Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
127 Reviews
1234.992135
Write A Review
May 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 9, 2013

I had a great experience adopting from CVHR. They made the whole process easy, they did do their check on references, which they should. Cindy was honest and always in contact with me. Emailed me righ... more

May 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

CVHR is one of the few rescues who go above and beyond for each horse they take in.
They not only rehabilitate , they nurture and retrain each case according to that horses
needs. I only hope they can continue to get the support to continue to save horses and be able
to make a
difference in their lives. I also adopted a horse thru them and his story was he needed $7,000.00 + in medical care, and he received it. Fabulous rescue.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help raise more money thru events, so they can continue the great work they do. Cindy is always working hard to make a difference.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 9, 2013

I had a great experience adopting from CVHR. They made the whole process easy, they did do their check on references, which they should. Cindy was honest and always in contact with me. Emailed me right back. They took care of everything on their end as far as making sure the horse was ready for transport since we were a few states away.

D Hamilton, NH USA

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 1, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 1, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

CVHR is truly a remarkable place! I see pictures of all these sad horses that need help so bad and if they don't get the help they need, they will die. This organization is the BEST in my opinion. Just look at pictures of before and after and you can see what super care and concern and love all of the horses get. This place deserves every donation possible so they can continue to carry on and save more horses. I send donations when I can and I think every cent is put to great use. It makes my day so much better seeing all the updates on progress these horses are making, please help them carry on!!
May 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 5, 2013

CVHR is incredibly well-run and transparent nonprofit horse rescue. Founder Cindy Smith has a huge heart and does everything in her power to save every horse she can! Even more commendable, she knows... more

May 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

CVHR is an excellent example of a horse rescue and how a nonprofit should be run. Cindy and the team does an amazing job taking care of the rescue horses, being innovative, and doing what is right (even when the right thing is hard to do). We all work together and are thankful for the opportunities to save so many horses, which would not be possible without our wonderful supporters and followers. I am proud to be a CVHR volunteer and I will continue to do my part to help this rescue keep doing what they do. CVHR really does go the extra mile. Great job, everyone!
April 5, 2013

CVHR is incredibly well-run and transparent nonprofit horse rescue. Founder Cindy Smith has a huge heart and does everything in her power to save every horse she can! Even more commendable, she knows her limits and doesn't take in too many new horses at once, unless absolutely necessary. I have seen horses come into CVHR looking scared, skinny, and hopeless. After a few weeks, they have turned a new leaf and truly bloomed. All of the horses taken in by CVHR are rehabilitated and adopted out when it is best for them. At the end of 2012, we celebrated our 100th adoption!! It is so exciting to be able to contribute to this nonprofit by writing their monthly newsletter. I am proud to volunteer for CVHR because I know in my heart that THIS is how a rescue is meant to be operated. You rock, Cindy at CVHR!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

CVHR is an amazing organization that truly focuses on the well-being of the horses. I began volunteering for CVHR by writing their monthly newsletter several months ago and I am so proud to be a small part of this wonderful team. The rescue does an incredible job of taking in sick, injured, or unwanted horses, rehabilitating them, and finding great homes for them. It can be a very overwhelming task, but the CVHR team manages to do it time and time again! CVHR volunteers are passionate and dedicated to helping horses in need, but Cindy takes the cake for sure! She works so hard keeping the rescue running and making sure everyone is well taken care of. Cindy is a phenomenal horse woman, and that is a big part of what makes CVHR such a great rescue!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 1, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

more

May 1, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

I first saw this group on Facebook through a friend. In the nearly two years since, I have been to visit twice and seen with my own eyes the miracles they perform on a daily basis, transforming starved and neglected horses inside and out into the beautiful beings they were meant to be. I donate and have also volunteered with them when I can. I truly believe in Cindy Smith, her team of volunteers, and their mission to rescue and find safe homes for horses in need. Truly angels on Earth!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 30, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
January 11, 2013

I started volunteering at Central Virginia Horse Rescue nearly a year ago. At the time I had little knowledge or hands-on training around horses. Not only has the Rescue taught me how to act around ho... more

April 30, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

II have been volunteering at CVHR for over 2 years now and it has been an extremely rewarding way to spend my time. Horses in desperate need of help come and blossom into wonderful, healthy, well-behaved animals.
And it isn't just the horses who benefit. Everyone that spends time at the rescue
is welcomed to watch, to help, to learn- it is a great experience for everyone, from longtime horse owners to the children that come to camp and experience their first sight of a horse... or their first lesson in grooming.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 11, 2013

I started volunteering at Central Virginia Horse Rescue nearly a year ago. At the time I had little knowledge or hands-on training around horses. Not only has the Rescue taught me how to act around horses, how to understand them and care for them correctly, it has shown me what good can happen when someone is truly devoted to a cause. Every donation goes toward the care of the horses and these animals can remember that life is wonderful and that people can be trusted.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2012

Central Virginia Horse rescue is a wonderful place for me to take my 4hers to learn about what's involved in rescuing horses, donks, ponies,mules, and mini's. Cindy Smith is the epitome of what it ta... more

