Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
127 Reviews
1234.992135
Previous | 1 2 3...11 |
Write A Review
May 8, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

May 8, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

I have been following Central Virginia Horse Rescue on Facebook for about two years. After watching the activities vicariously for that length of time, it became obvious to my husband and me--who are both lifetime horse people--that the director, Cindy Smith, was not only a sharp horsewoman with a big heart, but also a careful and responsible financial manager. After watching numerous horses truly brought back from the brink of death to excellent health, and watching the same horses receive care and training entirely appropriate to their ages and abilities, it was an easy choice to decide to horse shop at CVHR when we had the need for a new horse. It seemed odd to us that even though we had both adopted many dogs from shelters that neither of us had even known about horse adoptions until we found CVHR. We are now preparing to acquire another horse and our first thought was to check out the "Available for Adoption" page at CVHR to see if any of these horses fit our needs. I applaud Cindy and her volunteers for their devotion to each horse that they take in and care for. This is a rescue with a long-range business plan that makes sense as well as the knowledge and the good common sense to make sure everything is done well.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make sure they get the funding needed to be able to move to a larger facility.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 8, 2014

more


1 previous review
May 9, 2013

I adopted a sweet wonderful standardbred retired race horse from them back in Feb 2013. CVHR does such a wonderful job with taking care of their horses. They are just incredible. They rescue horses, p... more

May 8, 2014

I adopted my sweet Standie from CVHR. She went from harness racing to broad mare to Amish to Camelot. I am so grateful they rescued her! They do amazing work! My daughter and I donate regularly to CVHR so they can continue their rescues.
May 9, 2013

I adopted a sweet wonderful standardbred retired race horse from them back in Feb 2013. CVHR does such a wonderful job with taking care of their horses. They are just incredible. They rescue horses, ponies, mules, and more! I'm so glad that I got my gal from them. We both have been blessed by CVHR!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 6, 2014

more

May 6, 2014

I met Cindy, before she started her rescue. I purchased a horse from her, from just talking to her on the phone. She was very honest, with everything she told me about the horse, and even delivered him to me. I have been following her rescue from the start. I am amazed at the work she has done and continues to do. She has over 20,000 likes in 4 years, and a lot of the other rescues take 10 years to get that many. That should tell you she is a good person, and runs a great rescue. I don't have a lot of money to donate, but I do love her sweatshirts and tee shirts, and I buy them and support her. I have learned a lot from following her as she always puts out very useful information on horses. Everyone is put on this earth for something, and this is her calling. I wish her all the luck in the years to come. I bless all of her volunteer's as I know how hard they all work. I hope she can get her farm, so she can continue to save horses. and place them in forever homes. She is my number one horse rescue. God Bless!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Buy her, the bigger farm she needs to continue her good works. :)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 6, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
January 4, 2013

With Central Virginia Horse Rescue you see exactly where your donations are going. They will ask for help with "bail" and transport for Auction horse or with other horses in dire need. They also sh... more

May 6, 2014

We have been donating to CVHR for a couple of years and will continue to do so. When they intake a new horse they evaluate what the needs are for this particular animal and work to achieve those goals so that the horse can become adoptable into a new and loving family. We feel that CVHR is a very deserving Rescue. Cindy and the volunteers are all amazing and have helped so many.
January 4, 2013

With Central Virginia Horse Rescue you see exactly where your donations are going. They will ask for help with "bail" and transport for Auction horse or with other horses in dire need. They also share out with other rescues. Which I think is in the True Spirit of Rescues. It is not the Rescues in need it is he Animals that are in Need. These animals have trusted people and ended up being starved and hurt and cast out. Thanks You to Cindy and all the Volunteers for all that they do help these Horses.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

This is a wonderful Rescue. That is why we donate to them, monthy. They use their funds wisely and help get the animals forever homes. We sometimes go to the Facebook page of Camelot Auction and we always seem to see Central Virginia Horse Rescue raising funds to pull horses from the slaughter pens that are throw aways, (We have a TROW AWAY Horse and I could not imagine our lives without this magnificent horse). They seem to always be able to save some. They get these creatures back to a livable life and then find Forever Homes for them. Please Always Adopt , horses, dogs ,cats and all animals need homes. Sure some of the animals have issues but they were not born that way… People make them that way.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Equine Welfare Society collaborates with CVHR to help give unwanted horses the health and skills needed to find new homes and happiness. Cindy and her staff have been nothing short of amazing. Most refreshing and encouraging is that they support and encourage fellow rescue organizations to work together for the welfare of horses. Thank you!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 6, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 6, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have been following and donating to CVHR for several years now. Although I have not yet had the opportunity to meet Cindy, or visit the rescue in person, seeing the wonderful care given to many unfortunate horses, donkeys, etc. really touches my heart. With the knowledge and networking they do at CHVR, many other rescue organizations could learn allot from them. CVHR keeps its followers and financial supporters updated with great pictures and bios on its website and Facebook. Its always so very sad to see these horses come to the rescue pretty much starving to death...to see them come along their journey at CVHR...gaining weight, being loved, trained and valued as we are meant to do is heartwarming to say the least! I hope someday to adopt our next horse from CVHR. They do an excellent job!
May 2, 2014

