Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
109 Reviews
1234.990835
| 1 ... 7 8 910 |
Write A Review
October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This rescue is a badly need source for help in VAand parts of NC. She is dedicated and only wants the best for all animals. Her whole family and volunteers take wonderful care of them give them love and caring attention. I have been to the rescue and watched how the horses and other animals respond to her and seen the dedicationof all the volunteers and Cindy to give them the help they need and to find them loving caring homes. They work tirelessly to educate people on what it takes to care for an equine, Vets, feet, dentistry, feed, care, housing, and responsible breeding so there won't be unwanted animals

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have volunteered and for health reasons had to take a break...will be back once again and can't wait! Cindy is one of the really good guys! Everything she does, she does for the horses and donks that have been entrusted to her care. For those who donate from far away, be assured that she uses every single cent to better the lives of these remarkable creatures.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

There are so many places out there today who call themselves rescues and even though they are well intentioned, they fall short if for no other reason than poor planning. This is not the case with CVHR, I am consistently impressed with the level of forethought that goes into every decision made by Cindy and her team. You can count on every dime of your donation going to help horses in need and you can count on full transparency. Cindy does a wonderful job keeping things positive, she does not stoop to the lows of others which is something that I think speaks volumes about her character. As long as I have even $1 extra each month, it will continue you to go to whatever is needed at CVHR.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Well, there is so many great things we can say about Cindy and the CVHR crew! I love how open she is at where funds go to. She goes as far as posting bills and the payments on line! Not many people are that open! Unfortunately I haven't been able to donate or volunteer, but I hope to one day! They always have the horses best interest and sometimes she will even ask the opinions of the followers on what they think on a situation! She is very open about the horses to potential adopters (never hiding anything) and even helps to pick the right horse for the adopter! A better fit means it's less likely a horse will be returned! I really could keep going on , but I encourage you to check them out for yourself and you will see what I mean! She really changes the lives of these horses!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

Great people doing the right thing for these horses. They work hard to help these horses in every way they can and more. Would love to adopt from them one day but hubbie has put hid foot down on that. They have saved many horses and will continue to do so. Most definately a life changing experience for the many equines saved by these people.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

After adopting a horse from a local rescue, I became acquainted with Central Virginia Horse Rescue online. While it is often difficult to ascertain reputable, caring, responsible rescues in an online setting, Cindy Smith ensures that CVHR maintains very high standards and always puts the animals first. She went out of her way to make sure the rescue is GFAS certified - so it's a vetted rescue! Aside from the work they do pulling auction horses, she also helps owners who need to re-home their animals, works with local humane society and is a strong animal advocate. Her passion and drive to help horses fuels her through some heartbreaking stories of animals who have been abused and neglected. Last summer, I had an opportunity to meet Cindy and the horses, minis, donkeys and mules at CVHR and was happy to give her a hug and my thanks for all she does to safeguard these animals. I sponsor a horse and donate whenever I am able because I know that this rescue is a great one - wish we could have one in every state!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Central Virginia Horse rescue is a wonderful place for me to take my 4hers to learn about what's involved in rescuing horses, donks, ponies,mules, and mini's. Cindy Smith is the epitome of what it takes to run a rescue with order and conviction. She is very dedicated to her charges and has some of the nicest volunteers who are actually there to help and learn. CVHR is efficiently run and everyone is kept posted on what's happening at all times. My 4 Hers LOVE to go over and are constantly bugging me on when we are going back. It is an awesome facility and we feel welcomed every time we visit :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I would like to give thanks to those who work at CVHR, it can't be easy working with rescued horses. Each one comes in with its own story and they work on giving each one a new positive chapter in their lives. As a donor I am amazed on what is able to be done on a "shoestring" budget. The equine community is an extremely generous group of people, you will find that if they have two cents they will share one to help another equine.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

CVHR (Cindy and her amazing volunteers) are Simply the Best. They take in horses, who were deemed unworthly by their former owners, and give the horses a safe place to heal and learn to trust humas agains, in some cases. I have a horse whose prior owner only thought he was worth the meat on his bones - they made a mistake as he was the best friend a girl could have. I cant imagine my life without my "throw-away" horse and that is what Cindy does - gives the horse time till their human comes along. Cindy's work I would contend while surely helps the horses also helps the humans who find their partners, a partner who otherwise would be eaten in Europe.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Central Virginia Horse Rescue is a truly fantastic rescue. Not only is it a delightful, caring safe haven for neglected equines, it is professionally and cooperatively ran organization. Cindy, the founder, works diligently to continuously improve the lives of every horse, mule, or donkey that has the pleasure of coming to CVHR. I will continue to donate what I can when I can because it is obvious where the money goes - to the well being of the animals. Thank you, CVHR!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help clean barn
Groom horses
Spoil a resident
help with facilities repair Volunteer