Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
127 Reviews
1234.992135
Write A Review
May 1, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 1, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

CVHR is truly a remarkable place! I see pictures of all these sad horses that need help so bad and if they don't get the help they need, they will die. This organization is the BEST in my opinion. Just look at pictures of before and after and you can see what super care and concern and love all of the horses get. This place deserves every donation possible so they can continue to carry on and save more horses. I send donations when I can and I think every cent is put to great use. It makes my day so much better seeing all the updates on progress these horses are making, please help them carry on!!
April 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2012

Central Virginia Horse rescue is a wonderful place for me to take my 4hers to learn about what's involved in rescuing horses, donks, ponies,mules, and mini's. Cindy Smith is the epitome of what it ta... more

April 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I like to take my 4H club over to the rescue to see what happens to horses when people have no follow through. They get a good healthy dose or reality and it makes them strive to take the best care of their equines and if they need help not to feel bad about asking. Teaching our youth at a fairly young age the reality of the horse situation makes them better advocates in the future. So thanks Cindy and CVHR for driving home the point everytime I bring new kid's over it's working I see it in their presentation topics and what they want to do as they move on through the club. They will always get a non sugar coated answer when they ask questions and they love to come over and do chores to help out around the rescue be it grooming, bathing, cleaning stalls or water tubs we are so fortunate to have such knowledgeable people running this rescue..... So kudos to Cindy and her happy volunteers you all are doing a fantastic job...
October 25, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Central Virginia Horse rescue is a wonderful place for me to take my 4hers to learn about what's involved in rescuing horses, donks, ponies,mules, and mini's. Cindy Smith is the epitome of what it takes to run a rescue with order and conviction. She is very dedicated to her charges and has some of the nicest volunteers who are actually there to help and learn. CVHR is efficiently run and everyone is kept posted on what's happening at all times. My 4 Hers LOVE to go over and are constantly bugging me on when we are going back. It is an awesome facility and we feel welcomed every time we visit :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 20, 2013

more

May 20, 2013

Thanks to CVHR, many neglected or abandoned horses have had a second chance. I am grateful for their hard work and dedication to helping horses.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 20, 2013

more

May 20, 2013

They do their best, from the heart..they love the horses and take the best care of them..and most of all they rescue them from a horrendous fate..God Bless them!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 11, 2013

more

May 11, 2013

Of the many horse rescue organizations I am familiar with, CVHR is one of the very best. Their ACTIVE dedication, rehabilitation and successful adoptions are a testimony to their professional and sincere efforts. I recommend them to anyone looking for a horse, and as a worthy donation recipient.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 9, 2013

more

May 9, 2013

I am your average horse owner and love to follow CVHR on the wonderful rescue and rehabilitating work they do. Thank God there is a place like this for horses. The people seem so dedicated and willing to help even if it's not a horse on their farm. I have donated to their online auction and love to read up on the latest news at the farm. I hope they are around for many, many more years.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2013

more

May 9, 2013

As a horse person and animal lover, I look for organizations that help animals because they can not help themselves. I have been following Central Virginia Horse Rescue for quite awhile. The work that CVHR does is wonderful. They take neglected, abused and abandonded horses and rehibitate, train and rehome them. Cindy and her crew of volunteers spend countless hours caring for the animals at CVHR.

Often rescues are so overwhelmed that they will just send animals out to whom ever shows an interest. NOT CVHR, there is a reference check and the horse and potential adopter must "gel".
Whenever I hear of someone looking for a horse, I suggest checking with CVHR.

As a person with many years of horse experience, I would say that CVHR is one of the best around.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 9, 2013

more

May 9, 2013

I have been following Central VA Horse Rescue on Facebook as a resident of Virginia and rider/horse lover. They do an amazing job of updating the public with their horse news and you can tell the management has their heart in the right place. This is the rescue I would trust if I was ever adopting a rescue horse. They also seem to be a very transparent organization, a quality I think is lacking from a lot of non profits.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013

more


1 previous review
January 17, 2013

I have watched Horse Rescues for about 3 years thru Facebook. I have seen them succeed, and I have seen them fall apart. Very few have shown consistent good management, and good rescue practices. CVH... more

April 24, 2013

CVHR is one of the best in the horse rescue world. I have watched them for awhile now, and they do it right. The real test of any rescue is the quiet, day to day caring for the animals, and finding them homes or Sanctuary. They are up front with what they are doing, and they are doing it well! My hat is off to CVHR!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 17, 2013

I have watched Horse Rescues for about 3 years thru Facebook. I have seen them succeed, and I have seen them fall apart. Very few have shown consistent good management, and good rescue practices. CVHR is one of the best I am aware of. They do it right! They show compassion for all animals in need, tho they are mainly an equine rescue. If someone had the heart to donate, and help creatures in need, CVHR would be a good place to start. Donations would be used wisely here.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 28, 2013

more

January 28, 2013

CVHR gets the job done! They help horses...it's a back breaking, roller coaster (emotionally) job but they succeed.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help clean barn Groom horses Spoil a resident help with facilities repair Volunteer