more

May 2, 2014

I first learned about CVHR in early 2013 when we moved to Spotsylvania, Va and bought our "dream retirement" farm. I have always had a soft spot for animals in need and I knew I wanted my first experience as a horse owner to be with a rescue horse/pony. I originally contacted CVHR regarding Bogey, and Cindy arranged for me to come have a visit to meet him. Cindy was wonderful when I arrived at the rescue with my two kids, 1 other child who was visiting with us and one of my rescue pups I brought back from the streets of Italy. Looking back, I realize this was not the ideal way to meet a horse and have a conversation with Cindy about horse ownership; I am certain she was fairly concerned that I brought along so many little bodies with me, BUT she still made me feel welcome. She allowed me to visit with Bogey and understand my own comfort level with him while we talked. Although I decided I was not ready for him at that point (because I was completely green as a horse owner), she understatedly allowed me to come to this decision on my own. I am sure she was thinking the same thing about my greenness and how nervous I was around him. But, I took this experience and and over the past year I have gained so much confidence around horses by observing others, listening to experienced horse people, taking riding lessons with my daughter with a professional trainer, and reading/watching videos about horse care and training. Through this learning process we did end up adopting a rescue pony from a wonderful woman who rescued him and who supports local rescues and after a month of having him, the same woman helped me find my Haflinger mare who needed a home (who I am completely in love with). This past year has been one of the most wonderful learning experiences of my life and we are now a confident horse family. Our little rescue boy has his own professional pony trainer who is working wonders with him under saddle. He now has a plan for his future and it has been so great to see him find his potential. I have CVHR to thank for our success and happiness on this journey just by staying abreast of their updates and information on their website and their Facebook page I become more educated on a daily basis. We definitely have room for 1 (or maybe 2:)) more horses on our farm in the future and regardless if the horse comes directly from CVHR, they do influence our choices. I really appreciate the helpful links, shares and amazing work Cindy and all of her volunteers do tirelessly. Simply amazing the work they do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 1, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 6, 2013

I have volunteered at Central Virgina Horse Rescue for more than 2 years now. Cindy,the CEO and founder ,does all and more thats she's capable of doing to ensure that horses that come across her path... more

May 1, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I've been volunteering for Central Virginia Horse Rescue for 2+ years and adopted our 2 horses from them also. They will do almost anything to help a horse in need. I have seen totally emaciated horses be brought back to health and ultimately adopted into good, approved homes.
Cindy Smith,
the executive director, is willing to do almost anything to help horses...including exhausting all their savings. She spends all her waking time either working with the horses, trying to raise funds for animals surgeries or food or trying to coordinate with other people agencies to find horses (any equines ) homes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 6, 2013

I have volunteered at Central Virgina Horse Rescue for more than 2 years now. Cindy,the CEO and founder ,does all and more thats she's capable of doing to ensure that horses that come across her path are very well taken care. She has rescued numerous horses that were emaciated and brought them back to a good weight and found them suitable homes . She has made improvements to the facilities and
continues to try to insure she's providing the best she is capable of . I love volunteering there !!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2012

I have been volunteering for CVHR since Oct.,2010. My husband and I adopted 2 horses from CVHR in November ,2010 and are overwhelmingly please with them. Although my time there is more a matter of "socializing" the horses or poinies than working due to my own physical limitations, I do feel part of the "CVHR" family. Cindy willingly gives of herself to provide a haven for equines that are either facing slaughter or have already been subjected to abuse. Unfortunately,due to the rural area the rescue is in ,there is not a large population base to draw volunteers from and Cindy is more often than not the one doing all the work. She has a heart devoted to caring for all animals and the knowledge and skills to under gird that heart.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 1, 2014

more

May 1, 2014

Found CVHR through Facebook and have been following their posts ever since. They sometimes rescue horses from Camelot which I am familiar with. I have the utmost respect for everyone at this organization. It brightens my day to see via their pictures and posts what they do day in and day out to help equines in need. You can tell they are extremely transparent in everything they do and their love for these animals is evident. This is one rescue organization that I would donate to time and time again without hesitation. If I lived close by, I would be there every day to lend a hand and do whatever needed to be done. It would be a pleasure to work beside them to accomplish the amazing things that they do for these wonderful animals in need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes but would love to find a way to fundraise to support them

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 1, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 24, 2013

Central Virginia Horse Rescue is an amazing nonprofit! they help as many horses as they can financially afford to. They rescue and rehabilitate horses that would otherwise not find a home and they fin... more

May 1, 2014

I found CVHR on FB one day and I have been hooked ever since. My daughter and I volunteer, when we can, to help with the horses. I am very amazed at all of the horses that CVHR has helped in the few years I have known them. I think they give an excellent opportunity to many horses that would have been passed by. So many of their rescues just needed a soft place to land to recover from what life has dealt them, and they have gone on to be fantastic pets and companions. Many have moved on to have great jobs as riding/trail buddies. I love the opportunity to help. They keep everyone up to date on the progress through FB and their web site. I do not think there is a more devoted group of people in the area...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Central Virginia Horse Rescue is an amazing nonprofit! they help as many horses as they can financially afford to. They rescue and rehabilitate horses that would otherwise not find a home and they find it a great one. The staff is so caring and helpful they go the extra mile to make sure the horses they rescue end up in a forever home. I just Love them!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I found them on Facebook when I was looking for a rescue in my area. I found a couple, but there was something about that Rosebud with her hats. I started to follow them watching what they did and waiting to decide if I should donate, wanting to make sure they were on the up and up. Then Rowan arrived she grabbed my heart and seeing the CVHR team struggle to to find out ways to make the old girl as happy and comfortable as she could be had me sold and I started to donate. I do not have much time or money to help, but the team is so wonderful and very thankful they make every single volunteer so important. I love them! They help so many without hesitation. They know their limits for the amount of animals they can help, which is not something easy for any rescue. They have helped rehab and find homes for many horses since I have been following and with more volunteers they could help so many more!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...11 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help clean barn Groom horses Spoil a resident help with facilities repair Volunteer