encourage eligible animals to move on to permanent private homes thus allowing room to take in more animals in need

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing other than try to create a consistent source of assistance revenue to enable them to continue their mission without concern over finances!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 20, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2012

Only one word comes to mind when I think of Central Virginia Horse Rescue...fantastic. Cindy Smith goes to all lengths to be sure each of the animals' individual needs are met in an extremely caring ... more

May 20, 2013

Central VA Horse Rescue is the best! They possess priceless knowledge that they are willing to share with the horse community as well as rescuing horses. Through this vast use of knowledge, many horses have been brought back to health and been able to have wonderful homes. Thank you, CVHR, for all you do for the equines and the community. Keep up the great work!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Only one word comes to mind when I think of Central Virginia Horse Rescue...fantastic. Cindy Smith goes to all lengths to be sure each of the animals' individual needs are met in an extremely caring way and she never gives up on the ones in her care. She tirelessly gives of herself to have this rescue be the best! Not only does she care for the rescues, but she also shares openly with the public as to the status of each rescue. There really are no words to describe what a pleasure it is to interact with Cindy and the rescue.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
January 3, 2013

I meet CVHR and Cindy via Facebook while I was researching horse rescues. Her compassion, concern and true love for the horses and animals is extremely apparent. She is upfront and honest with going... more

May 9, 2013

I came in contact with CVHR through my own research about horse rescues. I live many states away from CVHR but I stay in touch via face book, newsletters and their website. Cindy Smith spends her life caring for and helping as many horses as she can. CVHR is nonprofit and they do as much as possible on an extremely small budget. Although I wish I was able to volunteer and get to work at CVHR I am unable due to the distance. I help with donations when I can but always wish I could do more because I value the work they do daily to improve the lives of horses. Cindy is always in contact with her supporters and is honest and up front keeping everybody informed on CVHR happenings. I am amazed time and time again over what they do and how they help the most desperate of horses. The world is a much better place because of what Cindy and her volunteers do at CVHR!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 3, 2013

I meet CVHR and Cindy via Facebook while I was researching horse rescues. Her compassion, concern and true love for the horses and animals is extremely apparent. She is upfront and honest with goings on at CVHR and keeps everyone updated with frequent communication. I donate when I can and no matter the dollar amount Cindy is grateful. I wish I lived closer to CVHR so that I would be able to lend a helping hand directly to the rescue. I will continue to support CVHR because the work they do is so very important. Time and time again CVHR does amazing positive things in the lives of the animals she rescues! The humans that adopt her animals are just as lucky! She provides a win-win situation for the animals and the animals new family!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I accidently found CVHR while I was researching horse slaughter and rescue places. CVHR caught my eye as an excellent horse rescue farm. Several heartbreaking horse stories made me take some action in terms of donating. Cindy from CVHR responded with heartfelt thanks right away. No matter how small the donation may be she stresses that every cent is put towards the care of the horses and is extremely grateful. She comments to her friends on face book and thanks every individual for every act of kindness they perform. Cindy goes above and beyond in terms of keep her friends up to date on individual horses and cases. The pictures she posts show both the negative and positive sides of the horse rescue family life at CVHR. I live many states away and can donate to horse rescues in my own area but I choose to give to CVHR. I have a special interest in a few of her rescue horses and I so enjoy how she will put a donation directly to the care of a specific horse when requested and will quickly answer questions in regards to all her horses. I so wished I was able to volunteer with all the great people at CVHR but living in CT prevents me from doing so. There should be more people like Cindy! The entire CVHR team does truly amazing things! Cheers to them all and the animals they rescue!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 5, 2013

This rescue uses its time and the money raised in the most effective manner. Every penny counts. They have a great record of rehabilitating these horses and finding them excellent forever homes. I don... more

May 9, 2013

It was a pleasure when I could volunteer in person, but now I am miles away.. The founder, Cindy Smith, keeps me informed with news letters and personal answers when I have a question. The open way of communicating helps me feel secure that my dollars are well used. I have personally met the board members and they are honest and honorable to the maximum degree. If you want to help horses in jeapordy be the best that they can be.. Your money will be well used here.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