April 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I like to take my 4H club over to the rescue to see what happens to horses when people have no follow through. They get a good healthy dose or reality and it makes them strive to take the best care of their equines and if they need help not to feel bad about asking. Teaching our youth at a fairly young age the reality of the horse situation makes them better advocates in the future. So thanks Cindy and CVHR for driving home the point everytime I bring new kid's over it's working I see it in their presentation topics and what they want to do as they move on through the club. They will always get a non sugar coated answer when they ask questions and they love to come over and do chores to help out around the rescue be it grooming, bathing, cleaning stalls or water tubs we are so fortunate to have such knowledgeable people running this rescue..... So kudos to Cindy and her happy volunteers you all are doing a fantastic job...
October 25, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Central Virginia Horse rescue is a wonderful place for me to take my 4hers to learn about what's involved in rescuing horses, donks, ponies,mules, and mini's. Cindy Smith is the epitome of what it takes to run a rescue with order and conviction. She is very dedicated to her charges and has some of the nicest volunteers who are actually there to help and learn. CVHR is efficiently run and everyone is kept posted on what's happening at all times. My 4 Hers LOVE to go over and are constantly bugging me on when we are going back. It is an awesome facility and we feel welcomed every time we visit :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


3 previous reviews - show all
May 9, 2013

It was a pleasure when I could volunteer in person, but now I am miles away.. The founder, Cindy Smith, keeps me informed with news letters and personal answers when I have a question. The open way o... more

April 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I first heard of CVHR about 3 years ago when it was just getting going well. On my first visit, I knew it was going to be special. At the time, I was in driving distance and could volunteer. Since then I have moved too far away to be there in person, but based on my personal experience, I have total confidence that my donations will be well used and continue to send what I can regularly and for special causes. Cindy keeps us all very well informed about what is happening, progress, set backs, successes and losses. It is wonderful to watch the volunteer base and donor list continue to grow. I can't say enough about the wonderful work being done for equines AND for people. Many of the rescued horses have become companions and best friends for people with special needs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make it possible for CVHR to own its own farm and to have a few paid staff members.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 9, 2013

It was a pleasure when I could volunteer in person, but now I am miles away.. The founder, Cindy Smith, keeps me informed with news letters and personal answers when I have a question. The open way of communicating helps me feel secure that my dollars are well used. I have personally met the board members and they are honest and honorable to the maximum degree. If you want to help horses in jeapordy be the best that they can be.. Your money will be well used here.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

This rescue uses its time and the money raised in the most effective manner. Every penny counts. They have a great record of rehabilitating these horses and finding them excellent forever homes. I don't think ANYBODY does it better.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Well, it has been more than a year since I submitted a review for CVHR as a volunteer. I now live too far away to be very active so I have changed my "title" to donor. But in spite of the distance, I feel still very involved. Cindy keeps us up to date with shared pictures, news letters, information about the new horses coming in, and the reports on those who have been adopted in the past. I am as excited about this rescue now as I was when I first heard of it. This is a charity that has never let me down. I have never had any reason to doubt its integrity or to feel taken for granted. What I can do may not be much, but I always feel like I make a difference to a cause that is dear to my heart.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have not had the opportunity yet to visit the actual locations but have been following this group for a littl over a year and have seen the multitude of horses loves they have impacted. They are definitely a asset to the communtiy and I would advocate for them at a moments notice. I am also extremely excited about their Courtland location as its much closer to home and I hope to be able to assist with their efforts in our communtiy. Awesome people doing awesome work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I became aware of Central Virginia Horse Rescue when I was working as an equine specialist at our local animal shelter. Because our mares were not in danger, CVHR was jot able to take them. Due to an unusual course of events, one mare eventually ended up at CVHR in 2013. I began my relationship with this organization at that time and have been absolutely blown away at all they are able to achieve whilst working on a shoe-string budget. Gelding programs, training programs, general medical care, hoof trimmings, and floating teeth, not to mention emergency medical events...all funded by donations of the many, many people who support the amazing work these people do.
I will continue to support CVHR long after the mare is placed because I truly believe CVHR is a remarkable organization, and its leadership and farsightedness cannot be compared to any other equine rescue that I have experienced.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage more people to support CVHR to enable to expand to a larger location.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 25, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 24, 2013

Central VA Horse Rescue does rescue right. They take in horses that others might not want, but they don't take in more than they can handle. For the ones they cannot take, they network to find them go... more

September 25, 2013

Central Virginia Horse Rescue is one of a handful of rescues that I trust implicitly and support wholeheartedly. I am totally impressed with how well they take care of the horses in their care, take in and network those in need, and find the right home for every horse they adopt out. CVHR rocks!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Central VA Horse Rescue does rescue right. They take in horses that others might not want, but they don't take in more than they can handle. For the ones they cannot take, they network to find them good homes. They are GFAS certified, they are transparent and trustworthy. I'm never afraid to donate to this rescue. Founder Cindy Smith is my hero.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

CVHR is a rescue that does things right. They are GFAS certified which means a lot in my book. Cindy not only takes in rescues, which get the best of care, but she also helps others with herd dispersals and individual placements. I never have to worry about where my money goes when it goes to CVHR. They are a top notch rescue.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help clean barn Groom horses Spoil a resident help with facilities repair Volunteer