Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
109 Reviews
1234.990835
| 1 2 3 4...10 |
Write A Review
April 24, 2013

more


1 previous review
January 17, 2013

I have watched Horse Rescues for about 3 years thru Facebook. I have seen them succeed, and I have seen them fall apart. Very few have shown consistent good management, and good rescue practices. CVH... more

April 24, 2013

CVHR is one of the best in the horse rescue world. I have watched them for awhile now, and they do it right. The real test of any rescue is the quiet, day to day caring for the animals, and finding them homes or Sanctuary. They are up front with what they are doing, and they are doing it well! My hat is off to CVHR!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 17, 2013

I have watched Horse Rescues for about 3 years thru Facebook. I have seen them succeed, and I have seen them fall apart. Very few have shown consistent good management, and good rescue practices. CVHR is one of the best I am aware of. They do it right! They show compassion for all animals in need, tho they are mainly an equine rescue. If someone had the heart to donate, and help creatures in need, CVHR would be a good place to start. Donations would be used wisely here.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2012

I found them on Facebook when I was looking for a rescue in my area. I found a couple, but there was something about that Rosebud with her hats. I started to follow them watching what they did and wai... more

April 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Central Virginia Horse Rescue is an amazing nonprofit! they help as many horses as they can financially afford to. They rescue and rehabilitate horses that would otherwise not find a home and they find it a great one. The staff is so caring and helpful they go the extra mile to make sure the horses they rescue end up in a forever home. I just Love them!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I found them on Facebook when I was looking for a rescue in my area. I found a couple, but there was something about that Rosebud with her hats. I started to follow them watching what they did and waiting to decide if I should donate, wanting to make sure they were on the up and up. Then Rowan arrived she grabbed my heart and seeing the CVHR team struggle to to find out ways to make the old girl as happy and comfortable as she could be had me sold and I started to donate. I do not have much time or money to help, but the team is so wonderful and very thankful they make every single volunteer so important. I love them! They help so many without hesitation. They know their limits for the amount of animals they can help, which is not something easy for any rescue. They have helped rehab and find homes for many horses since I have been following and with more volunteers they could help so many more!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 6, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 29, 2012

I have been volunteering for CVHR since Oct.,2010. My husband and I adopted 2 horses from CVHR in November ,2010 and are overwhelmingly please with them. Although my time there is more a matter of "so... more

April 6, 2013

I have volunteered at Central Virgina Horse Rescue for more than 2 years now. Cindy,the CEO and founder ,does all and more thats she's capable of doing to ensure that horses that come across her path are very well taken care. She has rescued numerous horses that were emaciated and brought them back to a good weight and found them suitable homes . She has made improvements to the facilities and
continues to try to insure she's providing the best she is capable of . I love volunteering there !!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2012

I have been volunteering for CVHR since Oct.,2010. My husband and I adopted 2 horses from CVHR in November ,2010 and are overwhelmingly please with them. Although my time there is more a matter of "socializing" the horses or poinies than working due to my own physical limitations, I do feel part of the "CVHR" family. Cindy willingly gives of herself to provide a haven for equines that are either facing slaughter or have already been subjected to abuse. Unfortunately,due to the rural area the rescue is in ,there is not a large population base to draw volunteers from and Cindy is more often than not the one doing all the work. She has a heart devoted to caring for all animals and the knowledge and skills to under gird that heart.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2012

CVHR is an amazing organization that truly focuses on the well-being of the horses. I began volunteering for CVHR by writing their monthly newsletter several months ago and I am so proud to be a small... more

April 5, 2013

CVHR is incredibly well-run and transparent nonprofit horse rescue. Founder Cindy Smith has a huge heart and does everything in her power to save every horse she can! Even more commendable, she knows her limits and doesn't take in too many new horses at once, unless absolutely necessary. I have seen horses come into CVHR looking scared, skinny, and hopeless. After a few weeks, they have turned a new leaf and truly bloomed. All of the horses taken in by CVHR are rehabilitated and adopted out when it is best for them. At the end of 2012, we celebrated our 100th adoption!! It is so exciting to be able to contribute to this nonprofit by writing their monthly newsletter. I am proud to volunteer for CVHR because I know in my heart that THIS is how a rescue is meant to be operated. You rock, Cindy at CVHR!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

CVHR is an amazing organization that truly focuses on the well-being of the horses. I began volunteering for CVHR by writing their monthly newsletter several months ago and I am so proud to be a small part of this wonderful team. The rescue does an incredible job of taking in sick, injured, or unwanted horses, rehabilitating them, and finding great homes for them. It can be a very overwhelming task, but the CVHR team manages to do it time and time again! CVHR volunteers are passionate and dedicated to helping horses in need, but Cindy takes the cake for sure! She works so hard keeping the rescue running and making sure everyone is well taken care of. Cindy is a phenomenal horse woman, and that is a big part of what makes CVHR such a great rescue!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

We adopted a pony and donkey from Central Virginia Horse Rescue. We love our pony, Halley. She had been abused in the past and is very scared of adults. The rescue was not certain she would do well in a home with small children. We drove to the rescue to meet Halley and we were happily surprised that she took to all my girls. We have had Halley for almost a year now and she is doing remarkably well in our home. CVHR makes sure all rescues go to the best homes for that particular horse/pony. They are are great nonprofit and very deserving of status as a GREAT nonprofit.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 28, 2013

more

January 28, 2013

CVHR gets the job done! They help horses...it's a back breaking, roller coaster (emotionally) job but they succeed.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 16, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2012

I "found" CVHR on-line, when I began looking at horses again to one day join our family and fill the void of my beloved OTTB who had passed years ago. I spent much time and effort reading and studyin... more

January 16, 2013

Central Virginia Horse Rescue is an organization that works hard to ensure not only that their goals of helping the equine community through working with owners, regional animal control agencies, and auctions, but they also remain responsible stewards of the donations they receive. They ensure donors know where the money is going, make responsible decisions about spending, and work to include their supporters in different decisions.

I have proudly been a supporter and donor since 2012, but watched them for a time before making the decision to contribute. I have watched CVHR work tirelessly to help neglected and starved horses recover in a healthy way (not rushed), and celebrated more than 100 adoptions since their inception. Without question, when it is time to add ponies to our family, I will not hesitate to look to CVHR.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

I "found" CVHR on-line, when I began looking at horses again to one day join our family and fill the void of my beloved OTTB who had passed years ago. I spent much time and effort reading and studying and paying attention to what was said by the volunteers at the rescue as well as by others about the rescue. Having only heard the best about all of them, from Cindy (the founder) as an excellent horsewoman to the families who have been made better and bigger by adopting those that have been saved and helped by CVHR. I do not donate lightly, nor do I give of my time and efforts to groups I feel might be all good intentions and not enough actions. Clearly, CVHR and Cindy and all the volunteers have earned both my trust and utmost respect as horse rescue. It is not an easy calling, but they do it with whole hearts and bodies. When it is time for my daughters to receive their first ponies (as I once did), theirs will be rescues, and I will trust Cindy to know the right match from those saved by CHVR. I have continued to be impressed not only with the hard work she puts into the care of the horses, but also with the administrative side of running CVHR - she is careful with the monies donated and ensures that what she does is transparent, so there are never questions about where our donations are going. Thank you, CVHR, for letting donors like my family participate in the little ways, and thank you for being there for these beautiful and life-changing creatures when they are in their time of most need.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 11, 2013

more

January 11, 2013

I started volunteering at Central Virginia Horse Rescue nearly a year ago. At the time I had little knowledge or hands-on training around horses. Not only has the Rescue taught me how to act around horses, how to understand them and care for them correctly, it has shown me what good can happen when someone is truly devoted to a cause. Every donation goes toward the care of the horses and these animals can remember that life is wonderful and that people can be trusted.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 7, 2013

more

January 7, 2013

Last year we had a wonderful active horse that all of a sudden got sick and almost died. We had our Vet out several times and we couldn't afford anymore health care for our beautiful 2 1/2 year old horse. Ruby was born here at our home and was so full of life and when she got sick we did all we could. Once we realized we couldn't give her the care needed for her we started searching for help to save Ruby's life. I was turned down by many Rescues saying either they were full or they didn't care for this type of horse. Someone told me about Cindy at Central Virginia Horse Rescue and I called her that evening. I sent her the heart breaking pictures of Ruby like I did the other Rescues and the next day Cindy was here picking Ruby up and giving her the love and medical care she needed and we could not provide for her. I just seen a new picture of Ruby its been almost a year and she is so nice beautiful and healthy looking. If Cindy would not of taken Ruby when she did I don't think Ruby would of lived but maybe another day or two if that. If you seen the pictures of how bad Ruby was and if anyone knew of all the long hard work Cindy put into Ruby it is just a MIRACLE and I am so thankful that Ruby will have a long life do to Central Virginia Rescue. I could never say enough but pictures speak for them self and if you want proof of what I am saying go into the pictures of Ruby . I have been keeping up with the Rescue through out the year and I have seen photos of the animals she has rescued and it is heart breaking to see the condition the animals and not only horse's but all kinds of animals are near death. Cindy and her Rescue Team have saved allot of animals lives. I visited the rescue and I would recommend this rescue to the fullest.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 5, 2013

more

January 5, 2013

Central Virginia horse rescue does amazing work. There aren't any secrets with the Cindy you always see exactly where the donation goes and she never asks for anything that doesn't directly aid the horses or mules. All of the horses are well taken care of and placed in good new homes. Every animal rescue should use CVHS as a guideline to run their own.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help clean barn
Groom horses
Spoil a resident
help with facilities repair Volunteer