This rescue uses its time and the money raised in the most effective manner. Every penny counts. They have a great record of rehabilitating these horses and finding them excellent forever homes. I don't think ANYBODY does it better.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Well, it has been more than a year since I submitted a review for CVHR as a volunteer. I now live too far away to be very active so I have changed my "title" to donor. But in spite of the distance, I feel still very involved. Cindy keeps us up to date with shared pictures, news letters, information about the new horses coming in, and the reports on those who have been adopted in the past. I am as excited about this rescue now as I was when I first heard of it. This is a charity that has never let me down. I have never had any reason to doubt its integrity or to feel taken for granted. What I can do may not be much, but I always feel like I make a difference to a cause that is dear to my heart.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2012

I found them on Facebook when I was looking for a rescue in my area. I found a couple, but there was something about that Rosebud with her hats. I started to follow them watching what they did and wai... more

April 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Central Virginia Horse Rescue is an amazing nonprofit! they help as many horses as they can financially afford to. They rescue and rehabilitate horses that would otherwise not find a home and they find it a great one. The staff is so caring and helpful they go the extra mile to make sure the horses they rescue end up in a forever home. I just Love them!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I found them on Facebook when I was looking for a rescue in my area. I found a couple, but there was something about that Rosebud with her hats. I started to follow them watching what they did and waiting to decide if I should donate, wanting to make sure they were on the up and up. Then Rowan arrived she grabbed my heart and seeing the CVHR team struggle to to find out ways to make the old girl as happy and comfortable as she could be had me sold and I started to donate. I do not have much time or money to help, but the team is so wonderful and very thankful they make every single volunteer so important. I love them! They help so many without hesitation. They know their limits for the amount of animals they can help, which is not something easy for any rescue. They have helped rehab and find homes for many horses since I have been following and with more volunteers they could help so many more!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 16, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2012

I "found" CVHR on-line, when I began looking at horses again to one day join our family and fill the void of my beloved OTTB who had passed years ago. I spent much time and effort reading and studyin... more

January 16, 2013

Central Virginia Horse Rescue is an organization that works hard to ensure not only that their goals of helping the equine community through working with owners, regional animal control agencies, and auctions, but they also remain responsible stewards of the donations they receive. They ensure donors know where the money is going, make responsible decisions about spending, and work to include their supporters in different decisions.

I have proudly been a supporter and donor since 2012, but watched them for a time before making the decision to contribute. I have watched CVHR work tirelessly to help neglected and starved horses recover in a healthy way (not rushed), and celebrated more than 100 adoptions since their inception. Without question, when it is time to add ponies to our family, I will not hesitate to look to CVHR.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

I "found" CVHR on-line, when I began looking at horses again to one day join our family and fill the void of my beloved OTTB who had passed years ago. I spent much time and effort reading and studying and paying attention to what was said by the volunteers at the rescue as well as by others about the rescue. Having only heard the best about all of them, from Cindy (the founder) as an excellent horsewoman to the families who have been made better and bigger by adopting those that have been saved and helped by CVHR. I do not donate lightly, nor do I give of my time and efforts to groups I feel might be all good intentions and not enough actions. Clearly, CVHR and Cindy and all the volunteers have earned both my trust and utmost respect as horse rescue. It is not an easy calling, but they do it with whole hearts and bodies. When it is time for my daughters to receive their first ponies (as I once did), theirs will be rescues, and I will trust Cindy to know the right match from those saved by CHVR. I have continued to be impressed not only with the hard work she puts into the care of the horses, but also with the administrative side of running CVHR - she is careful with the monies donated and ensures that what she does is transparent, so there are never questions about where our donations are going. Thank you, CVHR, for letting donors like my family participate in the little ways, and thank you for being there for these beautiful and life-changing creatures when they are in their time of most need.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help clean barn
Groom horses
Spoil a resident
help with facilities repair Volunteer