Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
30 Reviews
1234.833335
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 5, 2012

I've been involved with CenterStage Theater in Lake Forest for 21 years now, having first acted in one of their plays. I have never been involved with a better organization, full of people who are pa... more

September 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have supporting Community Theater for over 25 years. And the quality of shows, talent, etc at CenterStage of Lake Forest, IL is second to none. I have introduced their shows to friends and they have been amazed at what they do there, bringing top entertainment to the area.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

cant think of anything

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2012

I've been involved with CenterStage Theater in Lake Forest for 21 years now, having first acted in one of their plays. I have never been involved with a better organization, full of people who are passionate with bringing great amateur entertainment as a professional level. The level of impact that the theater has had on the community is the number of kids who started acting in shows at a young and kept coming back thru high school and college. And to see their faces in the audience, at a rehearsal when they come back into town for a visit. Ive seen theaters come and go, especially in a tight economy, but CenterStage has found a way to keep it going. This is truly a labor of love, of family (whole families have acted together in shows there, even where the parents never acted before). Last year I had friends who never seen a play there before (Joseph) and were blown away with the quality of the production.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

September 9, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

September 9, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

CenterStage in Lake Forest has existed for 43 years. The group has always attracted professional directors, choreographers, costumers, and musicians as well as technical directors to provide a great experience for the cast, crew and audience members alike. A hallmark of their annual summer musicals is a live orchestra, and, in fact, often the smaller shows feature a combo when appropriate. The group presents a variety of productions, from the recent Twelve Angry Men and The Glass Menagerie, with the audience and set all on stage, to Guys and Dolls, The Music Man and Oliver! Dozens of volunteers work behind the scenes to create the productions, manage the house, sell the tickets...all jobs that need to be done. I have worked many shows and can attest to the quality of the productions. In addition, the group is famous for a welcoming attitude, from auditions to set strike. This is community theatre as it is meant to be. While not guaranteed, several couples met and got married thanks to their participation in CenterStage shows!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more funds!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2012

more

April 6, 2012

Centerstage has put on a number of wonderful plays we have attended for many years. As an example, the last one, 12 Angry Men, was a powerful lesson to put aside our prejudices about race and social standing and put ourselves in another person's shoes. The audience and also the participants benefit as well- to expand their talents in the arts- whether acting, directing, scripting, casting or set creating.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2012

more

April 5, 2012

Centerstage in Lake Forest is a community theatre with over 100 productions over the past 30 years. There is a place for everyone of all ages and experience from novice to pro in the cast or crew. Where else can someone like me with a lot more passion than talent have a chance to perform some of the best music ever written? I will always remember being a part of Kiss Me Kate, Annie, The Pirates of Penzance, and Community Capers. Music and theatre reach people in unique ways, and Centerstage is a labor of love that deserves all the support they can get.

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 5, 2012

more

April 5, 2012

CenterStage is a great community theater! I have been a performer in the shows as well as an audience member, and I have found the people to be warm and welcoming. The shows are always well done. CenterStage is a wonderful place to meet new friends, and it provides a great source of entertainment for the entire community!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 5, 2012

more

April 5, 2012

Twelve Angry Me
Upon arriving for the production of “Twelve Angry Men,” I was warmly greeted by the production staff and shown to the seating area. The audience seating around the stage area gave an intimate view and made the audience feel part of the production. The set was simple, yet
detailed enough to highlight the actor’s passionate delivery of their lines. Their passion made me feel like I was living in that time period, seated in the jury room listening to the deliberations. The actors assumed the characters they were portraying as angry, argumentative, begrudging, with fairness, or quick to condemn. They showed how stereotyped people could be. The play brought out many emotions we all have felt in our lives. It was well worth seeing this play.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2012

more

April 5, 2012

For over 40 years, CenterStage in Lake Forest has exemplified the full potential of community theatre for developing and showcasing local talent. CenterStage has been a home to gifted performers of all ages, from all over the Chicago area. I have been a supporter of CenterStage for almost twenty years. While I now participate as an audience member and financial supporter, in past years, my wife, two daughters, and I have all participated both on-stage and behind the scenes. Not only has CenterStage provided us with wonderful entertainment, it has been the source of many new friends. When I count my blessings, my wonderful extended CenterStage family is always included.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2012

more

April 5, 2012

First time to the theater and loved Twelve Angry Men. Great use of space and superb acting. Felt this show could have been at Northlight with a higher ticket price.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2012

more

April 5, 2012

Centerstage in Lake Forest is a wonderful community organization that provides entertainment that includes a wide variety of venues. Lively musicals, hilarious comedy and thought-provoking dramas give us in the community an opportunity to enjoy our talented neighbors and friends right in our own background (Gorton Community Center in Lake Forest).

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2012

more

April 5, 2012

Although I have yet to see a show at the theatre as I just very recently joined the group, I am very please at the communication level the theatre provides. Reading past reviews and the theatre's location is the main reason I decided to join up as a member. I look forward to upcoming shows (when my rehearsal schedule allows) and am pleased to know we have Centerstage as a substitute for downtown shows. Lili

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

CenterStage welcomes volunteers. Scroll down for a link to our volunteer page on the right for a list of jobs available to anyone who would like to become involved with CenterStage. Volunteer