Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
127 Reviews
1234.992135
| 1 ... 7 8 9...11 |
Write A Review
October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Wonderful, hardworking rescue! Learned about them from Facebook, Camelot Weekly. There was one horse in particular at Camelot I fell in love with, CVHR rescued the horse & found him a home!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have only "met" Cindy through FB. But through her frequent posts I have found that she and her CVHR will take on cruelty cases, abused, and older equines and rise to the occasion. She is very generous in her support of other rescues and will network, share and post for the good of the horse in need. However, I have to admit that one highlight , for me, is that Cindy has a wicked great sense of humor. I laugh frequently at her take on giving up smoking and the amusing things some of her horses get into. To retain a sense of humor, as she successfully saves and rehabilitates with all her volunteers, showcases a rescue at its' best.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I came across CVHR as i was watching a group site trying to save horses from a weekly auction to slaughter situation. I saw them save a few horses so i checked out their site and facebook page to learn about their practices and watch the horses progress. i have always been impressed with the unlimited painstaking care and transformation they've made in so many horses, their business transparency, as well as with the founder Cindy Smith's honesty when trying to place horses in forever homes. I was able to meet Cindy at last years EE event and you know those few times when you meet someone and instantly know you're in the great company of an honest passionate hard working human being that the word "Quit" has never seen...well it was one of those moments for me. I love that Cindy is a "REAL" person, i have seen her pain when she has lost ones she's tried so hard to save but miracles couldn't help yet was strong enough to make the hardest decisions for their sake of peace and love..and that is the description of dedication in my book. I congratulate them on everything they have done and pray that while there is the need, that they will always have the wings and way to be there!! Thank You

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I came to know about CVHR thru a mutual friend. I was in the market for a horse, and contacted the AMAZING founder of this group, Cindy Smith. I was instantly impressed with not only her knowledge base, but her passion and committment to her animals. When schedules finally allowed me to visit her, it was well worth the wait. Her graciousness and candor are refreshing in todays society and world of animals. A lot of rescues have HUGE, show-off places and unlimited resources. CVHR is quaint, efficient and runs on a very strict budget. But do not allow that description to deter you from the passion and attention lavished on those creatures fortunate enough to land in Brodnax, VA. Cindy puts the animals FIRST. Always and everytime! Whether it is hourly medical attention, foal watch throughtout the night, coordinating a rescue through an animal control agency or taking in an emergency case, CVHR is ALWAYS there, and Cindy is ALWAYS leading the charge. She has developed a core group of volunteers and donors who rally together, even when they live hundreds of miles away from her farm. CVHR is dedicated to its mission. And those who land there are assured of the best in care, the utmost in respect and compassion, and a soft place to rest their weary souls and bodies. And as a final note, Cindy left a prestigious position in the corporate world to move to Brodnax, VA and follow her life's dream. We should all be so fortunate as to be able to not only do that, but to have the honor of knowing her. All of us who have been touched by her are blessed, but none more so than the animals in her care.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Cindy the founder of CVHR is a true horse hero!!!....i wish more people had her ethics in the care and treatment of our beloved equines!!...i support her and CVHR because they do make a difference in the lives of these animals who were once unwanted,neglected or slaughter bound.it is wonderful to see the transformation they make once they get to her....just check her website out!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Central Virginia Horse Rescue is a wonderful organization. They take in local horses needing help and rescue those that are in the slaughter pipeline. The horses get the best care possible. Cindy and her crew work tirelessly, sometimes bringing horses back from the brink of death. Rescuing horses is a thankless endeavor, with long hours and hard work. CVHR makes it look so easy! I have donated to this rescue and will donate again. I would give CVHR the highest recommendation possible!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I found CVHR when I first became aware of the horse rescues going on to prevent horses from going to slaughter. CVHR has helped many horse in this situation along with others who are in need of care and homes. I love horses. However, I do not have the ability at the moment to have one personally, donating to the CVHR and seeing updates, getting answers from them regarding the care and progression of the horses has been like I own a little piece of many horses. The owner, Cindy, is wonderfully patient with questions regarding the horses behavior, normal routines and the care involved in taking care of them. It is nice to see where your donations are going and the good that it can do. I highly recommend this horse rescue and enjoy seeing the transformation of the horses once they receive some love, care and good nutrition!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As an equestrian for most of my 60 years, I have seen the ugly side of unwanted horses and the fates they endure. Rescues run by knowledgeable, caring , honest people are much needed and CVHR rates as one of the highest in my opinion. I admire Cindy's dedication and love for her animals and her willingness to step up and help. I would highly recommend Central Virginia Horse Rescue to anyone wanting to donate money, time or anything the horses and the rescue may need.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

CVHR is a first class operation in every aspect! The rescue is strongly supported in the local community, and also has a good national following. I first became aware of Cindy's operation when living in Maryland. We were working with abandoned and unwanted horses at the private level, with the thought of establishing a horse rescue. CVHR was one of two established rescues that served as our model. I was most impressed with the business organization of CHVR and the extra mile that Cindy always went to keep the public and donors informed of rescue activities. I have since moved to Southern Virginia, and have had the pleasure to not only meet Cindy personally, but also meet many of her volunteers. EVERYONE that I know that is connected with this rescue shares the same enthusiam, dedication, and passion to the goals of the operation. I currently work in a position where I interact with alot of "new horsie people" and am often asked for my opinion about the CHVR operation. I highly recommend CHVR when asked, and numerous individuals have taken the time to later thank me for the recommendation because of their positive experience with the organization. Many have gone on to either adopt, donate or volunteer their services to CVHR. In my opinion, CHVR is one of the best Horse Rescues currently in operation today.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have known Cindy Smith, founder of CVHR, for quite a few years now. Her life long dedication and passion for horses led her to do something about the distressing levels of horses in need in southern Virginia. That drive, passion and equine knowledge, combined with a strong business background, give CVHR a big advantage. The rescue is run soundly- the welfare of the horses is first and foremost- and the funding for the rescue is closely monitored. In this day and age of well intentioned people jumping into the rescue arena and quickly becoming over whelmed with the sheer numbers of horses, difficulties in fund raising, and steadily increasing costs to support horses, CVHR has a very realistic view of what it takes to keep things going. CVHR is the only equine rescue organization I would endorse with out hesitation.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help clean barn Groom horses Spoil a resident help with facilities repair Volunteer