Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
109 Reviews
1234.990835
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
April 6, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 29, 2012

I have been volunteering for CVHR since Oct.,2010. My husband and I adopted 2 horses from CVHR in November ,2010 and are overwhelmingly please with them. Although my time there is more a matter of "so... more

April 6, 2013

I have volunteered at Central Virgina Horse Rescue for more than 2 years now. Cindy,the CEO and founder ,does all and more thats she's capable of doing to ensure that horses that come across her path are very well taken care. She has rescued numerous horses that were emaciated and brought them back to a good weight and found them suitable homes . She has made improvements to the facilities and
continues to try to insure she's providing the best she is capable of . I love volunteering there !!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2012

I have been volunteering for CVHR since Oct.,2010. My husband and I adopted 2 horses from CVHR in November ,2010 and are overwhelmingly please with them. Although my time there is more a matter of "socializing" the horses or poinies than working due to my own physical limitations, I do feel part of the "CVHR" family. Cindy willingly gives of herself to provide a haven for equines that are either facing slaughter or have already been subjected to abuse. Unfortunately,due to the rural area the rescue is in ,there is not a large population base to draw volunteers from and Cindy is more often than not the one doing all the work. She has a heart devoted to caring for all animals and the knowledge and skills to under gird that heart.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2012

CVHR is an amazing organization that truly focuses on the well-being of the horses. I began volunteering for CVHR by writing their monthly newsletter several months ago and I am so proud to be a small... more

April 5, 2013

CVHR is incredibly well-run and transparent nonprofit horse rescue. Founder Cindy Smith has a huge heart and does everything in her power to save every horse she can! Even more commendable, she knows her limits and doesn't take in too many new horses at once, unless absolutely necessary. I have seen horses come into CVHR looking scared, skinny, and hopeless. After a few weeks, they have turned a new leaf and truly bloomed. All of the horses taken in by CVHR are rehabilitated and adopted out when it is best for them. At the end of 2012, we celebrated our 100th adoption!! It is so exciting to be able to contribute to this nonprofit by writing their monthly newsletter. I am proud to volunteer for CVHR because I know in my heart that THIS is how a rescue is meant to be operated. You rock, Cindy at CVHR!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

CVHR is an amazing organization that truly focuses on the well-being of the horses. I began volunteering for CVHR by writing their monthly newsletter several months ago and I am so proud to be a small part of this wonderful team. The rescue does an incredible job of taking in sick, injured, or unwanted horses, rehabilitating them, and finding great homes for them. It can be a very overwhelming task, but the CVHR team manages to do it time and time again! CVHR volunteers are passionate and dedicated to helping horses in need, but Cindy takes the cake for sure! She works so hard keeping the rescue running and making sure everyone is well taken care of. Cindy is a phenomenal horse woman, and that is a big part of what makes CVHR such a great rescue!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 11, 2013

more

January 11, 2013

I started volunteering at Central Virginia Horse Rescue nearly a year ago. At the time I had little knowledge or hands-on training around horses. Not only has the Rescue taught me how to act around horses, how to understand them and care for them correctly, it has shown me what good can happen when someone is truly devoted to a cause. Every donation goes toward the care of the horses and these animals can remember that life is wonderful and that people can be trusted.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 2, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2012

Several years ago when I decided that I had time to volunteer with an organization, I researched the horse rescues in Virginia to see which one would be the best fit. Central Virginia Horse Rescue cam... more

January 2, 2013

As we start a new year, I cannot wait to see what wonderful adventures Central Virginia Horse Rescue will embark on. I know that there will be horses in serious need of rescue and CVHR will be the one to step up. I know that there will be improvements made to the current property (barn, paddocks, etc.) and hopefully countless adoptions taking place! I only wish there were more contests, grant money, and fundraising opportunities for this one-of-a-kind GFAS certified horse rescue.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Several years ago when I decided that I had time to volunteer with an organization, I researched the horse rescues in Virginia to see which one would be the best fit. Central Virginia Horse Rescue came out way on top for multiple reasons - some of which include their integrity, honesty and transparency; their willingness to help horses who would otherwise not have a chance; and their drive to become GFAS certified and apply for grants to keeping the rescue a safe and caring place for the horses/donkeys/minis/mules/ponies that would come to know CVHR. There are so many rescues out there that are in it for the wrong reasons and who mislead the public in an attempt to bring in money, so it is wonderful to have a horse rescue like Central Virginia Horse Rescue who is so clearly in it for the right reasons and who has a group of positive and wonderful volunteers and supporters. I wish that all rescues would learn from the example that CVHR sets!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 27, 2012

I began looking for a horse about 2 years ago after coming out of "horsey" remission:) Wasn't really sure what I was looking for, but I did find CVHR:) And there she was...a tall, lanky, black, a bi... more

July 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I adopted my mare from CVHR in Oct,2011 and have never regretted it. Cindy and the volunteers do such amazing work with equines that have had their trust and hearts broken. When I am ready, I will certainly go to CVHR for another rescued horse. No doubts, no reservations....CVHR is a leader among rescues and sets high standards for others to follow.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I began looking for a horse about 2 years ago after coming out of "horsey" remission:) Wasn't really sure what I was looking for, but I did find CVHR:) And there she was...a tall, lanky, black, a bit bossy, and a bit of a diva. Cindy Smith met with me when I went to visit Sassy and had all the info on her. Very knowledgeable and friendly, Cindy immediatly won my heart (right after Sassy). I so admire what Cindy and CVHR stands for....integrity,love,sharing their knowledge and the most important caring for these beautiful equine! It has to be so difficult doing and seeing what they do, but Cindy and her group do it everyday....many times a day. I am now a very happy girl with my Sassy. She will be with me for life. I owe it all to CVHR and there is no way for me to pay them back for bringing me such joy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Great group of people. Much love and concern go out to all the horses , and each one is treated special. They work so hard to find "the perfect" home for each and every one.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have only "met" Cindy through FB. But through her frequent posts I have found that she and her CVHR will take on cruelty cases, abused, and older equines and rise to the occasion. She is very generous in her support of other rescues and will network, share and post for the good of the horse in need. However, I have to admit that one highlight , for me, is that Cindy has a wicked great sense of humor. I laugh frequently at her take on giving up smoking and the amusing things some of her horses get into. To retain a sense of humor, as she successfully saves and rehabilitates with all her volunteers, showcases a rescue at its' best.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have volunteered and for health reasons had to take a break...will be back once again and can't wait! Cindy is one of the really good guys! Everything she does, she does for the horses and donks that have been entrusted to her care. For those who donate from far away, be assured that she uses every single cent to better the lives of these remarkable creatures.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Central Virginia Horse rescue is a wonderful place for me to take my 4hers to learn about what's involved in rescuing horses, donks, ponies,mules, and mini's. Cindy Smith is the epitome of what it takes to run a rescue with order and conviction. She is very dedicated to her charges and has some of the nicest volunteers who are actually there to help and learn. CVHR is efficiently run and everyone is kept posted on what's happening at all times. My 4 Hers LOVE to go over and are constantly bugging me on when we are going back. It is an awesome facility and we feel welcomed every time we visit :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2012

I found them on Facebook when I was looking for a rescue in my area. I found a couple, but there was something about that Rosebud with her hats. I started to follow them watching what they did and wai... more

April 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Central Virginia Horse Rescue is an amazing nonprofit! they help as many horses as they can financially afford to. They rescue and rehabilitate horses that would otherwise not find a home and they find it a great one. The staff is so caring and helpful they go the extra mile to make sure the horses they rescue end up in a forever home. I just Love them!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I found them on Facebook when I was looking for a rescue in my area. I found a couple, but there was something about that Rosebud with her hats. I started to follow them watching what they did and waiting to decide if I should donate, wanting to make sure they were on the up and up. Then Rowan arrived she grabbed my heart and seeing the CVHR team struggle to to find out ways to make the old girl as happy and comfortable as she could be had me sold and I started to donate. I do not have much time or money to help, but the team is so wonderful and very thankful they make every single volunteer so important. I love them! They help so many without hesitation. They know their limits for the amount of animals they can help, which is not something easy for any rescue. They have helped rehab and find homes for many horses since I have been following and with more volunteers they could help so many more!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help clean barn
Groom horses
Spoil a resident
help with facilities repair Volunteer