Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
August 21, 2013

more

August 21, 2013

The Center for Workforce Development has been able to help people in a wide range of locations and needs. It offers well rounded help in the forms of training, help with job placement, home items, and Brooklyn's Marketplace

To be a smaller non-profit and be able to help individuals from
Washington, DC out to Front Royal, VA is quiet a feat!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

I am not familiar with all of the activities of the Center for Workforce Development, but the Director, Arlene Ballou, has made a very big difference in Front Royal, VA. She opened "Brooklyn's" at 313 E. Main St. and it has become a focus for volunteer activity because she generously lends space for meetings and phone banks. The store draws customers to the far end of Main Street because of the mix of vendors of antiques and new and used items. There is space to walk around and enjoy what the store has to offer. It is neat and clean and tastefully arranged. But that is only a small part of what the Center does. As the name implies, it works with clients to train them and put them into jobs, a difficult task in this economy. Arlene Ballou is creative and innovative in developing programs with very little money. She works with other entities in the Front Royal business community to improve the local economy while still focusing on her charitable mission.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

I am proud to be associated with Center for Workforce Development and the positive work Arlene Ballou and the staff does in serving our community. As a veteran of the workforce development community on the non-profit side and on the funding/city-side (NYC) I have had exposure to a broad spectrum of organizations serving those in need. There is a lot of dysfunction and looking out for oneself with funded and funding organizations. There is also a lack of vision.
Arlene Ballou and Center for Workforce Development does not suffer from either. Relentlessly mission focused to serve funders, participants and employers, CWD structures itself for high-standards. To serve effectively one must challenge oneself and those one is assisting. Results, accountability and transparency are built into the framework of every program which CWD implements.
I am very excited to see CWD grow and both effect change in participants lives and influence the non-profit community. I am very proud of the impact CWD is having in our community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more


1 previous review
January 8, 2010

I love volunteering for CWD! It's great to know that all the work we are able to do in fundraising and setup is going to help others, especially in order to help young people help themselves! As a C... more

August 14, 2013

I have continued to work with CWD, and am so proud of the work now being done in Front Royal VA! Brooklyn's Marketplace is a wonderful business incubator and doing amazing work reaching out to the community!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 8, 2010

I love volunteering for CWD! It's great to know that all the work we are able to do in fundraising and setup is going to help others, especially in order to help young people help themselves! As a Career School Counselor, it is great to not only be working as a Counselor myself, but helping others provide direct service as well!

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Fantastic!

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

provide so much more service to so many more people!

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

February 14, 2013

more

February 14, 2013

As a volunteer, I have the priviledge of experiencing first-hand the genuine caring and dedication of this organization to service to the community through its community out-reach programs. In this economy, many families NEED the kinds of resources provided by CWD, and I am proud to be a part of this mission!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers