Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
1234.916675
Write A Review
February 21, 2014

more

February 21, 2014

I have had the honor of volunteering several times at the Central Texas SPCA through my company's biannual community service day, and I can tell you I look forward to those two days a year to return! This is NOT your run of the mill shelter, where the animals look lost and lonely and scared, because EACH animal is treated like a family member. They are loved, cared for, given attention and training and medical care. While the animals aren't in forever homes or foster care, they are treated like they are the cherished pets and family members they are. There is not a single dog or cat there that is treated like they are the discards of families past, like a lot of other shelters. CTSPCA runs on a shoe-string budget and the dedication of their board members with help from volunteers, but you wouldn't know it by seeing how happy the animals are! I am so thankful that CTSPCA is in existence, because they give hope and new life to the animals that come into their facility.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes within the organization, just wish more people would volunteer and donate....

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 31, 2013

more

July 31, 2013

I started as a volunteer with the CTSPCA in 2001 and have never stopped. I love the home-like environment they provide the animals and that they are incredibly committed to providing full vet care, including what's needed for sick or injured animals, and thoroughly screening applicants to ensure the animals go home to a great, forever home. The staff is very small--devoted to animal care--and fundraising and marketing is done by volunteers so I know that the money I donate is spent on caring for the animals. They do so much with so little and keep the shelter clean and welcoming. When you volunteer or donate here, you're making a big impact. And you can tell the animals are loved and happy--in their large spaces (no small metal cages here). I've adopted from here too and appreciate the way they followed up to see how things were going and that they will always be a resource for me and the community on animal-related issues.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2012

more

October 2, 2012

I previously lived in the Houston, TX area and worked with many larger shelters and rescue groups. I have become associated with this shelter since moving here. This is one of the best groups I have ever dealt with bar none. They do more with less money than most shelters and the Board and volunteers are devoted and proactive. I am the Kennel Manager for a large vet clinic in the area, I have managed large Boarding Kennels and was an Animal Control Officer; I understand more than most, just what it takes to run a facility like this. The Central Texas SPCA is a great example of what a shelter should be.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012

more

October 1, 2012

Cetral Texas SPCA is a small shelter that does a huge amount of good in the community. The volunteers and Board members are actively involved and try on a daily basis to educate the public and improve animals' lives. They are dedicated to "no-kill" and have done much in the community to meet the goals. I have served as a Board member and as a volunteer. My experience in both realms was inspiring to me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

This shelter offers a great environment to volunteer - there's plenty of things to do that vary from animal caretaking to yard work to fundraising. It's never boring! Although it's small compared to other wonderful animal shelters in the area, the dogs and cats have lots of room to play with companions and/or human visitors. It's just an incredibly special place.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

The caring folks and CTSPCA will help match you with a dog or kitty that is the perfect fit for you and your family! They let you know as much about the pets background as they can and the staff is knowledgeable about animal behavior and very helpful with their observations. Visitors can visit with dogs on leash or in a playpen and the cats have walk in enclosures the size of small rooms! A wonderful shelter!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

I joined the Central Texas SPCA as a volunteer about 8 years ago, and I love this organization. I chose this animal shelter because it was a "no kill" organization, and I am so happy I did. Not only does this shelter keep the animals until they are adopted, but a) they treat every single animal with respect and love b) they take care to promote animals who are less likely to be adopted fast c) they do not hesitate to turn down potential adopters if they believe that the animals will not have the right quality of life. The facilities are clean and the cats (I volunteer on the cat side) have nice habitats that allow them to move around and socilaize with other cats and people. Every habitat is big enough for visitors and volunteers to share the space with the cats. All habitats have toys, brushes and poles. The litter boxes are cleaned on a regular basis. To give you an example of how exceptionally respectful of animals this shelter is, one of the cats, Amos, was a resident for around 16 years! Even though it became evident that he was not adoptable (he got adopted and returned several times), he was the king of the shelter and lived a long and happy life there until he passed away this year from kidney disease. The shelter did everything to take care of Amos until there was nothing that could be done to keep him comfortable. This is one example among many why the Central Texas SPCA is a great organization and I'm proud to give them my support as a volunteer and a donor.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

I have worked with the Central Texas SPCA for over two years and continue to be amazed at the dedication and compassion of the staff and volunteers that make this a great place for these dogs and cats. Not only are they an asset to the community but provide a fantastic home environment for the animals. I adopted one of my dogs from this organization and it was a great experience and they were a wonderful group to work with - and best of all Clyde has become a very important part of our family!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

I've actually worked at CTXSPCA as well as volunteered. They treat their residents with the utmost respect and give them any and all the care they could possibly need. The residents are happy, healthy and have a place to stay until a suitable home adopts them. I love the Central Texas SPCA for all they do!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

September 26, 2012

more

September 26, 2012

I found the Central Texas SPCA when I moved to the Austin area a couple years ago. The staff and volunteers alike have a special love for the animals at the shelter and treat them like royalty while they are in their in between homes. The "residents" are treated to several walks every day and more snuggles, hugs and kisses than they can handle. The CTSPCA doesn't just give their dogs and cats to anyone. The process to adopt is complete and involves a thorough check in to prior vet history with other family pets, home environment assessments, as well as a required meet and greet with other family members (pets included) to make sure the pet is going to the best possible home. Whether you are hoping to adopt or volunteer here, you can rest assured that the animals at the shelter are treated like family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers