Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
127 Reviews
1234.992135
Write A Review
May 8, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

May 8, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

I have been following Central Virginia Horse Rescue on Facebook for about two years. After watching the activities vicariously for that length of time, it became obvious to my husband and me--who are both lifetime horse people--that the director, Cindy Smith, was not only a sharp horsewoman with a big heart, but also a careful and responsible financial manager. After watching numerous horses truly brought back from the brink of death to excellent health, and watching the same horses receive care and training entirely appropriate to their ages and abilities, it was an easy choice to decide to horse shop at CVHR when we had the need for a new horse. It seemed odd to us that even though we had both adopted many dogs from shelters that neither of us had even known about horse adoptions until we found CVHR. We are now preparing to acquire another horse and our first thought was to check out the "Available for Adoption" page at CVHR to see if any of these horses fit our needs. I applaud Cindy and her volunteers for their devotion to each horse that they take in and care for. This is a rescue with a long-range business plan that makes sense as well as the knowledge and the good common sense to make sure everything is done well.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make sure they get the funding needed to be able to move to a larger facility.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 8, 2014

more


1 previous review
May 9, 2013

I adopted a sweet wonderful standardbred retired race horse from them back in Feb 2013. CVHR does such a wonderful job with taking care of their horses. They are just incredible. They rescue horses, p... more

May 8, 2014

I adopted my sweet Standie from CVHR. She went from harness racing to broad mare to Amish to Camelot. I am so grateful they rescued her! They do amazing work! My daughter and I donate regularly to CVHR so they can continue their rescues.
May 9, 2013

I adopted a sweet wonderful standardbred retired race horse from them back in Feb 2013. CVHR does such a wonderful job with taking care of their horses. They are just incredible. They rescue horses, ponies, mules, and more! I'm so glad that I got my gal from them. We both have been blessed by CVHR!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 6, 2014

more

May 6, 2014

I met Cindy, before she started her rescue. I purchased a horse from her, from just talking to her on the phone. She was very honest, with everything she told me about the horse, and even delivered him to me. I have been following her rescue from the start. I am amazed at the work she has done and continues to do. She has over 20,000 likes in 4 years, and a lot of the other rescues take 10 years to get that many. That should tell you she is a good person, and runs a great rescue. I don't have a lot of money to donate, but I do love her sweatshirts and tee shirts, and I buy them and support her. I have learned a lot from following her as she always puts out very useful information on horses. Everyone is put on this earth for something, and this is her calling. I wish her all the luck in the years to come. I bless all of her volunteer's as I know how hard they all work. I hope she can get her farm, so she can continue to save horses. and place them in forever homes. She is my number one horse rescue. God Bless!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Buy her, the bigger farm she needs to continue her good works. :)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 2, 2014

more

May 2, 2014

I first learned about CVHR in early 2013 when we moved to Spotsylvania, Va and bought our "dream retirement" farm. I have always had a soft spot for animals in need and I knew I wanted my first experience as a horse owner to be with a rescue horse/pony. I originally contacted CVHR regarding Bogey, and Cindy arranged for me to come have a visit to meet him. Cindy was wonderful when I arrived at the rescue with my two kids, 1 other child who was visiting with us and one of my rescue pups I brought back from the streets of Italy. Looking back, I realize this was not the ideal way to meet a horse and have a conversation with Cindy about horse ownership; I am certain she was fairly concerned that I brought along so many little bodies with me, BUT she still made me feel welcome. She allowed me to visit with Bogey and understand my own comfort level with him while we talked. Although I decided I was not ready for him at that point (because I was completely green as a horse owner), she understatedly allowed me to come to this decision on my own. I am sure she was thinking the same thing about my greenness and how nervous I was around him. But, I took this experience and and over the past year I have gained so much confidence around horses by observing others, listening to experienced horse people, taking riding lessons with my daughter with a professional trainer, and reading/watching videos about horse care and training. Through this learning process we did end up adopting a rescue pony from a wonderful woman who rescued him and who supports local rescues and after a month of having him, the same woman helped me find my Haflinger mare who needed a home (who I am completely in love with). This past year has been one of the most wonderful learning experiences of my life and we are now a confident horse family. Our little rescue boy has his own professional pony trainer who is working wonders with him under saddle. He now has a plan for his future and it has been so great to see him find his potential. I have CVHR to thank for our success and happiness on this journey just by staying abreast of their updates and information on their website and their Facebook page I become more educated on a daily basis. We definitely have room for 1 (or maybe 2:)) more horses on our farm in the future and regardless if the horse comes directly from CVHR, they do influence our choices. I really appreciate the helpful links, shares and amazing work Cindy and all of her volunteers do tirelessly. Simply amazing the work they do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 9, 2013

I had a great experience adopting from CVHR. They made the whole process easy, they did do their check on references, which they should. Cindy was honest and always in contact with me. Emailed me righ... more

May 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

CVHR is one of the few rescues who go above and beyond for each horse they take in.
They not only rehabilitate , they nurture and retrain each case according to that horses
needs. I only hope they can continue to get the support to continue to save horses and be able
to make a
difference in their lives. I also adopted a horse thru them and his story was he needed $7,000.00 + in medical care, and he received it. Fabulous rescue.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help raise more money thru events, so they can continue the great work they do. Cindy is always working hard to make a difference.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 9, 2013

I had a great experience adopting from CVHR. They made the whole process easy, they did do their check on references, which they should. Cindy was honest and always in contact with me. Emailed me right back. They took care of everything on their end as far as making sure the horse was ready for transport since we were a few states away.

D Hamilton, NH USA

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 27, 2012

I began looking for a horse about 2 years ago after coming out of "horsey" remission:) Wasn't really sure what I was looking for, but I did find CVHR:) And there she was...a tall, lanky, black, a bi... more

July 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I adopted my mare from CVHR in Oct,2011 and have never regretted it. Cindy and the volunteers do such amazing work with equines that have had their trust and hearts broken. When I am ready, I will certainly go to CVHR for another rescued horse. No doubts, no reservations....CVHR is a leader among rescues and sets high standards for others to follow.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I began looking for a horse about 2 years ago after coming out of "horsey" remission:) Wasn't really sure what I was looking for, but I did find CVHR:) And there she was...a tall, lanky, black, a bit bossy, and a bit of a diva. Cindy Smith met with me when I went to visit Sassy and had all the info on her. Very knowledgeable and friendly, Cindy immediatly won my heart (right after Sassy). I so admire what Cindy and CVHR stands for....integrity,love,sharing their knowledge and the most important caring for these beautiful equine! It has to be so difficult doing and seeing what they do, but Cindy and her group do it everyday....many times a day. I am now a very happy girl with my Sassy. She will be with me for life. I owe it all to CVHR and there is no way for me to pay them back for bringing me such joy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 20, 2013

more

May 20, 2013

I rescued a beautiful Standardbred Gelding, working with Central Virginia Horse Rescue is a pleasure. I have two rescues, and believe that these dedicated horse lovers that save and rehab these horses into healthy beautiful rideable animals is a true calling that very few of us can truly accomplish. The sacrifices made by rescues that really go un-noticed by the general public never ceases to amaze me.

Julie Duchin- Baniowski

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Cindy does an amazing job. My husband found information about the rescue a year ago. And with Cindy's help at 41 I was a very proud first time mom two three beautiful horses. I have had ups and downs but anytime I have needed her help she was there. All you need to do is go by for a visit and see. It's amazing to see the work and the progress and the love in all the animals for this one person who has given so very much for them. Thank you CVHR and thank you Cindy!!!!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 9, 2013

more

May 9, 2013

We adopted 2 ponies from CVHR. They came to CVHR starved and had never been handled. By the time we adopted them they were happy and healthy and very well behaved. Cindy does an amazing job with the horses she rescues!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

We adopted a pony and donkey from Central Virginia Horse Rescue. We love our pony, Halley. She had been abused in the past and is very scared of adults. The rescue was not certain she would do well in a home with small children. We drove to the rescue to meet Halley and we were happily surprised that she took to all my girls. We have had Halley for almost a year now and she is doing remarkably well in our home. CVHR makes sure all rescues go to the best homes for that particular horse/pony. They are are great nonprofit and very deserving of status as a GREAT nonprofit.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help clean barn Groom horses Spoil a resident help with facilities repair Volunteer