Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
49 Reviews
1234.938785
| 1 2 3 45 |
Write A Review
October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Not only am I a proud Board Member of Centerlink, but as the Executive Director of an LGBT community center I can say that this organizations has greatly benefited us. From the leadership Conference to the fine staff and Executive Director, Centerlink is a terrific resource and amazing network.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I have had the opportunity to work with Terry Stone and CenterLink in one of the most amazing processes I've been a part of. Terry facilitated the merger of two statewide LGBT organizations in Wisconsin. Initially it looked bleak, but we were able to overcome barriers with the help of Terry and the competence and concern of CenterLink.

I was so impressed with the organization, I have asked Terry to facilitate two board retreats for a local and national non-profit I am involved in. I highly recommend CenterLink and the work they do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 29, 2009

CenterLink is one of the few LGBT organizations around that makes our entire movement stronger because they build capacity and professionalism among LGBT community centers. Because Centers are key to... more

October 17, 2013

I was on the board of CenterLink in the 1990's and I returned 10 years ago because of how important I thought their work was. CenterLink is under the radar for many in our community, but it is a literal lifeline to LGBT Centers and their staff around the country and even in some places outside of the country. Collectively, LGBT Centers represent the largest part of the LGBT movement's infrastructure nationwide. The strength of these Centers has a direct correlation to the strength of local and thus the state and national LGBT movements. CenterLink is the ONLY organization that exists to both promote the development of new Centers and keep our existing Centers strong and healthy and growing--so they can better serve our communities. Through an impressive program of training, consulting, networking and technical assistance, CenterLink is helping LGBT community centers--from the smallest to the largest--to thrive. Even though I run the largest LGBT organization of any kind on the planet, I have greatly benefited from CenterLink's work. Plus, as a donor to CenterLInk, I'm incredibly impressed with the bang for the buck that I get. I see the results that CenterLink achieves and I've heard the testimonials. They're really doing a great job.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Recruit more board members who are not Center CEO's/E.D.'s and who could raise more money for CenterLink so the organization could expand to provide even more help to Centers around the country.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 29, 2009

CenterLink is one of the few LGBT organizations around that makes our entire movement stronger because they build capacity and professionalism among LGBT community centers. Because Centers are key to the health and strength of LGBT communities across the country. CenterLink's work is vital. That's why I'm so involved. CenterLink provides technical assistance to LGBT Centers larage and small. It helps groups of people who want to form new Centers in their hometowns do so in ways that are smart and strategic so that the Centers they form will last. It provides support and leadership development to executive directors and board members of Centers so that they can more effectively lead their organizations. It links people doing the work of Centers with one another so they never have to feel alone and so they always have colleagues to whom they can turn.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

a growing number of LGBT Centers nationwide that are strong, stable and effective and in Center Executive Directors/CEO's who have a place to turn for help and so do their jobs better. All of these things make local LGBT communities stronger.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find ways to keep doing what CenterLInk is doing and to be able to help even more Centers.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

watching the number of LGBT community centers grow and impact the health and strength of their own communities. I also enjoy seeing the extraordinary amount of results CenterLink gets with only a tiny budget and the difference they are making.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

CenterLink's two staff members bring a great deal of experience to their work. Both have run LGBT community centers and they understand the needs of theier clients better than most. Plus, every member of the board of directors is extremely dedicated.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Create a leadership development/capacity building program for cities across the country with LGBT community centers. This would help improve local leadership and build healthy organizations that would make local communities stronger and more powerful.

Ways to make it better...

more funders who care about state and local activism understood the vital role that LGBT community centers play in building communities that advance our cause.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

long term sustainable funding outside the foundation world. It's harder for CenterLInk to develop funding streams from private individuals because CenterLink's immediate constituency is organizations, not individuals. And, dues alone cannot sustain it.

One thing I'd also say is that...

CenterLink as an organization offers a huge bang for the buck in terms of the impact of its work for very little cost. Spread the word!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

I am a board member at OutCentral, the LGBT Center in Nashville, TN and the assistance and support from CenterLink has been insurmountable! Words cannot express. The resources, information, and networking have been invaluable.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Building LGBT centers from the ground up is tricky work, but I have a lot of the connecting pieces from CenterLink to get our Center to where we need to be. Terry Stone CenterLink's wonderful ED is coming in Jan to Nashville to help us craft a strategic plan, so really I will come back with more feedback next year!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 26, 2012

more

June 26, 2012

CenterLink has been an invaluable resource fin the development of new programs and services for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people. When we have had questions, they have connected us with other centers doing the work we would like to do, made recommendations for funding sources, and have assisted in developing infrastructure for newly developing initiatives - like our new National Mental Health Network. They always have high energy for new ideas and provide insightful ways for accomplishing our goals.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 19, 2012

more

June 19, 2012

Centerlink is vital to the success of LGBT community centers across the country, and therefore impacts both individual's lives, and the entire LGBT community. It plays such a unique role in supporting Executive Directors, as well as building the foundations of LGBT community centers- we couldn't be as strong with out it!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 19, 2012

more

June 19, 2012

Centerlink is the conduit bringing all of the LGBT Centers together. Without Centerlink we would be operating as individual businesses all on our own. Now we can easily network and obtain best practices from all across the country and internationally. They are our "go to" resource and provide a valuable service to the LGBT communities that we service.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 18, 2012

more

June 18, 2012

Centerlink has been helpful when I need to bounce an idea off someone that I am not ready to share with my board or staff. They are a wonderful resource and put together a conference where I actually walk away with gained knowledge and friendships. I look forward to Richmond.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 18, 2012

more

June 18, 2012

We work closely with CenterLink anytime we are looking to hire outside of our organization, and we have used their board training services as well. Q Center played host to the annual conference of LGBT center Executive Directors in 2010 and we feel that the work CenterLink does to keep us all from having to constantly reinvent the wheel is of great value. Thanks, CenterLink!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 18, 2012

more

June 18, 2012

Centerlink is the glue that keeps over 180 LGBT Centers across the country together. The organization and its outstanding dedicated staff provides much needed technical assistance, support and guidance to organizations that traditionally are left out in their local communities. Through Centerlink, LGBT people are organizing, getting healthy and building community. I could honestly say that after 20 years of working in the movement that I have never seen a national LGBT organization so important and critical as Centerlink.

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers