Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
109 Reviews
1234.990835
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 27, 2012

I began looking for a horse about 2 years ago after coming out of "horsey" remission:) Wasn't really sure what I was looking for, but I did find CVHR:) And there she was...a tall, lanky, black, a bi... more

July 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I adopted my mare from CVHR in Oct,2011 and have never regretted it. Cindy and the volunteers do such amazing work with equines that have had their trust and hearts broken. When I am ready, I will certainly go to CVHR for another rescued horse. No doubts, no reservations....CVHR is a leader among rescues and sets high standards for others to follow.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I began looking for a horse about 2 years ago after coming out of "horsey" remission:) Wasn't really sure what I was looking for, but I did find CVHR:) And there she was...a tall, lanky, black, a bit bossy, and a bit of a diva. Cindy Smith met with me when I went to visit Sassy and had all the info on her. Very knowledgeable and friendly, Cindy immediatly won my heart (right after Sassy). I so admire what Cindy and CVHR stands for....integrity,love,sharing their knowledge and the most important caring for these beautiful equine! It has to be so difficult doing and seeing what they do, but Cindy and her group do it everyday....many times a day. I am now a very happy girl with my Sassy. She will be with me for life. I owe it all to CVHR and there is no way for me to pay them back for bringing me such joy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 20, 2013

more

May 20, 2013

I rescued a beautiful Standardbred Gelding, working with Central Virginia Horse Rescue is a pleasure. I have two rescues, and believe that these dedicated horse lovers that save and rehab these horses into healthy beautiful rideable animals is a true calling that very few of us can truly accomplish. The sacrifices made by rescues that really go un-noticed by the general public never ceases to amaze me.

Julie Duchin- Baniowski

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Cindy does an amazing job. My husband found information about the rescue a year ago. And with Cindy's help at 41 I was a very proud first time mom two three beautiful horses. I have had ups and downs but anytime I have needed her help she was there. All you need to do is go by for a visit and see. It's amazing to see the work and the progress and the love in all the animals for this one person who has given so very much for them. Thank you CVHR and thank you Cindy!!!!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 9, 2013

more

May 9, 2013

We adopted 2 ponies from CVHR. They came to CVHR starved and had never been handled. By the time we adopted them they were happy and healthy and very well behaved. Cindy does an amazing job with the horses she rescues!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 9, 2013

more

May 9, 2013

I had a great experience adopting from CVHR. They made the whole process easy, they did do their check on references, which they should. Cindy was honest and always in contact with me. Emailed me right back. They took care of everything on their end as far as making sure the horse was ready for transport since we were a few states away.

D Hamilton, NH USA

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 9, 2013

more

May 9, 2013

I adopted a sweet wonderful standardbred retired race horse from them back in Feb 2013. CVHR does such a wonderful job with taking care of their horses. They are just incredible. They rescue horses, ponies, mules, and more! I'm so glad that I got my gal from them. We both have been blessed by CVHR!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

We adopted a pony and donkey from Central Virginia Horse Rescue. We love our pony, Halley. She had been abused in the past and is very scared of adults. The rescue was not certain she would do well in a home with small children. We drove to the rescue to meet Halley and we were happily surprised that she took to all my girls. We have had Halley for almost a year now and she is doing remarkably well in our home. CVHR makes sure all rescues go to the best homes for that particular horse/pony. They are are great nonprofit and very deserving of status as a GREAT nonprofit.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 7, 2013

more

January 7, 2013

Last year we had a wonderful active horse that all of a sudden got sick and almost died. We had our Vet out several times and we couldn't afford anymore health care for our beautiful 2 1/2 year old horse. Ruby was born here at our home and was so full of life and when she got sick we did all we could. Once we realized we couldn't give her the care needed for her we started searching for help to save Ruby's life. I was turned down by many Rescues saying either they were full or they didn't care for this type of horse. Someone told me about Cindy at Central Virginia Horse Rescue and I called her that evening. I sent her the heart breaking pictures of Ruby like I did the other Rescues and the next day Cindy was here picking Ruby up and giving her the love and medical care she needed and we could not provide for her. I just seen a new picture of Ruby its been almost a year and she is so nice beautiful and healthy looking. If Cindy would not of taken Ruby when she did I don't think Ruby would of lived but maybe another day or two if that. If you seen the pictures of how bad Ruby was and if anyone knew of all the long hard work Cindy put into Ruby it is just a MIRACLE and I am so thankful that Ruby will have a long life do to Central Virginia Rescue. I could never say enough but pictures speak for them self and if you want proof of what I am saying go into the pictures of Ruby . I have been keeping up with the Rescue through out the year and I have seen photos of the animals she has rescued and it is heart breaking to see the condition the animals and not only horse's but all kinds of animals are near death. Cindy and her Rescue Team have saved allot of animals lives. I visited the rescue and I would recommend this rescue to the fullest.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 3, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2012

I started following CVHR when my friend Tiffany Croxford took one of their rescues Bogey to train. I have since become a monthly donor and adopted two Tennessee Walking horses. Cindy is an amazing p... more

January 3, 2013

I met Cindy through friend that trained a horse for CVHR. I adopted 2 horses from CVHR and have become a donor. Cindy runs a very honest operation with the welfare of the horses as the #1 priority. I respect Cindy and the rescue. I look forward to the posts, benefit trail rides and I am sure I will adopt or foster another TWH in my future.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I started following CVHR when my friend Tiffany Croxford took one of their rescues Bogey to train. I have since become a monthly donor and adopted two Tennessee Walking horses. Cindy is an amazing person. I have ridden in both of the CVHR trail rides and will continue to come and donate every time they put one on. Cindy is real, you know where your donations are going, and she is so good about updating what is going on so you feel that you are apart of helping too, not just a bank account.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 2, 2013

more

January 2, 2013

We met this organization at Equine Extravaganza this year. We were very impressed with their professionalism, and true commitment to evaluating potential adopters. Their animals are very well taken care of, and in fantastic condition. One week later after meeting Cindy we were back in Virginia adopting a wonderful Standardbred for our son. We've had her for two months now, and everything Cindy told us about her was very accurate. Great Goup here!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help clean barn
Groom horses
Spoil a resident
help with facilities repair Volunteer