Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
109 Reviews
1234.990835
| 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review
May 11, 2013

more

May 11, 2013

Of the many horse rescue organizations I am familiar with, CVHR is one of the very best. Their ACTIVE dedication, rehabilitation and successful adoptions are a testimony to their professional and sincere efforts. I recommend them to anyone looking for a horse, and as a worthy donation recipient.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Cindy does an amazing job. My husband found information about the rescue a year ago. And with Cindy's help at 41 I was a very proud first time mom two three beautiful horses. I have had ups and downs but anytime I have needed her help she was there. All you need to do is go by for a visit and see. It's amazing to see the work and the progress and the love in all the animals for this one person who has given so very much for them. Thank you CVHR and thank you Cindy!!!!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 9, 2013

more

May 9, 2013

We adopted 2 ponies from CVHR. They came to CVHR starved and had never been handled. By the time we adopted them they were happy and healthy and very well behaved. Cindy does an amazing job with the horses she rescues!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 9, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
January 3, 2013

I meet CVHR and Cindy via Facebook while I was researching horse rescues. Her compassion, concern and true love for the horses and animals is extremely apparent. She is upfront and honest with going... more

May 9, 2013

I came in contact with CVHR through my own research about horse rescues. I live many states away from CVHR but I stay in touch via face book, newsletters and their website. Cindy Smith spends her life caring for and helping as many horses as she can. CVHR is nonprofit and they do as much as possible on an extremely small budget. Although I wish I was able to volunteer and get to work at CVHR I am unable due to the distance. I help with donations when I can but always wish I could do more because I value the work they do daily to improve the lives of horses. Cindy is always in contact with her supporters and is honest and up front keeping everybody informed on CVHR happenings. I am amazed time and time again over what they do and how they help the most desperate of horses. The world is a much better place because of what Cindy and her volunteers do at CVHR!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 3, 2013

I meet CVHR and Cindy via Facebook while I was researching horse rescues. Her compassion, concern and true love for the horses and animals is extremely apparent. She is upfront and honest with goings on at CVHR and keeps everyone updated with frequent communication. I donate when I can and no matter the dollar amount Cindy is grateful. I wish I lived closer to CVHR so that I would be able to lend a helping hand directly to the rescue. I will continue to support CVHR because the work they do is so very important. Time and time again CVHR does amazing positive things in the lives of the animals she rescues! The humans that adopt her animals are just as lucky! She provides a win-win situation for the animals and the animals new family!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I accidently found CVHR while I was researching horse slaughter and rescue places. CVHR caught my eye as an excellent horse rescue farm. Several heartbreaking horse stories made me take some action in terms of donating. Cindy from CVHR responded with heartfelt thanks right away. No matter how small the donation may be she stresses that every cent is put towards the care of the horses and is extremely grateful. She comments to her friends on face book and thanks every individual for every act of kindness they perform. Cindy goes above and beyond in terms of keep her friends up to date on individual horses and cases. The pictures she posts show both the negative and positive sides of the horse rescue family life at CVHR. I live many states away and can donate to horse rescues in my own area but I choose to give to CVHR. I have a special interest in a few of her rescue horses and I so enjoy how she will put a donation directly to the care of a specific horse when requested and will quickly answer questions in regards to all her horses. I so wished I was able to volunteer with all the great people at CVHR but living in CT prevents me from doing so. There should be more people like Cindy! The entire CVHR team does truly amazing things! Cheers to them all and the animals they rescue!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2013

more

May 9, 2013

I had a great experience adopting from CVHR. They made the whole process easy, they did do their check on references, which they should. Cindy was honest and always in contact with me. Emailed me right back. They took care of everything on their end as far as making sure the horse was ready for transport since we were a few states away.

D Hamilton, NH USA

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 9, 2013

more

May 9, 2013

I am your average horse owner and love to follow CVHR on the wonderful rescue and rehabilitating work they do. Thank God there is a place like this for horses. The people seem so dedicated and willing to help even if it's not a horse on their farm. I have donated to their online auction and love to read up on the latest news at the farm. I hope they are around for many, many more years.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 5, 2013

This rescue uses its time and the money raised in the most effective manner. Every penny counts. They have a great record of rehabilitating these horses and finding them excellent forever homes. I don... more

May 9, 2013

It was a pleasure when I could volunteer in person, but now I am miles away.. The founder, Cindy Smith, keeps me informed with news letters and personal answers when I have a question. The open way of communicating helps me feel secure that my dollars are well used. I have personally met the board members and they are honest and honorable to the maximum degree. If you want to help horses in jeapordy be the best that they can be.. Your money will be well used here.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

This rescue uses its time and the money raised in the most effective manner. Every penny counts. They have a great record of rehabilitating these horses and finding them excellent forever homes. I don't think ANYBODY does it better.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Well, it has been more than a year since I submitted a review for CVHR as a volunteer. I now live too far away to be very active so I have changed my "title" to donor. But in spite of the distance, I feel still very involved. Cindy keeps us up to date with shared pictures, news letters, information about the new horses coming in, and the reports on those who have been adopted in the past. I am as excited about this rescue now as I was when I first heard of it. This is a charity that has never let me down. I have never had any reason to doubt its integrity or to feel taken for granted. What I can do may not be much, but I always feel like I make a difference to a cause that is dear to my heart.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2013

more

May 9, 2013

As a horse person and animal lover, I look for organizations that help animals because they can not help themselves. I have been following Central Virginia Horse Rescue for quite awhile. The work that CVHR does is wonderful. They take neglected, abused and abandonded horses and rehibitate, train and rehome them. Cindy and her crew of volunteers spend countless hours caring for the animals at CVHR.

Often rescues are so overwhelmed that they will just send animals out to whom ever shows an interest. NOT CVHR, there is a reference check and the horse and potential adopter must "gel".
Whenever I hear of someone looking for a horse, I suggest checking with CVHR.

As a person with many years of horse experience, I would say that CVHR is one of the best around.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 9, 2013

more

May 9, 2013

I have been following Central VA Horse Rescue on Facebook as a resident of Virginia and rider/horse lover. They do an amazing job of updating the public with their horse news and you can tell the management has their heart in the right place. This is the rescue I would trust if I was ever adopting a rescue horse. They also seem to be a very transparent organization, a quality I think is lacking from a lot of non profits.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 9, 2013

more

May 9, 2013

I adopted a sweet wonderful standardbred retired race horse from them back in Feb 2013. CVHR does such a wonderful job with taking care of their horses. They are just incredible. They rescue horses, ponies, mules, and more! I'm so glad that I got my gal from them. We both have been blessed by CVHR!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help clean barn
Groom horses
Spoil a resident
help with facilities repair Volunteer