Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
109 Reviews
1234.990835
Previous | 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review
February 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I became aware of Central Virginia Horse Rescue when I was working as an equine specialist at our local animal shelter. Because our mares were not in danger, CVHR was jot able to take them. Due to an unusual course of events, one mare eventually ended up at CVHR in 2013. I began my relationship with this organization at that time and have been absolutely blown away at all they are able to achieve whilst working on a shoe-string budget. Gelding programs, training programs, general medical care, hoof trimmings, and floating teeth, not to mention emergency medical events...all funded by donations of the many, many people who support the amazing work these people do.
I will continue to support CVHR long after the mare is placed because I truly believe CVHR is a remarkable organization, and its leadership and farsightedness cannot be compared to any other equine rescue that I have experienced.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage more people to support CVHR to enable to expand to a larger location.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 25, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 24, 2013

Central VA Horse Rescue does rescue right. They take in horses that others might not want, but they don't take in more than they can handle. For the ones they cannot take, they network to find them go... more

September 25, 2013

Central Virginia Horse Rescue is one of a handful of rescues that I trust implicitly and support wholeheartedly. I am totally impressed with how well they take care of the horses in their care, take in and network those in need, and find the right home for every horse they adopt out. CVHR rocks!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Central VA Horse Rescue does rescue right. They take in horses that others might not want, but they don't take in more than they can handle. For the ones they cannot take, they network to find them good homes. They are GFAS certified, they are transparent and trustworthy. I'm never afraid to donate to this rescue. Founder Cindy Smith is my hero.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

CVHR is a rescue that does things right. They are GFAS certified which means a lot in my book. Cindy not only takes in rescues, which get the best of care, but she also helps others with herd dispersals and individual placements. I never have to worry about where my money goes when it goes to CVHR. They are a top notch rescue.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

After following and being a supporter of CVHR for a few years, my husband and I went down for a weekend visit. Not only have Cindy and her volunteers shined from afar, in person they were all even more exceptional. The horses are all in wonderful shape, with great manners and friendly attitudes, the barn is very clean and well kept- everything is, once again, run just the way it should be. With so many organizations being "shady", CVHR stands out as one of the most honest and transparent organizations I have ever dealt with. You really can not go wrong supporting this rescue and the horses in Cindy's care.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them a winning lottery ticket. Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 27, 2012

I began looking for a horse about 2 years ago after coming out of "horsey" remission:) Wasn't really sure what I was looking for, but I did find CVHR:) And there she was...a tall, lanky, black, a bi... more

July 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I adopted my mare from CVHR in Oct,2011 and have never regretted it. Cindy and the volunteers do such amazing work with equines that have had their trust and hearts broken. When I am ready, I will certainly go to CVHR for another rescued horse. No doubts, no reservations....CVHR is a leader among rescues and sets high standards for others to follow.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I began looking for a horse about 2 years ago after coming out of "horsey" remission:) Wasn't really sure what I was looking for, but I did find CVHR:) And there she was...a tall, lanky, black, a bit bossy, and a bit of a diva. Cindy Smith met with me when I went to visit Sassy and had all the info on her. Very knowledgeable and friendly, Cindy immediatly won my heart (right after Sassy). I so admire what Cindy and CVHR stands for....integrity,love,sharing their knowledge and the most important caring for these beautiful equine! It has to be so difficult doing and seeing what they do, but Cindy and her group do it everyday....many times a day. I am now a very happy girl with my Sassy. She will be with me for life. I owe it all to CVHR and there is no way for me to pay them back for bringing me such joy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2012

As a rule, I do NOT recommend Peeps. BUT~~I am rather fortunate to know Central Virginia Horse Rescue and it's Queen, Cindy Smith, in many capacities. I adopted a donkey from her, To Sir With Love, to... more

May 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Once Again...I sound like a broken recording but the longer I know this Rescue and it's People...the more impressed I am. Cindy and Randy have hearts the size of Mountains but their compassion is coupled with practical good sense. They reach out in many areas of the USA but easily Central Virginia Horse Rescue is the finest Equine Rescue in Virginia. Cindy also PATIENTLY answers 100's of questions each week on a full range of Equine subjects to help novice owners better care for their own horses. This Rescue is a bright shining star....in a gray paved equine world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Zero Zio...except to find her more help :)

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

As a rule, I do NOT recommend Peeps. BUT~~I am rather fortunate to know Central Virginia Horse Rescue and it's Queen, Cindy Smith, in many capacities. I adopted a donkey from her, To Sir With Love, to help along an very sick yearling we had. The little Gray longeared fella has given me many special moments. He came to us from CVHR COMPLETE...everything had been attended to. His feet were trimmed, his shots were up to date, his Coggins was live and he was in GREAT health. Cindy represented him HONESTLY and Candidly...and isn't that refreshing in this world? I have also served shoulder to shoulder with her as an admin for the well-known CHW Weekly page and got to see her faithful written responses daily in action to save auction horses and campaign for them until ALL had homes. Many many times, she took home the LAST Horse Standing in number 10 pen to see it saved. Last, but not least, I know Cindy as a donor to Central VA Horse Rescue. She is SQUEEKY impeccably clean & transparent in all financial dealings and it is all but impossible to get her to do ANYTHING for herself. To spell it out: She wakes up, lives, breathes, eats and sleeps dreaming about saving horses. A steward to trust and support! You have mine!! ~~~Kate W.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 20, 2013

more

May 20, 2013

Thanks to CVHR, many neglected or abandoned horses have had a second chance. I am grateful for their hard work and dedication to helping horses.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 20, 2013

more

May 20, 2013

CVHR has a high level of compassion for the animals in their care, What sets them apart from so many other rescues, in my mind, is that they also have a sense of responsibility that keeps them from getting in over their heads in terms of taking on more animals than they can provide for. They also encourage eligible animals to move on to permanent private homes thus allowing room to take in more animals in need

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing other than try to create a consistent source of assistance revenue to enable them to continue their mission without concern over finances!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 20, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2012

Only one word comes to mind when I think of Central Virginia Horse Rescue...fantastic. Cindy Smith goes to all lengths to be sure each of the animals' individual needs are met in an extremely caring ... more

May 20, 2013

Central VA Horse Rescue is the best! They possess priceless knowledge that they are willing to share with the horse community as well as rescuing horses. Through this vast use of knowledge, many horses have been brought back to health and been able to have wonderful homes. Thank you, CVHR, for all you do for the equines and the community. Keep up the great work!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Only one word comes to mind when I think of Central Virginia Horse Rescue...fantastic. Cindy Smith goes to all lengths to be sure each of the animals' individual needs are met in an extremely caring way and she never gives up on the ones in her care. She tirelessly gives of herself to have this rescue be the best! Not only does she care for the rescues, but she also shares openly with the public as to the status of each rescue. There really are no words to describe what a pleasure it is to interact with Cindy and the rescue.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 20, 2013

more

May 20, 2013

They do their best, from the heart..they love the horses and take the best care of them..and most of all they rescue them from a horrendous fate..God Bless them!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 20, 2013

more

May 20, 2013

I rescued a beautiful Standardbred Gelding, working with Central Virginia Horse Rescue is a pleasure. I have two rescues, and believe that these dedicated horse lovers that save and rehab these horses into healthy beautiful rideable animals is a true calling that very few of us can truly accomplish. The sacrifices made by rescues that really go un-noticed by the general public never ceases to amaze me.

Julie Duchin- Baniowski

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help clean barn
Groom horses
Spoil a resident
help with facilities repair Volunteer